We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Florence Hotel for Family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #19 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Florence Hotel for Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Our family of four stayed at the Palazzo Magnani Feroni for two nights in August 2011. We were in the "family suite" on the second floor which is the Giuseppe and Fiamma Suites -- large living room, king bedroom with bathroom and bathtub/shower, second bedroom with two single beds and another bathroom with shower. This was by far the biggest suite we stayed in during our trip to Italy - about 1500 square feet total. There was a lot of closet and drawer space, lots of desks and tables. The tvs in all three rooms worked well (Yankee games!) and so did the air conditioning, which was necessary in the 100 degrees F heat! The staff at check-in was lovely and helpful. As the photos on the website show, this is a unique property - the kids felt like they were staying in a real, luxurious old palace, because, um, they were!
The hotel staff could have arranged reservations at the Uffizi galleries for a 5 Euro per person premium (on top of the 15 Euro entry fee plus 5 Euros advance reservation fee charged by the museum) but we ended up walking over to the Uffizi late one afternoon and got in at a reduced rate of 10 Euros per person because it was after 4 pm, and we only waited about 30 minutes in line.
Breakfast was in a huge room with high ceiling with the usual European assortment buffet style, plus really good scrambled eggs with ham and fresh-squeezed orange juice, which was hard to find elsewhere. When we stayed the breakfast room was very quiet, hushed, and somewhat formal (at least compared to the jovial bustle at the breakfast room at the Hotel Eden Roc in Positano, which you might expect at a beachy resort), so we kept the kids relatively quiet. My husband and kids made us of the pool table in the billiard room right off the outdoor courtyard on the second floor.
On our last night in Florence we planned to go to the rooftop bar for a drink with the kids before dinner (special non-alcoholic drinks for kids included a passion fruit drink the kids loved), but it was so nice and breezy we stayed to watch the sun set, ate several rounds of prosciutto and melon, finished a bottle of prosecco and called it a night around 9:30pm. The bartenders are all sweet and welcoming and chatty, and we had a great time up there.
The location of the hotel - a block from the Ponte alla Carraia, which is two bridges west of the Ponte Vecchio, was great for us - a 10-15 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio and a very short (7 minute?) walk to the Pitti Palace and Boboli Gardens. The restaurant Dante directly across the street from the hotel was fine for (and filled with!) families with kids. The best people-watching was in front of the Palazzo Vecchio and Uffizi - lots of performance artists and comedians kept the kids entertained.
Overall this was one of the most relaxing and beautifully charming hotels we've been to and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: The Giuseppe Suite is enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanelleTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    97
    20
    14
    15
See reviews for
257
491
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent two night stay at this special "palace" which exceeded our expectations in every way. Our suite was HUGE and included a living area (where the four of us could sit, read, and enjoy coffee/wine), two large bedrooms and two very large bathrooms. From the beautiful fabrics and antiques, the comfortable beds, Bvlgari bath products, slippers, robes and chocolates on our pillows.....our every need was anticipated. And the delicious breakfast was served in an elegant room with a waiter in formal dress and white gloves....how divine! The true ambiance of Florence is integrated into the Palazzo and its an experience you shouldn't miss! Of the 5 other hotels and cities we visited in Italy the Palazzo Magnani Feroni was our favorite!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

The Palazzo is everything you would want in Florence. Classic rooms, unobtrusive but very helpful staff, perfect location. Our room (the fresco room) was something out of a rennaisance fairy tale with 20 ft. walls frescoed from floor to ceiling. Little things like a box of different scented soaps added to the luxury. The staff easily arranged a private tour and recommended great restaurants. From a convenience standpoint, everything is within about 15-20 minutes walk. All in all, a great time and we would most definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

The location was perfect (off the beaten place but close enough to walk to everything), the staff and service was exceptional to our needs and requests, the 2 tours they booked for us (the first a half day tour of wine country and the second a walking tour of Florence and museums) were arranged on short notice with amazing guides, and our rooms (Esmeralda and Angelica) were both exceptional for different reasons. Esmeralda is the fresco suite which is indescribable in charm and decor, and Angelica which is spacious, elegant and regal. If I ever find myself in Florence again, I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 651APfau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

My family of four stayed here for one night and it was sublime.
The service was second to none and the hotel itself.........splendid. It felt like stayiing in history itself and my only disappointment was that we could not stay longer. The children were welcomed throughout the hotel and nothing was too much for any of the staff.
A must is a trip to the roof terrace..........unforgetable, watching the sunset over a panoramic view of Florence, sipping a cocktail (even non-alcoholic ones for the children).
Thank you so much....................xx

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSWRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous. Our room was incredibly large with a huge bedroom area and another huge living area. It had two televisions and a bathroom filled with bvlgari soaps and shampoos. The bed was very comfortable and full of pillows and extra linens. The hotel itself was full of character and the upstairs' rooftop was so pretty. The breakfast itself was great (with eggs made to order and fresh pastries) and was spread out in a very elegant room. We loved this hotel and would stay there again in a minute!

Room Tip: I can only mention that the one we had was very large and on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We travelled as a group of 8 to florence in late July and picked this hotel for the amazing view from the rooftop bar and the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. We arrived with high expectations and all were exceeded. I cannot fault the Palazzo on any level, the staff were friendly and professional, the rooms were each uniquely beautiful (we had three rooms to explore) and the rooftop bar had an amazing view of florence including the Duomo - sipping a glass of wine while watching the sunset is a must! The location is perfect, merely a 5-10 minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio along the river. As for suggestions, I highly recommend making sure you include breakfast - the room itself has the most incredible chandelier but there is a wide variety of food on offer and even champagne! I cán't wait to get back there as soon I can!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bombayelectric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#22 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Property: Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Address: Borgo San Frediano 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing