We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Firenze”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #40 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

In particular, skilled and very helpful staff. but also a good location, clean spacious room. Would definitely stay here on return. I wouldn't come just for this, but they have a very cool orange juice machine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarkBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear BarkBrown,
Grazie for your quick review. Orange machine thanks too and says wants to squeeze fresh oranges for you again back soon ;-)

Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 2,195 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Myself and my Mother spent three nights at the Orto De Medici in June 2014. The location of the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Duomo. We stayed in a Classic Room which was a good size, with a small balcony. The bathroom however was tiny. The bath/shower was a 'sits bath' which I had never experienced before. It was about half the size of a normal bath and you had to sit down to shower - this felt awkward and unpleasant. It was not possible to stand up in the bath because of the way that it was constructed. The air conditioning worked very well and was not too noisy. The pillows were like bricks though. Also our neighbours were very loud (an elderly couple who insisted on having the TV up full blast), each night around 12.30am we gave up and had to knock on their door - they turned it down each time, but never adjusted the volume until we knocked. Also I think the walls maybe a little thin, which did not help.

The breakfast was skimpy even by European standards, although the fresh orange juice was delicious. Breakfast can be taken indoors or out on a lovely patio area, with fresh flowers and plants etc.

The staff on reception were helpful and recommended good restaurants nearby.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for people who do not mind a short walk to the main action, and are looking for decent accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubWoman1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear DubWoman1979,
Thanks for your review. I always recommend if you have any issue to contact the reception, and we will do our best to find a solution.
Thanks for the sugfgestions for next travellers. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the staff so much.
Grazie!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have been to Florence 3 times and stayed here a few years ago. This hotel is located slightly away from the busy city center and is therefore more quiet and peaceful. When we decided to return to Florence, decided to return to this hotel also for the peace and quiet and balcony room. Hotel has been renovated since the earlier stay approx. 8 yrs. ago. We had a wonderful, modern room with a great, large, attached balcony that we could enjoy, which overlooked the central garden area. Flowers were in bloom with wonderful fragrance! Friendly staff. Would definitely return here again. Just a 3-5 min. walk from the Accademia, and still walkable from Boboli if you are up to about a 30 minute stroll. Staff very accommodating.

Room Tip: book in advance and ask for a room w/balcony as they are limited; we were in #81 and highly recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellmbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Excellent review! We are so happy you enjoyed so much your second stay with us. Yes, in 2009 some rooms in the hotel were renovated and now have a modern style. These rooms are the Deluxe rooms with garden view and the Junior suites. If guests, would like a private balcony I suggest booking our Superior rooms, which all have a private balcony. Thank you for recommending hope to have you back for your third stay.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a 15 mins walk from the main train station but within 5-10 mins walk to major attractions such as the Duomo, Accademia and Ponte Vechio. The hotel is located on a quite street with decent eateries nearby. Was upgraded to a Junior Suite and it was a peach. Breakfast was limited but delicious. A gem in Firenze and highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank moodyinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for recommending. I'm happy you appreciated the upgrade and enjoyed the room.
Please do come back soon.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our stay was wonderful from start to finish. The rooms are lovely and the garden is enchanting. The staff were friendly and helpful. Neither myself nor my friend have any complaints. Back in Montreal this week, we were trying to figure out how soon we could return! The hotel has real cache and is close to absolutely everything. We plan to return to Orto de Medici as soon as possible.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, ours was extra-special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrafromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope to have you back as our special guests.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The good points were the location, the lovely breakfast (with friendly staff) and the outdoor terrace where we could eat in the morning, which I believe is unusual in Florence. Our bathroom was huge and really lovely with a large shower room, separate toilet and bath. I think that was due to the location in the hotel on a corner of the ground floor facing the small courtyard. The bed was huge, comfortable and with good quality bedding. There were computers and a printer for guest use and free wifi.
Bad points, the reception staff didn't crack a smile for the three days we were there and while they weren't openly rude they were not friendly compared to the other hotels we stayed at in tuscany. The room was noisy because it was next to the door leading to the courtyard, but I would recommend a room around the courtyard the other rooms seemed very peaceful, well most of the time! It was classed as a deluxe but it was actually quite spartan with very little light. One final point, please get some better pillows the were like sacks of potatoes.

Room Tip: Get a courtyard facing room but not room 71 its very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna_liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear anna_liverpool,
We appreciate your review and suggestions. It will surley help our staff memebers better themselves and theri service. I am, however, glad to read you enjoyed some aspects of the hotel.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Orto De Medici for three nights in June. Overall this is a very good hotel. The location is superb. The neighborhood feels very safe, and is a 10-15 minute walk to everything in Florence. The staff was friendly enough and all spoke good English. We enjoyed both the complimentary wi-fi and breakfast. One really nice feature of this hotel is its garden area. It was a relaxing place to go read a book or drink wine. It did not appear many competing hotels had this feature.

The one draw back was our room. For the price, the room seemed a little outdated. I will say it was clean, the AC worked well, and the bed was comfortable. However the decor seemed fairly outdated. Our room had a very limited view of a fire escape. Also our "shower" was a small tub with a shower head on a hose and no curtain. All in all this is a good hotel, but we have stayed in better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I enjoyed reading about how much you liked the hotel's garden. As for the room, I'm sorry you didn't not enjoy it as much. We do have different room types. If guests prefer a more modern style I just booking a Deluxe room with garden view.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,831 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#45 of 409 in Florence
1,191 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 409 in Florence
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#23 of 409 in Florence
2,021 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 409 in Florence
830 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £80 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing