We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but don't recommend single room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but don't recommend single room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

The hotel is generally good:
- friendly and likeable concierge who remembered the right key without prompting
- very nice and quiet main hotel sitting room
- reasonable breakfast with nice terrace
- well located just a little off the main thoroughfares (so quiet), but really very central for all things

However I found the single room a little disappointing - there was a TV, but only a desk style chair to sit on, no comfortable chairs for relaxation. The bathroom was also not really up to scratch - a small room with a bath with a seat in it, making it impossible to fully immerse oneself. There was nowhere to hang up the shower and no shower curtain, making washing quite difficult. I suspect from the photos that the double rooms are much nicer - had I stayed in one of these I would probably have rated the hotel a notch higher, but I think the single rooms were overpriced and certainly not the sort of room one would expect from a three star hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly, convenient, well located
  • Disliked — Single room and bathroom of low quality
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Manager at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 22 January 2009
Dear Guest,

I am glad you generally enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you for you appreciations. As regards the single room, I am sorry you were disappointed. We have two single rooms only in the property and we recommend them for budget travellers. If you are looking for something larger and nicer I'd suggest to book the double room for single use (DUS) instead. Next time..... Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    603
    111
    27
    21
See reviews for
413
975
95
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2008

Location: 15 minute walk to most destinations.

Breakfast: Decent, European continental style. Loved the Italian cheeses and meats.

Room: Huge, but very empty. 2 beds, a dresser and a desk. Traditional in design. No TV.

Bathroom: Half-size cement tub that only fits a child. The tub has a seat and a hand-held shower head. Sitting on the seat was very uncomfortable. It was freezing to sit on cement in November. But, you can't stand because the shower head doesn't extend that far. One day when we took a shower in the evening, around 9 pm, they ran out of hot water in the middle of my shower. Grrr...

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ca_Trav_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, staff at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 23 December 2008
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. Any suggestion from our clients is always welcome. We are sorry you found something not satisfying about your stay in the hotel. We were just a little surprised to read some statements of your review. You wrote there was no TV in the room, but all our rooms do have television, that's one of the minimum requirements for hotel standard. Also you said you found the bathtub too cold to sit down, but every room has a shower facility to hang the shower head at the wall, in order to take the shower standing up in the bathtub. Also the hot water is always available... so we just wondering if you review, for any reason, has been influenced by a “disturbed” perception as we did not realize exactly what was your real complain..... thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

The Hotel Orto De Medici is situated a short walk ( 5-10minutes) away from Florence's major attractions.

The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished and the bathrooms clean and well appointed.

I particularly enjoyed the guest sitting room with its comfortable sofas and various reading material plus access to a computer for checking e-mails etc.

The breakfastroom and terrace are pleasant, breakfast itself is adequate but not very exciting and would benefit from a few simple additions like fresh tomatoes, fruit an eggs,( usually there was a bowl of apples on the buffet table).
The staff were helpful and ready to smile.
My husband and I were joined by two friends who arrived very early in the morning and were able to occupy their room straight away which they very much appreciated.

Our room faced the street and subsequently tended to be quite noisy with people congregating outside a nearby bar until the early hours of the morning on Friday and Saturday, Thursday and Sunday were not quiet but acceptable.
My friends had a room facing the terrace and had no problems with noise at all, which is something to be considered if you are a light sleeper.
All in all a very pleasant find.

  • Liked — spacious room, cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — noise at week-end,
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elisabeth9500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

My wife and I enjoyed the Hotel Orto de' Medici very, very much. We rated this hotel as the best out of the three we stayed in while in Italy. The hotel staff were very courtesy and we were well taken care of during our stay. Every need was fully met and the breakfast was wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel for a Florence stay. Great location and very quiet.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — All was great
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MAC2874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2008

I was in Florence on business and the hotel was booked for me. Staff were friendly enough, and the room big, but the shower kept pointed to the wall and could not be adjusted, the heat had been set at 80 degrees before I arrived, and I left with both mosquito and bedbug bites. Breakfast just okay, although espresso superb. Convenient location and relatively quiet (by Italian standards), but I probably would not stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — insect bites, internet connection took forever
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank drlpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, staff at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 20 November 2008
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the staff, the espresso and the location. We are sorry if you have suffered the warmth, but we are sure the heating system was still off as we had just stopped the air conditioning system expecting the cold season. As regards the mosquitoes, we provide a mosquito machine in each room. Did you ask at the lobby for the problem, perhaps it could be just necessary to refill it. By the way there are not bedbugs in any room, each mattress is hygiene guaranteed and regularly checked. We invite you to come back to our hotel, perhaps for a leisure experience and maybe taking the advantage of a special discount for the superior room for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcreggan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2008

First of all the good points which outweigh the bad points:-

• good looking room
• comfy beds
• great location
• fantastic staff
• good terrace bar
• OK breakfasts

Not so good:

• The odd half bath/shower set up.
• Wireless only available in the residents lounge - not in guests rooms.

Overall a very satisfactory hotel but personally sorting out the bad points would make a lot of difference.

  • Liked — Staff and the great location
  • Disliked — The shower!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank warren_zevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, pr manager at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 5 November 2008
Dear Guest.
thanks for your review. We especially appreciate reviews like this which give us the chance to sort out some points of the hotel and the service. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

Just returned from a fabulous 6 day visit to Florence, with my daughter, our first time in this beautiful city and it was made even better by the first class service and facilities at the Orto de'Medici Hotel. The staff were very helpful and so pleasant, room was comfortable and very clean, lovely continental breakfast with loads of choice.
Can recommend Da Mimmo restaurant just over the road from the hotel, we ate there nearly every night, high quality food at a reasonable price and wonderful service by lovely waiters.
We have walked our legs off but have seen some wonderful treasures. Hope to return, maybe with my husband next time!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort, pleasant helpful,staff
  • Disliked — Bit noisy at night, due to some people being late in, not every night though.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliTup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing