We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the Orto de Medici”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #38 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We love staying at the Orto. This is our second time staying here. The rooms are quiet and immaculately clean. Each time we have stayed there we have had a room with a balcony. It is absolutely wonderful to sit on the balcony after a long day of sightseeing or shopping. The staff is always well informed and helpful. The breakfast in the morning is a nice treat, fresh orange juice piping hot espresso and fresh baked goods. We highly recommend the Orto de Medici.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyM1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your review. It is great to read you had a second great stay with us. Thank you also for recommending. Please come stay again.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 2,221 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

I'm so happy to have found this hotel on Trip Advisor. Everything was as advertised, a welcome reception, and a very clean, comfortable, large airy room. Breakfast, including fresh squeezed orange juice, was served in a lovely room adjacent to the garden. You are in the heart of Florence here, everything just a short walk away. We'd stay here again and would definitely recommend Hotel Orto De Medici to friends and other parents with a student studying in Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Jmc42,
thank you so much for your positive review! We all enjoyed reading it.
Grazie mille!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We arrived by train from Venice and were directed by the hotel staff (via e-mail) how to get to the hotel from the train. We walked into a beautiful lobby and were expected. Our rooms were available and we walked through the hotel to a courtyard which our room overlooked. The room was the best of our 3 city Italian vacation. The room was spacious, modernized and very clean. The bath facilities were brand new and quite good. We spent the next 4 days in and about Florence and the region. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful with directions, tour and transportation reservations and, most especially, restaurant recommendations (and reservations). The location is ideal..only a few blocks to the main piazzas and close to the Academia... a perfect location.
Our hosts made us feel at home and we would recommend the Hotel Orto De Medici to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephSmith103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear JosephSmith103,
Thanks for sharing your impressions. I loved to read how you felt home at the Hotel Orto De Medici, and really wish to welcome you again at your next travel to Italy.
Grazie,
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here on a leg of our honeymoon and were pleased. We got a HUGE room ... I believe they upgraded us. We were greeted by a bottle of chilling champagne and some snacks which was very sweet. The room was gigantic.. complete with a huge walk in closet, huge granite shower, full sized tub, double sinks, big bed, couches, coffee table.. you get the point. This was the size of an American suite and very unusual for Europe. The room was clean but could have used a bit of work ... ie scuff marks all over the white walls. No biggie though. We had a great view of the gardens and the breakfast was great. I wouldn't sit outside thoguh because the pigeons get carried away and will actually land on your plate!!! I had previously stayed closer to the river / city center in Florence which I preferred location-wise as we got a little creeped out one night wandering around the hotel area looking for some gelato.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear LoveBird-Travels,
Thanks for your great review! I am glad that your new experience at Florence Orto de Medici Hotel brought you back nice memories, and wish to see you back someday.
Thank you!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We loved our room. Large, clean and comfortable with a huge bathroom. The garden was a delightful place to relax between our sightseeing activities. Daily breakfast with espresso was perfect way to start the day. Easy to walk to all the important sites in town. Valet parking option for your car is stress free. Would love to come again some day!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMackensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear CMackensen,
Thanks for the nice review! I am glad to read how you like the room, the garden, the breakfast and the location. Parking is offered by a partner garage with valet service included and 24 hours keeping care of the car.
Please come back someday, Florence awaits you.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the moment you check in, the staff make you feel special. Through out our stay the hotel did everything possible to accommodate our needs. They made sure that dietary needs were met. The staff was always willing to take the time and effort to insure we would enjoy our stay at their hotel. PERFECTO!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boxers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Excellent review! I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and especially our service. Please do come again.
Ciao from Florence!
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had an excellent experience with my husband. We came to this hotel based on the many good reviews. The room is very nice, simple and very clean! Is very well located and staff so friendly. We had very good breakfast, which was included. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for the excellent rating and recommending us to futur travelers. I'm happy you enjoyed yourself.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 410 in Florence
2,388 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,845 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#44 of 410 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,822 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £68 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing