We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #23 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2013

A gem of a place close to sights with plenty of good restaurants around it. The suite was brilliant, bed comfortable and all mod cons, very quiet and hard to believe the property is in a busy street. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was superb. The views over Florence from the roof terrace were delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nabNYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Magnani Feroni
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

Wow. Great place. Everything was very well done. From the pre-arrival through checkout. The room was outstanding. Perfect for our family of 4. We had the Executive Suite. Larger than what we needed. The breakfast was delightful. The terrace was a great place to relax with a glass of wine. Staff was very, very helpful. I stay in a hotel >100 nights/year. This was simply outstanding.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Florence is a beautiful city and many of the Palazzo's are also historic and beautiful. The Palazzo Magnani Feroni does have a great history and the archticture does reflect the beauty of times gone by. It is spoilt by the atempt of the hotel owners to re-create a bygone era with some rather cheap and sometimes tacky furnishings, fake marble, cheap tiling in bathrooms and a mismatch of styles in the suites.The biggest problem was the noise you get from the road and bars to the front of the building when staying in these suites. Some noise is to be expected but the owners should invest in some better sound proofing windows. There is also a bit of a bad smell in the WC which I presume comes from the old pipes. The staff is friendly and helpful and there is also a lot of attention to detail. Compared to other 5 start hotel the standard is not quite there and the price is also not justified even if the suites are huge. It feels a bit of a rip off...if the owners make some improvement it will be great hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the front road are quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Owner at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Sir,
we thank you for taking the time to write your review and at the same time we feel sorry that you did not experience the perfect Palace stay.
We recreated the Palace as a 'home far from home' - 12 suites only in the whole Palace areas reflecting the atmosphere of the Florence style. Our frontdesk, as soon as they felt that you would like to chance your booked suite they moved you into another one facing a typical Italian city garden.
Please believe us that sometimes the historic centre of Florence, especially after many rains, might have a bad smell, but this changes with the winds and normally disappears within a few hours - this is something that unfortunately do not depend from the building. We always take great care of all reviews and try our very best to improve all possible reported details, therefore we really hope to have the chance to re-welcome you and to make you experience another suite area inside the Palace,
our very best wishes,
Sincerely
Alberto & Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

We attend with kids in the family suite. This is clearly not typical for most people staying here but it works really well. The family suite is huge - an appartment with two bedrooms huge living room and kitchen diner too. Super amount of space for a family. The location of the hotel is great, very close but not in the midst of the tourist throng. No restaurant but loads of restaurants really a stones throw away. The breakfasts are excellent and the staff very helpful. Roof terrace also a magical space with fabulous views. The common parts and exterior are very discrete and uncommercial. But the service levels are indicative of a well run establishment. . Quibbles? If only to lend credibility to the review- the room was at the front of the hotel on the first floor and Italians let alone tourists after a few bottles of chianti are not famed for being quiet. With so much space the suite really would be better with a bath and not just showers. But the positive reviews are all correct and I would only want to emphasise that it works well as a location for kids in their family suite.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This is a beautiful old mansion converted into suite style rooms. our family of 4 had a nice two bedroom suite. very spacious and comfortable. for americans there are a few quirks, which may be typical for florence... it was hard to get enough hot water for all of us to shower, and tricky to control the temperature of the rooms, but it was great having space for all of us to spread out. shower inside bathroom didnt have hot waer but new free standing shower in separate alcove in our space was very nice. lots of beautiful soaps but we often had to ask for more towels or toilet paper... promptly remedied, but having to ask was one of those little quirks where if you have a true five star expectation you might be annoyed. great location in a nice area just a ten minute walk from the ponte vecchio. staff at front desk was very very helpful and friendly. This is an elegant mansion but people looking for true five star amenities in every respect may take issue... the conversion makes the place a bit more interesting and funky than a conventional formal location. gorgeous roof terrace and courtyard, nice small work out room. beautiful dining room BUT I would say there was some oddness around dining. open from 7:30 to 10:30... over our stay we spanned the times... not really set up at 7:30 one morning when we were catching an early train, and first few days when we came jetlagged to breakfast close to 10:30 closing time we got a very grumpy reception from the waiter. there is an attempt at formal service for coffee, and the one waiter for the dining room seemed overworked.... self serve coffee in the dining room would make things easier for everyone... especially americans who want large amounts of coffee quickly... service was slow for coffee and it was very tough to get a second cup. self serve machines in lobby were great in comparison. we had one waiter during our stay who was outright rude and grumpy... others were very gracious. we really enjoyed our stay.... would not recommend for older people as there are many stairs and uneven stairs, etc... not an issue for us but would be for some....

Room Tip: quieter rooms do not face street... we had two bedroom suite for family of four.... if you have mobi...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This hotel is like no other that I have stayed at. First off the service is exquisite especially the dining wait staff. Location wise it is off the beaten path on the south side of the river. The atmosphere is museum like --very tall ceilings, old paintings, elaborate decorations, and huge rooms. Our suite, the Guilia, consisted of a large sitting room and then a big bedroom. The bathroom was updated and remodeled. The breakfast was delicious and located on the second floor. The elevator is an antique itself. The problem I had is that the eloquent draperies and headboard coverings appeared to be very old and they smelled dusty to me. I personally do not like fabric covered headboards because of mites etc. Also, we stayed in the Guilia suite and there was construction nearly in the morning (so check to see if the construction is finished or if you get up by 8 don't worry about it). There was noise late at night coming from the homes directly across from our suite. Other than that--an interesting experience. We stayed in Italy for 12 days and were in five hotels, and this was my 14 year old son's second favorite hotel--very interesting place to stay.

Room Tip: Get an internal suite if the construction is not over or if you sleep past 8.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelhound2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This property is a real gem. My family and I (two daughters, 12 and 14) stayed here in late March, 2013 in a family suite that was incredibly charming. The entire hotel consists of only twelve rooms (or thereabout), but the staff is friendly, attentive and effective. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smokey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 411 in Florence
1,269 reviews
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 411 in Florence
396 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#13 of 411 in Florence
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#15 of 411 in Florence
642 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 411 in Florence
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Address: Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £195 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing