We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #38 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2009

The Orto De Medici is a wonderful hotel. I would highly recommend staying there as it is a very attractive building with excellent attention to detail and small touches that make a vacation very enjoyable. Easy short walk to the Duomo, Acadamia, Uffizi, and even the Ponte Vecchio and Pitti Palace. All of Florence is very walkable and the Orto De Medici is situated in a perfect quiet location close to major attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 2,225 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2009

Large rooms, good service, friendly staff who speak very good English, and a good location - all that I would look for in Florence.
Not a 5-star hotel type but very good for budget travelers and a nice place to stay without getting cramped in.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelZoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

From the location to the service, the Orto de Medici has it all. Fantastically friendly and informative staff, particularly on reception, made our stay even better than expected. We were allocated the room above the Breakfast Terrace which was twice the size of any room I've ever stayed in, full of nicely arranged, hand-painted, furniture. I was particularly taken by the small, nicely-produced, potted history of the Medici left on the bedside table - a really nice touch.

And talking of breakfast - I don't think I'm giving away any secrets here, but the amount of food available (albeit 'continental') did us for lunch as well...

The rear of the hotel, and the best rooms, look out towards Piazza San Marco, across its own garden and outbuildings - the outbuildings were being refurbished into additional accommodation during our stay - which gives it a real sense of respite from the bustle of Florence streets.

I'd like to say a big thankyou to Dottore Bufalini and his staff for the efforts made in returning this lovely building to good use.

(Watch out for the glass table in the TV lounge tho - I've still got the bruise!)

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fulltartanjacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

The hotel is within a walking distance of all the major attractions in Florence and also close to Santa Maria Novella train station. The breakfast is good, could be improved by varying the cheese and meat selection. Big plus for offering rye bread though!

The rooms are very clean with comfortable beds. The only complaint for the particular room we stayed in (39) was that there did not seem to be any sound proofing at all and when the guests in the adjacent room flushed the toilet the walls almost trembled! For us this didn't cause much trouble at all since we were out most of the day but could be a problem for people who want to stay at the hotel for longer periods. Overall, very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrikush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

I recently had the pleasure of acquiring accomodations at the Hotel Orto dei Medici in Florence. A wonderful little hotel tucked away near the San Carlo monastery and a few walking blocks from the Duomo. The reception was so welcoming, and the entire staff at the hotel so eager to please. Rooms are large and many with balconies overlooking the roofs of Florence. Sizable clean bathrooms. Breakfast buffet was excellent and replenished instantly by staff. A beautifully appointed lounge and reading room is located on the first floor. Hotel is being renovated with new rooms facing the Medici gardens at the rear of the hotel. there is a connection with the the Medici family
and Michelangelo, who sculpted in the gardens of the Hotel dei Medici in the late 1400s. This is the best hotel I found in Italy. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lani9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

The Hotel Orto De Medici is the best hotel i have ever stayed in. I am so surprised that this hotel only has 3 stars. If it was up to me this hotel would have 5. The people that work at the front desk are so friendly and kind. I could have stayed there and talked to them all day. The cleanliness of The Hotel Orto De Medici is absolutely wonderful. I don't think i have EVER stayed in a hotel that was so clean. The service here was unbelievably great. The staff was so kind and friendly just like the people at the front desk and the the service was beyond 5 stars. Talk about a great location! Great job thinking of the location. You are right across the street from the Duomo! What in the world could be better than that? I would absolutely rate this 5 stars and the best hotel i have ever stayed in my entire life.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpv91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Our stay at Hotel Orto de’ Medici was wonderful. The location was perfect, within walking distance to museums, trains, buses, and restaurants. Our spacious room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The large windows, which open, were a pleasant surprise. Breakfast and the outdoor terrace were enjoyable. The staff was exceptional. Their assistance and restaurant recommendations were outstanding!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vineyard_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#25 of 410 in Florence
2,391 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,847 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#44 of 410 in Florence
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,825 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £66 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing