We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a Royal the entire time! Perfect honeymoon hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #22 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We decided to go all out indulgent for our honeymoon stay in Florence and booked the "Junior Suite" for 2 nights. For 280 Euros we expected to be treated like Royalty and we weren't disappointed.


* fabulous suite with personal terrace and frescos on all walls and ceilings. Yes, ok, they weren't exactly high art but incredibly unusual anyway. Cleaned twice per day and full of interesting furniture.

* really comfy bed, comfy sofa, had tv and dvd player although didn't watch it - too busy. Actually had a cosy sleep on the sofa it was that big and snug.

* bathroom spotless with fab shower. Lovely toiletries including hand made soap, dressing gowns, etc. Not the newest but in keeping with the history of the building.

* staff impeccable and polite, bent over backwards to help, booked restaurants for us and generally advised us how best to spend our short time in Florence.

* roof top terrace really under-used but best view in whole of Florence with enough free & yummy bar snacks to fill you up all night! Really friendly barman, Manuel?, who was chatty and respectful and he really knew how to make a good cocktail.

* lovely little touches like leaving a note & chocolate on your pillow at night telling you the weather forecast the next day, free newspaper, choose your own soap flavour

* even the foyer and shared rooms are full of wonderful antiques and chandeliers - like staying in a museum

* excellent location, close to Ponte Vecchio and about 5-10 mins to centre of Florence. Very quiet with cool shady terraces and lovely breezy roof top bar.

* the most amazing lift in the world with red velvet seats!!


* cocktail prices were OUTRAGEOUS (28 Euros!) but the cocktails were delicious, made with the best spirits, and made up for in copious free bar snacks - olives, crisps, savouries, little fresh savoury pastries, nuts - as much as you can eat.

* breakfast a bit crappy but you eat so much in Italy anyway that you don't need much and they had the usual continental fare.

* we were recommended by the barman not to eat lunch or dinner in the hotel as they don't have chef or kitchen. No need as fab restaurant about 10 metres across road.

All in all we had a really lovely stay and felt that for the same money in the UK you'd probably just get a good quality Holiday Inn-type room with no character. I think the more expensive suites were less characteristic the rooms are so huge and tastefully decorated (well, apart for the chandeliers) that the historical atmosphere of staying in an old Palazzo makes up for it.

We wanted to be swept off our feet as we were on our honeymoon and we didn't care about the expense. This was an amazing place to stay and I would go there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mrsZang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItalyAngel, Owners at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2008

Dear Palazzo Honeymooners,
we really would like to take the chance to Thank You for your kind and detailed Tripadvisor comment. It is a great help for us hoteliers to understand every needs and those details that need attention. We are very glad to know that you chose the Junior Fresco Suite, since we think that it offers a lot of romance with its frescoes for such a special holiday as a honeymoon.
At the same time we are sorry that our bar menù is not clear enough, be assured that this will be updated and made more clear immediately, because actually our cocktails start at Euro 14. Since the price is written only at the bottom of the page, maybe that does not make it clear and we advised already our Customer Care Service to add each rate properly after each cocktail name.
We really hope to see you back at our Palazzo and to enjoy together a nice drink at the Palace Bar, it would be a nice occasion to meet you and to celebrate your anniversary!
All the best from Florence,
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2008

My husband surprised me with 2 nights at this wonderful hotel.
From the moment we arrived everyone was so helpful and the suite was heavenly. We stayed in a Feroni suite and it was amazing. Such a beautiful place to stay in a magical city like Florence. Monica and her staff made our stay very special....

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank london1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We received a private invitation to enjoy a birthday drink for my mother on the roof terrace of this beautiful palazzo as we are staying at the wonderful Hotel Plaza Lucchesi. Mano looked after us all evening and we enjoyed a lovely bottle of red wine from the hotel owner's vineyard. Thank you Mano for making my mum's birthday holiday to Florence that extra bit special for her last evening, you are one in a million!.....We hope to stay at your hotel in the near future....Grazie!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

This review is long overdue....My wife I and I stayed at the PMF in August of '05 while on our honeymoon. This is not only the best hotel we stayed in during this trip (which included the 5-star Westin in Rome and other great hotels in Italy), but it's the best hotel I've ever stayed in and I've stayed in hotels all across the US, as well as the UAE, China / Hong Kong, Australia, etc. This is THE HOTEL by which I compare all others.
To say the rooms are well appointed is an understatment. The rooms are decorated like little museums. We had floor-to-ceiling bookshelves w/ pictures / paintings and BUSTS on the shelves - unbelievable.

There are only 11 or 12 rooms in this hotel and they're all suites. They're not even numbered, they are named after the family members; we stayed in the "Livia" room.

On entering the room, we had to take time and tour / enjoy the entire room. There were 3 separate rooms w/in our room: the sitting room / ante-chamer which itself had to be 300SF and had big comfy chairs, a couch, a table w/ more chairs and the bookcase; a bedroom w/ a nice comfy bed (might've been a queen, but I think it was a king); and the bathroom which was HUGE, especially for Europe. The bathroom included a separate, glass-encased shower and plenty of room for my wife and I to do our grooming / cleaning in the same bathroom.

After the tour, we reviewed the soap choices (no kidding)...the hotel had a box of FRESH soaps and encouraged us to select the 1 or 2 we liked the most and they'd have those kinds sent up to our room for our use - nice, right?
So, long and short of it, the room was great! Not a great view off the small balcony, but the room itself was spectacular.

The rest of the hotel was just charming, very well decorated and it had fresh flowers everywhere. The rooftop lounge itself was just fantastic and reason enough for visiting this hotel, even if you're not staying there. We got lucky and visited during a full moon under which we sat, listened to nice music and could look out over Florence's famous Duomo and Bapistry, as well as another church tower closer to our hotel. Talk about a ROMANTIC honeymoon!!! Also, the hotel is a 15-minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio and about 30 minutes from the Galleria d'ella Acadamie where Mike's David is located. So it's not in the heart of Florence, but it suited me just fine.

Breakfast was served in a common room every morning and while it probably wasn't the best breakfast spread we had during our honeymoon (that honor would go to the Hotel Villa Ducale in Taormina, Sicily), it was certainly good and abundant, with fresh fruit, cereals and GREAT Italian coffee.

The last and most important item is about service. This anecdote typifies the service we received while at the PMF:
Our first day there, we stopped by the Front Desk and enquired about 2 things:
1) Did they have a recommendation for dinner?
2) We heard there was an Italian outlet mall nearby not to be missed...could they get us more information on that?
- When we returned, we found two typed memos in our box, which the desk clerk handed to us, the first told us they'd made a dinner reservation for us at their recommended location and a car would be at the hotel to pick us up beforehand (for a fee, but we could cancel the car if we wanted to, with no penalty). The second memo informed us about the outlet mall nearby and again, a car had been reserved for us and would pick us up whenever we wanted to in the morning.
Two typed memos....all arrangements handled by the hotel...cars, dinner reservations, whatever...just fantastic. I have never received more personalized service at any other hotel, bar none.

That's it..if / when we get back to Europe, we're going to Italy, we're going to Florence and we're staying at the Palazzo Magnani Feroni. IT IS NOT TO BE MISSED!

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank besttom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

We stayed for a supposed 6 nights in April for our 10th Wedding anniversary.
On arrival (we drove from Nice) the luggage ran out to take the car away for me when we were blocking lots of traffic - good move, great service - I know why now. The rates were 40 euros a day for parking! More than the car cost to rent!
They upgraded us to a suite - ground floor Lucrieze or something - nice but not overwhelming room - did not even use the separate seating area apart from the safe and the other TV remote as the one in the bedroom did not work!.
Bed, wardrobes, etc were lovely. Bathroom pretty poor for the price we were paying. When will these places realise that the shower is really important!!!!!
Different soaps etc - nice touch but not really necessary.
The place had no atmosphere -yea go headover heels for the building and the public areas, but there is not real feeling. Summer upstairs on the terrace maybe some good times, but not as good as you get from the Porcuspino Restaurant with Frank and his team!
Breakfast area outstanding? Never. poor. Paying extra for your eggs - when did this ever happen folks? Went in there once and never went back!!!
We wanted to go back home early as the weather was poor and Florence had been Done to death by foot and the Tuscan hills were invisible due to the fog - so we got a flight from Rome and the girl was very helpful with the car rental arrangements (still cost me 400 euros to drop off a french car in italy though) - if the hotel had really had some atmosphere we may have stayed for the duration , but no.
Good points - location. location. location. Nothing more
Oh they did discount some of the parking when we complained, but the internet usage needs to be paid for.
Freebie newspaper was there in the morning without asking.
Did not like having to ring a bell though to get in.
Next time we will stay in a residence or maybe on the hills at Hotel Torre di Bellosguardo? We wil see.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank baldyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinky65, General Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2008

Dear Sir,

first of all I thank you for your comment. I am deeply sorry for the bad feeling you had during your stay. I would like to answer to some of your complaints: garage € 40 is a normal price in Florence where is really impossible to park a car. Internet access we are searching for a provider more convenient for us in order to give this service totally complimentary to our guests even if € 10 for 24 hours is a competitive price. Breakfast I agree with you, In fact from first week of May our buffet will be enrich with large selection of croissants, breads, cakes and a corner with dietetic items.
I hope you'll be able to come back to Florence in the future and to give us the chance to change your bad feeling. I cannot ensure about the fog.........

Thanks and best regards

Giovanni Di Carmine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

We spent 3 nights in the Lucrezia Suite and enjoyed the whole event, especially as we got a 3 nights for the price of 2 offer for staying in February.
We had the bonus that the weather was perfect, 70F and dry.
There were plenty of people in Florence and there and a great buzz, so why, why, why do people still want to go in summer when its expensive, overcrowded and suffocating HOT!

This 500 year old + palace is more serviced apartments than hotel…. and if you visit Florence then what you cannot surely want is a 2008 plastic and chrome gin palace………or do you????

If you do then don’t bother to read on, visit Las Vegas :P

Florence is all about history and culture and the sophistication of times long gone …and that’s exactly what you get here…. its the real McCoy and not some pseudo interior designers idea of opulence and style

All the furniture was genuine antique, even the pots were Limoges…. the fittings however were genuine 2008 quality and the bed was a super king size with Egyptian cotton covers…we were glad breakfast was served up to 11am!

I’m not going to repeat the comments that many others have written about this sophisticated unique and very adult hotel even down to the Bulgari bathroom items….if its positive people have written then IMO its true!

There was absolutely no problem with TV reception. we chose our soap and it was there within hours, the staff were to a man totally efficient and discrete, they were there like a shot when you needed them, smiling and extremely well mannered and knowledgeable, they didn’t fawn over or “mither” you.

The breakfast items were of the highest standards, and all the juices freshly squeezed and again the service in the breakfast room was of a standard reminiscent of films you see of the Grand Tours of the 19th century, uniformed staff with white gloves and all that!

There are decent restaurants nearby, just turn right out of the hotel and keep walking!

Visit and enjoy how a sophisticated European grown up hotel functions!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MarionMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2008

On this 2nd trip to Florence after researching and seeing all the good reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to give the Palazzo Magnani a try. I don't like to be negative and I rarely if ever give a negative review because I really research hotels before we book but for us this turned out to be somewhat off.... I think we enjoyed more staying in a deluxe room in a hotel facing the Arno as on our 1st trip.

The location is convenient yet away from the hustle bustle of the really busy areas. Only a few minutes walk to Ponte Vecchio.
The staff was helpful in getting us transporation to the train station for the next leg of our trip.
The Palazzo itself is a very quiet environment....you rarely see any other guests.
The view from the top floor terrace is great and nice for an evening drink and a few minutes rest before setting out for evening dinnner etc.
There are also some very nice eating places close to the hotel.
The suites as well as the public areas are very spacious and very old world style. Some of the decorations were very interesting while others could seem just old depending on your appreciation for such things.

I booked and paid for 2 deluxe suites at the Magnani and I'm still not convinced they were both deluxe suites...although they were on the same floor and faced the same street they were very different in size. When I questioned them on this they said they were both deluxe suites and didn't offer anything other comments. I asked if they had any other rooms available to take a look at and they said no not that day but the next day they would and would call us. They never called us or said another word about it to us!
The other annoying things were the tv's in both suites did not work properly and were very erratic (not that we watched alot of tv by any means but we do like to keep up with some news etc.). Also they state that they give you a choice of soap and this was not the case for us (this certainly didn't spoil my trip but it was interesting that they never mentioned it).
The bathrooms we had were very small compared to those pictured on the website although they were nice.
Also I have seen several reviews that the breakfast was outstanding and for us it was okay but nothing special....we've been to many other places in Europe where the breakfast was much more memorable.
We found the staff to be very nice but a little on the standoffish side....I think they feel that it is classier to be discreet but a little more smiling would be just as good and just as classy.

It's hard for me to put my finger on it but we just didn't get a warm feeling from this place.
Having said all this I wouldn't say don't stay here by any means. It is a very nice place especially if you want total privacy. We always stay in very nice hotels and I think for us this was just a miss (you're bound to miss every now and then if you travel enough).
I know this all sounds contrary to what others have said but for us it was just a matter of comparing to other places we've stayed and just a matter of personal taste I guess!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#25 of 409 in Florence
652 reviews
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 409 in Florence
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 409 in Florence
408 reviews
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 409 in Florence
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Address: Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £180 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing