We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #47 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Terni
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very relaxing”
Reviewed 11 September 2009

A quiet hotel, but near to the center of the city, which con be reached by feet. The personel is friendly, but unostentatious, the rooms are great - we had a balcony - with all comfort; the bathroom was a little bit small, but enough. Breakfast in the garden under the open sky.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollywood027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,264
    630
    114
    27
    21
See reviews for
443
1,021
97
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

My week long stay at the Orto de Medici hotel was a somewhat pleasantly quiet one. Orto really was "de business" as the saying sometimes goes.
Indeed, in my case, the property was very reasonable value and fairly centrally located too. I also understand the place has an element of interesting history.
The continental breakfasts were fine and lots to eat. I sure did miss that real tasting coffee though !
Service was not too bad. Things can get busy at meal times.
Anyways, the indoors breakfast area was quite small and for me, at times, it all felt a bit 'too close for comfort', sort of 'all one big gathering'.
However, the clear blue skies and them rising morning temperatures, on the outdoor patio, provided for a welcome alternative, come breakfast time !
My room was pretty fine. I would guess that the hotel wants to retain its own unique character and charm from the bygone days.
I'm not so sure if the grand looking drawing room is for residents to actually use. I mean it seemed a touch "museum-like", fragile perhaps.
On the other hand, Orto has taken on the more modern look in some of its quarters. Indeed the reception area was one such fine example. This being complemented by the friendly enough staff.
There is a buffet style and budget priced, eating establishment, closeby. Like I hinted earlier, it's a bit of a walk from hotel into city centre.
The Orto de Medici "did de business" on this occasion.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I stayed with my partner at Orto de Medici for three nights in September 2009. Based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to stay here and cancelled our reservations at a previous hotel. The Orto was decently located, about a 20 minute brisk walk away from the train station and 10 minutes away from the Duomo. The facade and lobby looked recently renovated and it made a good first impression. The front desk service was passable, but were more intent on getting our passports than showing us how to get into our room. Not having been to Italy, I was unfamiliar with having to drop off our key at the front desk before exiting the building; it was a mild inconvenience that allowed us to get to know some of the staff, some of which are warmer than others.

The positiives for this establishment were the lobby, internet access within the upstairs lounge area and the terrace garden which served a decent breakfast. The garden was quite pleasant and made for a bit of a retreat, it was too bad that not all rooms looks out over it. The location was quite decent for sight-seeing, but not for eating out or enjoying the night-life which is generally located either in the southern extremity of the historic centre or across the river. Our particular room had high ceilings and a large bathroom.

The negatives were the quality of the room and accommodations. I really don't understand why this hotel is rated so well; perhaps others in this budget category are complete dives and our room, though not the cheapest within the hotel, was an anomoly (I believe room 48 on the fifth floor) but ... it was dingy, dated and well worn. The bed was horridly uncomfortable, even for two young men who have stayed in their fair share of hostels, and the fact that the air conditioning turned off after one left the room with the key (which controlled this) made for some unpleasant nights. The pillows were about as comfortable as a rolled up towel, not unlike my experience in hostels, and our balcony, at first a pleasant surprise, remained unused as it looked down the fire exit. If you are in this room, either request to change rooms or stay in another similarly priced hotel; I wouldn't recommend not staying here, but given the price, I was not impressed with the quality of the room, the service we recieved or the location. Highly over-rated, in my humble opinion.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank interpolation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, manager at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 11 September 2009
Dear Guest,

thanks for your review. We appreciate you enjoyed some positive features of the hotel during your stay, like the renovation, the garden or internet access. Nevertheless we are sorry if you were somehow unpleased with other features. First of all we would had really appreciated if you had the chance to talk with us about these negatives during your stay. For instance we would had told you that the separate electricity/A.C key can be easily left in the room in order to always get a room as fresh as you need. Or you could ask for a room change if you were disappointed. Basically we have 5 double room options (standard with or without view, deluxe, superior room with balcony and junior suite) so we do recommend to carefully select your favourite room/price option when you make a booking.



As regards the bed and the pillows, we are sorry if they were not as soft as you had expected. Maybe you can just imagine the full range of appreciations/complains we ever heard about the beds and the pillows features: some would like it harder, some softer, some thicker, some thinner, some larger, some smaller… By the way the Italian quality-standard is: a little hard.



PS: If it took 20 mins to walk from the train station to the hotel perhaps you took the wrong way through the Duomo. If you go via Piazza Indipendenza it’s definitely 10 mins only, no brisk walk. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2009

I traveled with my 14 year old daughter for 3 weeks in France and Italy. The Hotel Orto De Medici was one of our favorite hotels. It was beautifully decorated, a mix of gorgeous modern and antique furnishings. We had a very large room, well-appointed, overlooking the patio. The outdoor patio and garden were lovely and a welcome respite from the very crowded city. Breakfast was very good, and we enjoyed sitting outside while we planned our day. The staff was very helpful, recommending wonderful restaurants and making tour arrangements for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmama04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We stayed at the Orton De Medici for 4 nights the end of August. The hotel is in a great location just around the corner from the Accademia and within easy walking distant of all the major sights. There are eateries, shops and supermarkets close by. The building itself is a cross between traditional and modern and is spotlessly clean. The staff are fantastic, all very helpful and polite. The breakfast is simple but ample. As you can see we are very impressed with the hotel and on our return wIll not stay anywhere else !!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Well_travelled52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Good location, about 10 min from the tourist centre. Breakfast was plentiful and the stuff is very kind. We also admired the decoration (romantic with an old charm ). The hotel was lovely and clean, we had an amazing stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed at the hotel over the bank holiday weekend and would highly recommend it for quality, value atmosphere, character and location. The hotel has been very well refurbished losing none of the original character of the building and rooms but giving the lobby/reception a clean contemporary feel. We had a standard double which was a good size with high ceilings, traditional furniture, good bathroom and air con. One of the best parts of the hotel is the breakfast dining room and terrace where you can eat outside. The terrace also has a bar where you can enjoy a drink in the evening between 6 and 8pm and relax on outdoor sofas. Quite lovely! The hotel also has a lovely large lounge room with plenty of armchairs to relax and read a book, along with free internet access on a Mac.
As for location, it's only a 10 minute walk to the center of Florence - even less to museums such as the Academia. The only negative is that when the hotel pre-ordered our tickets for the Ufizi they did not mention the additional 4 Euro per ticket fee on top of the general booking fee. We probably would not have minded the fee, but they should make this clear when you request the service.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJosiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 411 in Florence
1,919 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 411 in Florence
2,286 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 411 in Florence
1,738 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#59 of 411 in Florence
1,123 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 411 in Florence
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing