We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Orto De Medici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in August was a great location to get around Florence and our room was lovely and spacious and we had a great balcony with mixes views. Although the rooms were kept clean the beds weren't that comfortable (we booked a double and had two single beds pushed together, which kept coming away from one another) there was one older man who worked on reception who was quite helpful and friendly other than him the rest were quite rude

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiechatf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Katiechat,
Thanks for your appreciations to the room, the balcony and the staff. I am sorry if you were not satisfied in something. I suppose the housekeeper made a mistake in securing the connection between the two mattresses, so if we knew in adavance qwe could fix it.
Thank you
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    593
    110
    27
    21
See reviews for
402
955
92
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in May of 2014 on vacation. Overall, it was a fantastic experience. The location is great, especially considering we were familiar with the city from our time living there. The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. It was everything we could have wanted!

We did have a rental car with us, as we were using Florence as a home base for day trips. This was a great hotel to have a car, as others closer to the city are completely restricted to car traffic. They were very helpful dealing with the restricted areas, parking garage, and even made some special accommodations when we had to leave the hotel very early.

Based on price, location, and experience, I could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear sarah,
Thanks for the lovely review. I am pleased to read how you fully enjoyed your holiday and your experience at Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici.
Grazie grazie!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Not only was this hotel not clean or convenient, the front desk staff was incredibly unkind and demonstrably tourist unfriendly. The greatest aspect was the housekeeping staff who did try to please and prepared a great breakfast to start our day. That being said, a bucket of ice translated to a glass of ice in heat that was really overwhelming.

We stayed five days at the hotel, and needed to advocate for any 'additional' convenience- like clean towels and quiet. We weren't able to check in until 345pm despite the expectation of a 2pm check-in, good thing we were in FLORENCE and there were amazing things to see and do! Our room was near a shared hotel bathroom and the breakfast area, and frankly that room should not be rented out. The noise began at 530 am and lasted until past midnight due to the flushing of the toilet that was open to the wine bar guests.

Thankfully our toilet also flushed, but that is not to say the shower drained. The air conditioner was possibly only for looks, and never cooled the overshot room. Often, I truly felt like a terrible inconvenience to the hotel desk, and despite my apologies and attempt to independently navigate any issues, I was disappointed that this long stay wasn't more comfortable. Possibly there are cultural differences in the service industry, so the rank is for poor instead of terrible. The location, the most convenient aspect of this hotel but certainly other hotels were similarly convenient, was good and walking in Florence is a wonderful and necessary part of exploring this area.

Room Tip: Definitely skip the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imsovexed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Imsovexed,
Thanks for the review. I could not really understand if you did explained your complaints to the reception or not. We usually do our best to ensure a convenient stay to all our guests, and we are open to extra requests all the time including, in case, a room change, depending on the availability. It sounds quite strange to me that in 5 days no rooms checked out to be free for you to move, I feel like you waited to be home to make your complaints. Please, please, please, never hesitate to ask at the reception, even if it is for a complaint.
Late check-in was for sure a consequence of somebody's late check-out and a need of extra mainteinence requested to a room. It is something exceptional, that happens very rarely, maybe once in a month or less.
I apologize for the inconvenience you had and hope to have the chance to offer you a better experience in our hotel. Please refer to my name for a special mention.
Thank you!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have just returned from Florence and stayed at this hotel for five nights. We asked and received a deluxe garden room. It was amazing.Spotlessly clean and modern. Very comfortable beds.Two bathroom areas, one with bath and sink the other with toilet and sink.Our room had a patio attached with a table and chairs and two comfy chairs also.The patio was private as it had a high hedge. Beyond the hedge was a sunbathing spot with two loungers which was very welcome on our return each afternoon before we showered for the evening.
The hotel has a further patio area with comfortable garden furniture and tables for breakfast al fresco. The breakfast was delicious. Fresh orange juice, any type of coffee machine.Different breads and cakes, cold meats ,mozarella and tomatoes, jams and butters.Gorgeous area for breakfast and a glass of Prosecco in the evening. The staff were without exception helpful and professional.
There was no tea coffee making facilities in our room which we did miss.I queried this at reception as I could not believe such a well equipped room had anything but this. Staff informed it was not in their culture to provide this service.
I am not complaining. This hotel is excellent .We would go back in a heartbeat but would take a small kettle etc.
Thanks to this Hotel for such a marvelous stay.

Room Tip: We had deluxe twin room which was superb. Clean modern and spacious with an outside patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your great review!
When you have to select what service provide or not, boiler was not in the top list for that reason. But you can nevertyheless ask for hot water anytime you need at the lobby!
Thank you!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We based ourselves at Hotel Orto De Medici for our week in Florence and could not have chosen better. Our room was well furnished and clean, the staff were all extremely helpful and friendly and we enjoyed a lovely continental breakfast each morning. The major plus though was the location, well within walking distance of all the major attractions of the city. We'd love to come back again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rognvald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Rognvald,
thanks for this great review! We'd love too to see you back again!
Grazie!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just came back from three weeks of cycling through Tuscany which included 4 nights at this hotel in the heart of Florence. We enjoyed a ground floor room which had a slightly higher price tag then our friends paid in the upstairs rooms, but not slogging bags around was quite nice. The room air conditioner worked well in the July heat. The staff was helpful and friendly and the continental breakfast was yummy but some folks struggle with the orange juice squeezer. Watch out for the pigeon bandits while enjoying your breakfast. Those little pirates will steal everything off your plate if you leave the table unattended for a second. Plenty of excellent dinner choices near by. Close proximity to all of the Florence sights is well worth the price. Ciao!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors may save you a few Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomT-Aurora-CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Tom,
thanks for this review, full of nice suggestions and tips. We have a pidgeon dissuasor in the terrace, that takes many of them out of the reach of the terrace.
Thank you!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing