We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good hotel but with some bad points”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #38 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The good points were the location, the lovely breakfast (with friendly staff) and the outdoor terrace where we could eat in the morning, which I believe is unusual in Florence. Our bathroom was huge and really lovely with a large shower room, separate toilet and bath. I think that was due to the location in the hotel on a corner of the ground floor facing the small courtyard. The bed was huge, comfortable and with good quality bedding. There were computers and a printer for guest use and free wifi.
Bad points, the reception staff didn't crack a smile for the three days we were there and while they weren't openly rude they were not friendly compared to the other hotels we stayed at in tuscany. The room was noisy because it was next to the door leading to the courtyard, but I would recommend a room around the courtyard the other rooms seemed very peaceful, well most of the time! It was classed as a deluxe but it was actually quite spartan with very little light. One final point, please get some better pillows the were like sacks of potatoes.

Room Tip: Get a courtyard facing room but not room 71 its very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna_liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear anna_liverpool,
We appreciate your review and suggestions. It will surley help our staff memebers better themselves and theri service. I am, however, glad to read you enjoyed some aspects of the hotel.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Orto De Medici for three nights in June. Overall this is a very good hotel. The location is superb. The neighborhood feels very safe, and is a 10-15 minute walk to everything in Florence. The staff was friendly enough and all spoke good English. We enjoyed both the complimentary wi-fi and breakfast. One really nice feature of this hotel is its garden area. It was a relaxing place to go read a book or drink wine. It did not appear many competing hotels had this feature.

The one draw back was our room. For the price, the room seemed a little outdated. I will say it was clean, the AC worked well, and the bed was comfortable. However the decor seemed fairly outdated. Our room had a very limited view of a fire escape. Also our "shower" was a small tub with a shower head on a hose and no curtain. All in all this is a good hotel, but we have stayed in better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I enjoyed reading about how much you liked the hotel's garden. As for the room, I'm sorry you didn't not enjoy it as much. We do have different room types. If guests prefer a more modern style I just booking a Deluxe room with garden view.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We just stayed at Orto de Medici and we had an excellent experience with this hotel. The location is very central yet quite peacefull with a very helpfull staff and a beautyfull courtyard. It is totalt good value for money and the neighboorhood felt safe and cosy. There some fine restaurants with good local food nearby. Also we would recommend a bus trip to Fiserole up in the tuscany hills from the San Marco Plaza nearby. It will give you a beautyfull view of Florence. We absolutely recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva Nynne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

Thank you for this great review and for recommending us!
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have travelled to Florence 13 times since 1990 now, mostly to teach undergrad art students from my university. This year, I got to Italy early and we stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The rooms were clean and well kept. The staff, from the desk to the cleaning personal were excellent and very helpful. For first time travelers, there was no shortage of english speakers on the staff. The room we had was big enough by Italian standards and the bed was queen size, but as is typical in Italy, it was two singles pushed together. The elevator, although small always worked. The bathroom had a very nice shower with lots of hot water. The special things about this hotel are the breakfast, perhaps the best Italian hotel breakfast I've had. The garden and patio as especially pleasant and a great place to have a drink before dinner. The room we had was very quiet and once you figured it all out, the A/C worked well. I have recommended this location to other friends and they had similar experiences here. A good choice, although not a discount one.

Room Tip: Be sure your room faces the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

Super nice review, full of positive suggestions for improvements. I really appreciate,
Thank you
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel was just right for us travelling from America. It was charming, clean, safe, and conveniently located. The breakfast buffet had much more than yummy pastries. There were eggs, yogurt, and cheese for all of the energy needed for walking Florence. Fabulous coffee machine too.

The best part of this hotel was the staff. They were most courteous and welcoming which we appreciated very much! They were patient with our weak attempts at Italian and spoke English well.

Grazie!

Room Tip: Book early and ask for courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for the nice review! It is great to read about your terrific stay and how you appreciated everything especially the staff members. We hope to have you again as our guest.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A lovely and serene little palazzo that has been converted into a boutique hotel. It is located on a quiet street just far enough away from the noise but a short (10min or less) walk to all of the major sites. The staff were always friendly and helpful and our room was very spacious, clean, and modern for Italian standards. The breakfast spread was good and is served in the tranquil courtyard of the hotel - an excellent way to start your morning!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAVanc0uver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for this lovely review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in Florence and you could fully explore the city from our location.

Grazie!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 410 in Florence
1,999 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 410 in Florence
1,178 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,810 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,362 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £86 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing