We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #23 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Just superb”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We spent three nights here and had the Junior Suite which had frescos on walls/ceilings, the suite opened up to a courtyard. What I can I say about this hotel where do I start,can highly recommend you stay at the Palazzo its location in Florence is central within easy walking distance to attractions and restuarants the check in was very welcoming and efficient. I must say that the concierge service here is outstanding, prior to our arrival we asked about going on a tour of tuscany tailored to areas we wished to visit , the hotel met all of our requirements for this tour and arranged this tour- which was just stunning- nothing is too much trouble for the concierges.

Our suite was large and beatifully furnished the bathroom very spacious and Blvgari toiletries supplied- one can even pick out soaps from samples. Very comfortable king sized bed , nespresso coffee is avaliable 24/7 which is most welcome when returning from shopping.
The breakfast was excellent with a very good choice of foods- they also do an amazingly good fruit salad.
On the rooftop there is a bar with 360 degree views across Florence this is worth visiting if you are interested in obtaining some superb photos across Florence especially at sunset. It is also a very relaxing place to sit and enjoying a drink.

The access into the Junior suite is via a couple of steep steps this may be a problem for people with limitations to mobility. Access to all other areas of the hotel is good, to access the rooftop bar there are a couple of flights of stairs, the lift services the other parts of the hotel.

we thourougly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend to anyone wishing stay in Florence.

Room Tip: The junior suite is superb and is located on the ground floor it is large and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    103
    22
    14
    16
See reviews for
266
514
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

OK we used miles to book this hotel ( yes I did worry that we would get the outhouse in the back... and I read the reviews (good and bad before we left for our trip so I was little worried)

So... we did not get the suites with the frescos on the ceilings. Having said that, our stay there was FANTASTIC!!!

To set a baseline - I am lucky enough to stay in hotels that are in the top 10 in the work or ones considered luxury/high end.

Drawbacks

Definitely not the room as pictured on the hotel website. The pictures with the frescos.
The lighting in the rooms can be a little dark.
If want modern and upscale like the W hotels etc this is not for you. You know...sleek lines, hip bar etc...this is not for you.

The details.

1. We were in the Carlotta suite. It is on the second floor so not where are the main suites are located. As I mentioned above. Lighting was a little dim but we opened the curtains to the windows.

2. Apartment - I say apartment because the suite had a master bedroom with full shower ( no bath) and there was a very small 1/2 bathroom in the hallway. The living room was very good sized as was the hallway/foyer. Our adult kids slept in fold out beds in the living room and we had the master bedroom.

Beds were comfortable and I slept well. Sheets and towels were high quality.

3. Amenities - GREAT breakfast every morning!!! Who has candles with breakfast and white glove service??? Extensive buffet and you could order hot entries. For those yearning for the typical american breakfast (no pancakes or waffles though) you will get it here. My husband and son ordered two eggs over easy with toast almost everyday. Bacon and other meats are on the buffet. Fresh squeeze OJ too.
If you want to sample local fair it is on the buffet too. Yum - buffalo mozzarella
There is also this great touch where the hotel leaves a box on the table for you to pick soaps for you own use while there. My daughter and I picked 5 different types. They will then deliver a wedge of each soap you choose. If you want more just ask!! This is in addition to the the Bulgari toiletries you get.
I highly recommend going to the rooftop bar. Only hotel guests are allowed up there so it is private, quiet, great view and attentive service. ( that is why it is not a HIP place) If you go up for drinks around sunset you get enough cheese, cold cuts to be a nice light meal and then head off to bed. If you go after dinner for aperitifs you will get a nice selection of chocolates. The bartender is AWESOME and attentive without being obtrusive.
Afternoon tea with light cake/pastry or pie. Really nice to enjoy.
24/7 coffee/tea/fruit available (included in price of room) we definitely took advantage of this.
Pool table - small but fun
TV and decent selection of DVD's - always nice.
Small mini bar if you choose. We had no need to use this option.


4. Service - EXCELLENT. From the front desk, turn down service, breakfast buffet....you name it.

5. Location - you can walk from the SMN train station. If you have a lot of luggage to lug around take a cab. I would say about 10 euros not including tip. Otherwise, it is in a more residential area. There are laundromats very close by that are really clean and safe. The reason in that many people in FLorence do not have washer/dryers in there apartment so laudromats are frequently used. We used it twice and found it extremely convient and user friendly.

You are walking distance to all major tourist venues, shopping, restaurants and gelato shops. I bought my daughter handmade leather sandals from a family owned shop less than one block from our hotel. The elderly husband was right there making shoes while the elderly wife ( who did not speak english but really tried to help me. Her son came in and was able to be of more assistance.)


Yes- there is no restaurant in the hotel but you can order room service. We did not find that necessary. Between a great breakfast and drinks/finger foods in the evening we had not need for room service. Plus there are restaurants easily within walking distance.


Short of the apartment we rented in Paris this was the stay we pined for when we were in Milan.

Room Tip: no swimming pool or restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shudathotathat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We just spent 4 nights at the Palazzo Magnani Feroni in Florence and it sets the standards for all other hotels to follow. The rooms are truly magnificent and comfortable. The staff extremely attentive and friendly. The morning breakfast buffet outstanding. It is within walking distance across your pick of 3 bridges to the heart of historic Florence and the Duomo.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCSoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Do yourself a favor and STAY HERE! From the moment we walked in, the hotel staff treated us like royalty. No matter what request we had, no matter how late we asked for dinner reservations we were always accomodated. The staff members that took care of us truly cared about our experience in Florence and ensured we had a flawless stay with them. (Don't get me started on the luxurious amenities they provide...amazing!)The Palace itself is BEAUTIFUL and the upstairs terrace/ private happy hour was the perfect way to welcome the evening. Please take the time to chat with Emmanual, he is a genuinely wonderful person that is extremely knowledgable about Florence and even has GREAT recommendations. I cannot rave enough about this hotel! Until next time, Palazzo Magnani Feroni!

Room Tip: The Guiseppi suite was perfect for our 5 person family! We had a wonderful time enjoying each others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielleghs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is one hotel you will never forget! We arrived and had a hassle-free check-in and went to our room. We turned the key and could not believe how big the room was (bigger than some flats I've lived in). The room was huge and the artwork around the room was beautiful. The bed was extremely comfy and enjoyed the nightly turndown service. All the staff were absolutely wonderful and the breakfast was amazing! The rooftop terrace is a must - a glass of wine watching the sunset over Florence is something to remember. I cannot fault this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bris_sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2012

First of all, in palazzo magnani was the first time i heard and saw with my own eyes that a Manager of a luxury hotel yells at her employees not observing the people around.She was so scary and so loud that i could even hear her voice even if i already went inside my room. This hotel's Manager is very unprofessional.

There is another problem when you go to this hotel, the employees have bad smell, from sri lanka if i could remember. i do not have a problem with any nationality, i just expected a luxury hotel to be the best... but i just could not stand the smell in the elevator with one of the employees.. they are helpful but with poor hygiene, does not totally make a very good impression.

the only thing i like a about this hotel is the room that was really huge and the terrace with a view of florence...

overall, this hotel should not be considered a luxury hotel. i was not impressed.




  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dj_america
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just stunning. Super friendly and helpful staff and one of the most beautiful hotels I've ever stayed in. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave5433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 422 in Florence
1,185 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 422 in Florence
1,241 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
765 reviews
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#21 of 422 in Florence
377 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Property: Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Address: Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing