We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge room, great breakfast!! Decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #50 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Huge room, great breakfast!! Decent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here on a leg of our honeymoon and were pleased. We got a HUGE room ... I believe they upgraded us. We were greeted by a bottle of chilling champagne and some snacks which was very sweet. The room was gigantic.. complete with a huge walk in closet, huge granite shower, full sized tub, double sinks, big bed, couches, coffee table.. you get the point. This was the size of an American suite and very unusual for Europe. The room was clean but could have used a bit of work ... ie scuff marks all over the white walls. No biggie though. We had a great view of the gardens and the breakfast was great. I wouldn't sit outside thoguh because the pigeons get carried away and will actually land on your plate!!! I had previously stayed closer to the river / city center in Florence which I preferred location-wise as we got a little creeped out one night wandering around the hotel area looking for some gelato.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear LoveBird-Travels,
Thanks for your great review! I am glad that your new experience at Florence Orto de Medici Hotel brought you back nice memories, and wish to see you back someday.
Thank you!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,192
    605
    111
    27
    21
See reviews for
413
975
95
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Furlong, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We loved our room. Large, clean and comfortable with a huge bathroom. The garden was a delightful place to relax between our sightseeing activities. Daily breakfast with espresso was perfect way to start the day. Easy to walk to all the important sites in town. Valet parking option for your car is stress free. Would love to come again some day!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMackensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear CMackensen,
Thanks for the nice review! I am glad to read how you like the room, the garden, the breakfast and the location. Parking is offered by a partner garage with valet service included and 24 hours keeping care of the car.
Please come back someday, Florence awaits you.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the moment you check in, the staff make you feel special. Through out our stay the hotel did everything possible to accommodate our needs. They made sure that dietary needs were met. The staff was always willing to take the time and effort to insure we would enjoy our stay at their hotel. PERFECTO!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boxers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Excellent review! I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and especially our service. Please do come again.
Ciao from Florence!
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had an excellent experience with my husband. We came to this hotel based on the many good reviews. The room is very nice, simple and very clean! Is very well located and staff so friendly. We had very good breakfast, which was included. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for the excellent rating and recommending us to futur travelers. I'm happy you enjoyed yourself.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is great, beautifully decorated and presented, the location is excellent too. I stayed on the ground floor in room 70/71 if I recall correctly. We were served a lovely breakfast each morning. Each night my sleep was disturbed numerous times by what I can only describe as a feeling of someone giving me a hard push in the back. I know this might sound a bit far fetched, but it's exactly how it felt. I'm not one to get carried away and so didn't request a room change, although annoying, it was actually fairly interesting. I met my parents in Florence and they stayed in the same hotel, in the room opposite me, my dad said he'd had the same experience as me every night, whilst my mum had slept soundly.

Room Tip: Definitely worth staying in the renovated rooms if you can afford the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We appreciate your review. I'm sorry you and your father had trouble sleeping. I highly recommend to all our guests to inform the front desk immediately about any inconveniences that may occur during their stay, so we can help and resolve the problem in any way. However, I'm happy to read you did enjoy the breakfast and location.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Yes, the location is as good as advertised -- it's just two blocks away from the statue of David and a short walk from the Duomo. The staff is extremely courteous. In fact, without any prompting, they recognized my wife's birthday by leaving a friendly note and treat in our room. Our favorite memory of this hotel was the balcony, and I recommend selecting one these rooms if they're available. Every morning and evening we would sit at that balcony and enjoy the comfortable spring air and views of the Duomo, the church of San Marco and the rolling hills around us. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvanderzanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for the great rating. I'm very happy you enjoyed stay and were very relaxed the Superior room with private balcony. Hope to have you again as our guest.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We booked this hotel after looking at a lot in Florence based on the generally good reviews. The first great thing was that we were upgraded to a Junior suite. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was great (nice size of bath) and the sitting area was a great bonus. Our only issue was it was too warm at night. The air-con was not on yet (mid April) so it was either cold at night with the sound of the fountain, or too warm with the window closed. Still a minor issue.
The breakfast was fine. Not quite as great as many state, but filled the gap perfectly well.
At a 10 minute walk from the Duomo, it was not too far away, but also far enough to avoid the night time crowds and noise.
Add to that a couple of pretty good nearby restaurants, and it make this a good location if you want to be away from the busy centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing