We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #50 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“enjoyable”
Reviewed 2 February 2009

I stayed here for three nights last week and have no hesitation in recommending it .I have stayed in this area before,tho' not at this hotel.It is quiet but only 100 metres from Pza San Marco for buses,taxis etc if you need them but all the main sights are in easy walking distance. There are also several restaurants in the area- you can get a good inexpensive meal at the chinese if you are all pasta-ed out!The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming
and the hotel was nice and warm (it's winter).The only quibble was one which has been raised by other single visitors-The small bath with hand held shower isn't that easy to use altho' you can get a perfectly adequate shower. As I am OLD and not too tall I had trouble climbing into it and worried about slipping.I haven't come across this arrangement before but it is preferable to the open drain type which floods everything.However I would
certainly stay here again and with more rooms coming and a garden also it should be great in summer !! Breakfast more than adequate and the room a good size for a single.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ashlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,183
    602
    111
    27
    21
See reviews for
409
970
95
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kauai, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2009

"The Orto de' Medici is such a rare find: the perfect combination of a small, "boutique" hotel on a quiet street, with super clean, elegant, very comfortable rooms. All the interior details and furnishings of these historical rooms with high ceilings give one the feeling of bygone days when this building housed nobility.
The staff is welcoming, most gracious, and eager to fulfill their guest's every need.
What a lovely way to start your day with their breakfast "banquet" in the beautiful garden room. I have never seen such a sumptuous, and generous array of breakfast delicacies and favorites. You feel pampered in every way.
The Orto de' Medici was truly a haven for my son and me after long days in the icy, cold weather, dealing with throngs of visitors wishing to experience the great art of Florence.
Our time at this jewel of a hotel is what stands out in our memories. Many thanks for every kindness.
Amanda T, Kauai, Hawaii, USA

  • Liked — super clean, elegant decorating, historical, quiet street
  • Disliked — Sometimes one would be awakened by loud voices of other guests coming in late at night, not realizing that the walls are not thick like those of newer hotels.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kealoha8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Cosy hotel with own spirit.
Hotel is worth to be mentioned due to the very good location, polite and helpful staff and spacious room. (We had quadruple).
I'd like to advise to have smth warm for breakfast (eggs or porridge) but classic music in breakfast room was good compensation.
Very pleasant impressions.

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

The hotel is generally good:
- friendly and likeable concierge who remembered the right key without prompting
- very nice and quiet main hotel sitting room
- reasonable breakfast with nice terrace
- well located just a little off the main thoroughfares (so quiet), but really very central for all things

However I found the single room a little disappointing - there was a TV, but only a desk style chair to sit on, no comfortable chairs for relaxation. The bathroom was also not really up to scratch - a small room with a bath with a seat in it, making it impossible to fully immerse oneself. There was nowhere to hang up the shower and no shower curtain, making washing quite difficult. I suspect from the photos that the double rooms are much nicer - had I stayed in one of these I would probably have rated the hotel a notch higher, but I think the single rooms were overpriced and certainly not the sort of room one would expect from a three star hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly, convenient, well located
  • Disliked — Single room and bathroom of low quality
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Manager at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 22 January 2009
Dear Guest,

I am glad you generally enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you for you appreciations. As regards the single room, I am sorry you were disappointed. We have two single rooms only in the property and we recommend them for budget travellers. If you are looking for something larger and nicer I'd suggest to book the double room for single use (DUS) instead. Next time..... Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

Location: 15 minute walk to most destinations.

Breakfast: Decent, European continental style. Loved the Italian cheeses and meats.

Room: Huge, but very empty. 2 beds, a dresser and a desk. Traditional in design. No TV.

Bathroom: Half-size cement tub that only fits a child. The tub has a seat and a hand-held shower head. Sitting on the seat was very uncomfortable. It was freezing to sit on cement in November. But, you can't stand because the shower head doesn't extend that far. One day when we took a shower in the evening, around 9 pm, they ran out of hot water in the middle of my shower. Grrr...

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ca_Trav_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, staff at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 23 December 2008
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. Any suggestion from our clients is always welcome. We are sorry you found something not satisfying about your stay in the hotel. We were just a little surprised to read some statements of your review. You wrote there was no TV in the room, but all our rooms do have television, that's one of the minimum requirements for hotel standard. Also you said you found the bathtub too cold to sit down, but every room has a shower facility to hang the shower head at the wall, in order to take the shower standing up in the bathtub. Also the hot water is always available... so we just wondering if you review, for any reason, has been influenced by a “disturbed” perception as we did not realize exactly what was your real complain..... thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

The Hotel Orto De Medici is situated a short walk ( 5-10minutes) away from Florence's major attractions.

The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished and the bathrooms clean and well appointed.

I particularly enjoyed the guest sitting room with its comfortable sofas and various reading material plus access to a computer for checking e-mails etc.

The breakfastroom and terrace are pleasant, breakfast itself is adequate but not very exciting and would benefit from a few simple additions like fresh tomatoes, fruit an eggs,( usually there was a bowl of apples on the buffet table).
The staff were helpful and ready to smile.
My husband and I were joined by two friends who arrived very early in the morning and were able to occupy their room straight away which they very much appreciated.

Our room faced the street and subsequently tended to be quite noisy with people congregating outside a nearby bar until the early hours of the morning on Friday and Saturday, Thursday and Sunday were not quiet but acceptable.
My friends had a room facing the terrace and had no problems with noise at all, which is something to be considered if you are a light sleeper.
All in all a very pleasant find.

  • Liked — spacious room, cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — noise at week-end,
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elisabeth9500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2008

My wife and I enjoyed the Hotel Orto de' Medici very, very much. We rated this hotel as the best out of the three we stayed in while in Italy. The hotel staff were very courtesy and we were well taken care of during our stay. Every need was fully met and the breakfast was wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel for a Florence stay. Great location and very quiet.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — All was great
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MAC2874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
1,840 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
2,217 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#51 of 421 in Florence
1,072 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
1,696 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing