We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good service, weak wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #38 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I has this placed organised through a travel agent. We were in one of the older rooms which was a little small and the bed quite hard. We decided to upgrade which was an extra $40 Australian dollars per night - but it was definitely worth it. A much bigger room, bed was much better, bugger bathroom - everything was pretty much brand new. Our stay certainly jumped up a few notches from upgrading. The wifi signal is weak, however I have noticed this since Rome. Breakfast is very simple and does not have much variety. The only egg option is hard boiled. More healthy options would be better for someone like me, however that is just being picky. I always leave full after breakfast!. The staff are just lovely and always willing to help. The garden is beautiful when it is sunny. Really close to the city centre, 10 minute walk from the station and close to some great places to grab a bite! If you have the rooms on level 2, that's the room I would go for!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carolyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you Carolyn! I am glad you enjoyed the hotel, the deluxe room and the staff so much! Thanks for your suggestions about the breakfast and the wi-fi connection. We are setting new hotspots for a faster connection from any place of the hotel.
Grazie!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 2,179 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We chose one of the older rooms (#40) on the fourth floor that has a large terrace. An great layout and nice views above the rooftops of Firenze, which is why we chose this room over the updated rooms. Like everyone else, we liked the breakfasts and the freshly-squeezed orange juice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Dale,
I am glad you enjoyed the Superior room with private balcony so much! Thanks for the positive feedback abpout the breakfast too.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here in Florence in May and the location, room, and service were all excellant and located away from the touristy places. Breakfast was decent, but nothing hot and no variety- but is in a beautiful sun room. The bedroom had a beautiful balcony and the hotel has preserved the features from its former glory as an upscale mansion. It is close -15-20 minute walk - to the main train station, but a hefty walk with loaded suitcases- strongly suggest take a cab. Easy walking to all the main sights and several non-touristy places to eat and/or drink nearby. Minor complaint - the Wi-Fi did not work reliably in either the room or the lobby most of the time and the bath tubs need some non-slip pads to help get in and out safely. Still have not figured out why they use those skinney half glass partitions on the showers as lets a lot of water splash onto the floors- but seems common place in European hotels. Full shower curtains would be a plus. .

Room Tip: Loved room # 81
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for for your review. We appreciate all your suggestions and opinions, it will definitely help us better our service and facilities. I am happy, however that you did find some postive aspects and enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We loved this hotel...our room opened onto the garden , was quiet and clean. The breakfast was lovely and the staff was very helpful. We love to walk so found the location perfect....just a couple of blocks from st. Mark's square and the Academia. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: I can only judge by our room which was at the back off the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cumberlandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dera Cumberlan,
so nice to see how you liked the room with a garden view.. maybe a Deluxe? It's nice to have feedback.
Thank you!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel--clean, safe, helpful staff, pretty and a nice breakfast. The location is actually better than I had thought, although a block closer would be better--good restaurants nearby and a close walk to all (but all of Florence is a close walk). Oh, bed not the greatest ( a little low), but not bad. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Mark,
I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay in Florence at the Orto de' Medici Hotel. Thanks for leaving a feedback.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We love staying at the Orto. This is our second time staying here. The rooms are quiet and immaculately clean. Each time we have stayed there we have had a room with a balcony. It is absolutely wonderful to sit on the balcony after a long day of sightseeing or shopping. The staff is always well informed and helpful. The breakfast in the morning is a nice treat, fresh orange juice piping hot espresso and fresh baked goods. We highly recommend the Orto de Medici.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyM1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your review. It is great to read you had a second great stay with us. Thank you also for recommending. Please come stay again.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I'm so happy to have found this hotel on Trip Advisor. Everything was as advertised, a welcome reception, and a very clean, comfortable, large airy room. Breakfast, including fresh squeezed orange juice, was served in a lovely room adjacent to the garden. You are in the heart of Florence here, everything just a short walk away. We'd stay here again and would definitely recommend Hotel Orto De Medici to friends and other parents with a student studying in Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Jmc42,
thank you so much for your positive review! We all enjoyed reading it.
Grazie mille!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 410 in Florence
1,179 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 410 in Florence
2,002 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
820 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,363 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#46 of 410 in Florence
2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £83 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing