We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #51 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our stay in Florence and we absolutely loved it! We obtained a free upgrade to a beautiful spacious room, newly renovated with a very big bathroom and shower. Our room opened up to a balcony on the garden terrasse where we enjoyed having a drink and relaxing. The staff was very friendly and helpful in helping us find various locations. The hotel is ideally located just a 5 minute walk from the main piazza where the Duomo is located and lots of shops and restaurants near by. The free breakfast was delicious with freshly squeezed orange juice. We definetely recommend this hotel for your next stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Mandy,
It's our pleasure to have nice guests like you was, and we all red and appreciated your review.
Grazie!!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    614
    112
    27
    21
See reviews for
420
990
96
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had the perfect stay in this charming hotel. Location is excellent and beds comfortable. Additionally the hotel staff went above the beyond to make our trip to Florence most memorable. Before our arrival, I have communicated to Francesco about our early morning tour and was concerned about missing the breakfast ( it starts at 7:30am). Francesco offered to pack our breakfast ( 8 of us) and give them to us the night before so we would have something to eat on the tour bus. They are not fancy, but each one of us get a bottle water, a fruit, some cookies and crackers. We appreciated the gesture above all. Additionally Francesco also helped us reserve tickets for the Uffizi gallery just a week before our arrival. This helped a great deal, as we saw very long lines before the gallery when we went to visit and we're so glad we had a reservation. Overall our experience with this hotel is excellent and will love to go back soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janejxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your review! The entire staff is happy to read you anjoyed your stay with us.
Best Raegrds,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The room was nice and clean, the location was a short walk to the Duomo and the city center and the breakfast was Fantastic (think fresh squeezed orange juice and all the cappuccinos you can drink!). I would Highly recommend Hotel Orto De Medici.

On our first full day there they had a complimentary drink in the patio. I met other travelers and got some great pointers about traveling in Italy.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Wifi worked great and there are to Apple computers in the lobby, one with a printer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for recommending us to future travelers. It is great to read you had a wonderful time.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We absolutely LOVED this beautiful hotel! The location is terrific, the Duomo was a 10 minute ish stroll away, and the Ponte Vecchio was only about 20 mins, in our guidebook, the map made it look like we were far away, we were surprised to discover that everywhere in Florence is within walking distance, which was brilliant.
The first room that we had, there was a fault with the lock on the balcony doors, and when we mentioned it to the lovely (it has to be said, very handsome, George Clooneyesque) receptionist, he got someone to see if it could be repaired the next day. When it couldn't be fixed, he offered us a change of rooms. Which was very kind and unexpected.
The next room we had for 4 nights, and it was wonderful. Large bed, which was comfortable. A dressing area, and a lovely marble bathroom.Our room looked out on to the courtyard, and there is a cute little fountain there too. Truly, we didn't want to leave!
The breakfast on the terrace was gorgeous, typical Italian breakfast, consisting of Orange juice, coffees, rolls, hams, croissants, eggs, cakes, fruit salad and yogurts, etc.Very nice, and the staff were lovely in there too.
All of the staff were very helpful, kind and friendly. We loved our stay at the Orto di Medici, and would stay again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I would recommend a courtyard facing room, as it was so quiet and peaceful. We both slept really wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank son5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for the great review! I am very satisfied your stay turned out great even with the small door inconvenience. Thank you also for all the compliments.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very well situated for the city sights without being in the middle of the hustle and bustle. It is a three star hotel and that is what you get. It is a lovely building with high ceilings decorated in the Italian style. We had a quad room with a courtyard view which was spacious and clean with a beautiful view. Breakfast is continental and eat all you want buffet style. If you want four star then pay for it! This is a lovely hotel and we would come back again. Despite other reviews the staff are all very helpful and multilingual.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jules T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Wonderful review! Nice to read you enjoyed your stay!
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

De orto de Medici is a gem. Very central for all the sites. A hotel that has kept it's historic charm after a modern makeover. Attentive staff, great breakfast and lovely terrace to enjoy a glass of proseco.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkimoo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Nikkimoo,
Thanks for your feedback. I am glad you liked the terrace Summer music bar and the style of the hotel, traditional and modern at the same time.

Grazie!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Special birthday treat - trip to Florence with the family. Booked into the junior suite and i can easily say, the hotel and staff were wonderful. A beautiful view from the window to the courtyard, marble bathroom, a separate dressing room and tester sized bed. Must comment on the patience of the breakfast staff, seeing them dealing with all nationalities. loved it - want to go back.

Room Tip: The junior suite is spacious and comfortable. A great view to the courtyard and very quiet. Free w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for the great review! I'm happy you had a wonderful birthday experience at Hotel Orto de' Medici. Please do come back as our special guests.
Kidn Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#37 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#55 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing