We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palazzo in Oltrarno”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #22 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely stay at Palazzo Magnani Feroni.
At time of booking I reserved an Executive Suite and a Junior Suite - now called a Unica Suite and a Luxury Suite. We are a family of four, two older teenagers, and I had requested the rooms be next to each other or on the same floor. At check-in we were informed they had upgraded our room to a luxury suite so we could have rooms next to the children - greatly appreciated. However, I was a tiny bit disappointed we didn't have our stay in the Unica Suite, as its covered in frescoes. That's quite alright though, a reason to return!
Helpful staff ~ lovely roof-top terrace with excellent drinks, service and snacks ~ breakfast was very good with an option for eggs cooked to order ~ common areas are quite lovely as were our two Luxury Suites. Bathrooms could def use some updates ~ but they are no real complaints.
Location of hotel was a major plus. Loved returning to the quieter side of Florence after a day with the masses ~ nothing was terribly far though.
Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank people2people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

….. Well them, we definitely look forward to welcome you back at Palazzo Magnani Feroni as it was a true pleasure having you. We are so glad that your stay with us was pleasant so, ARRIVEDERCI e A PRESTO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had an incredible visit at the Palazzo Magani Feroni hotel in Florence. It was the most spacious room we had ever stayed in. When they say it's an all suite hotel, they mean it. It was like an apartment. The people at the front desk were always helpful and the staff is very guest oriented. They had a small gym which is a bonus and the roof top terrace is a special place. It just does not have an elevator so we were huffing and puffing each time we went up there. But it was worth the climb. The bartender, Emanuele, is a terrific guy and he is so happy to please. When you order any type of drink, he gives you multiple snacks on the house. The views are incredible from up there. They have a nice breakfast room and the breakfast was good. It did not have nearly as many options as the other places we stayed but the food was fresh and tasty. The bathroom, while very large, still has some old fashioned amenities. The European shower did not have hot water a few times and the toilets needed to be flushed a few times before they filled with water. The AC was good in the main room but not great in the bedroom as it is hidden behind furniture and the shades. But these are small inconveniences for a gorgeous palatial hotel. The location is on the South Side of the river so not as close to the main attractions as others. But it was a pleasure to be in a quieter area and everything you want to see is within a 10-20 minute walk. The hotel is great for couples and families and we met many nice families there as well. The suite set up lends itself to that. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for beautiful accommodations and great service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback that I will share with the staff as this always is a great treat for us all! I will mention you to Emmanuele, he is our hero as he makes the best cocktails and is very friendly and helpful! We thank you again for staying with us and look forward to your next visit so A PRESTO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just returned from a trip to Italy and loved our stay in Florence. We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and it more than exceeded our expectations. As another reviewer mentioned, this is more of an experience than a hotel. The charm and opulence of this mansion cannot be overstated. From the rooftop terrace to the inner courtyard, beautiful furnishings and exquisite rooms, it is the perfect place to stay in Florence. We're a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) and reserved a 2 bedroom suite. We stayed in the Franscesca Suite. This was more of an apartment than a suite. It was absolutely huge! It had a long hallway, leading to 2 bedrooms, a bathroom (with two showers), a kitchenette, living room, and dining room. I couldn't believe you could get such a spacious suite in Italy! The service was flawless. They will cater to you every whim. Upon our arrival, we were given a box of different soaps and told to pick one we liked. The next day, they left a beautifully wrapped soap from the one we selected for each member of our family. It was a nice touch. Breakfast was in a gorgeous room in the palace. I've included a picture. The hotel's location is ideal. It's on a quaint little street across the river, but within walking distance to all attractions. We only needed a taxi to get to and from the train station, and that's because we had luggage. There are some nice restaurant choices in the area. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Florence. This stay completed the experience of this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RIDI0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Just a quick note to thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback, it really works wonders on all of us. We are so happy that we have been part of your Florentine stay and hope to have you and your family back in the near future so, ARRIVEDERCI!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Location is fantastic. We had two suites on the ground floor very close to the reception. Rooms were simply huge. We experienced in my kids room on the last night of our stay a problem of an abnormal amount of flies. There was all along a slight fly problem but there was a sudden accumulation of them on the last day. Obviously the pest control should be better. The service was very good. Concierge was very friendly. Breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: Our room location was very good other than the fly problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prasan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and glad that overall your stay with us was successful. We are sorry about the fly problem; we have had abnormal weather this year which might be part of the problem as the insects made it thru the winter. We do spray the garden at the beginning of spring to avoid these problems so I’m not sure what went wrong but we are doing so again just to be safer. Thank you again and CIAO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel really is like a palace inside. The high ceilings, opulent furnishings, and spacious rooms will make you feel like royalty. The only problem with our room, Giulia on the 2nd floor, is that the noise from the street made it really hard to sleep. There were two layers of glass windows plus heavy wooden shutters, but nothing could keep out the the noise of racing motorbikes, siren-blasting ambulances, and raucous revelers below. We used ear plugs the second night and that did help. The place is also a little difficult to find if you're arriving by car. My Google GPS app thought the hotel was on the other side of the street, and the only indication of the hotel is some gold lettering on the recessed door. We drove right by it and ended up across the river in the ZTL (limited traffic zone). We were in a panic thinking we were going to get a hundred euro fine, and finally found a parking garage to pull into. The attendant assured us he would register the license plate and we wouldn't get a ticket. Apparently this is common practice with hotels and parking garages, so don't worry if you enter the ZTL zone trying to get to your hotel.

The hotel has a wonderful breakfast in a beautiful dining room complete with white-gloved waiters. Ask for a scrambled egg or omelet and they'll make it fresh. There's a rooftop terrace with a great view of the city. Most sights are within easy walking distance. The suites are huge. Our daughter had a cot in the living room area which worked well.
Stay here and feel like a Medici, just don't forget your earplugs!

Room Tip: The street noise in the room "Guilia" on the 2nd floor was very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSOMacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about Palazzo Feroni Magnani. We are glad that your stay with us was successful and that you enjoyed Florence. Yes indeed, the streets are narrow as it was founded by the Romains and expanded in the Middle Ages and during the Renaissance when horses and carts where the only transport around. With the nice weather the center of Florence fills up with exciting activities which is great but sometimes we might get caught in the middle of the street noise. In fact today is San Giovanni, our Patron Saint, thus the entire city will be watching the fireworks; our guests will have a ball as there is no better view of them as from our rooftop terrace, CARE TO JOIN US? Thank you again and ARRIVEDERCI!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We decided to make our once in a lifetime trip to Italy extra memorable by saving the pennies to stay at highly rated hotels. While it seems a shame to call the Palazzo a hotel - it's really an experience - it was worth every saved cent. I've never in my life experienced the level of service we received there and that goes for everything from rescuing us from a stuck luggage lock to seemingly-impossible last minute arrangements for spa services. They were also incredibly patient in rebooking us as at restaurants as our plans changed.

So while the level of service was absolutely top notch - the Palazzo itself is a grand property. The suites are HUGE (when they tell you all Italian rooms are tiny they must not have included the Palazzo), the air conditioning and hot water are plentiful, and the facility is wonderfully located.

Even this old geezer was able to walk easily to the Pitti Palace and then to the Ponte Vechio and into the historic Florence areas quickly and without difficulty (unless you count the fact that there were so many tourists there that most of the time you had to walk in the street since the sidewalks were packed with people, motor scooters, or cars parked up on the curb)..

And you know what tops off the physical features of the Palazzo We had a 2 room suite with an extra fold out bed in the living room of the suite. I was sleeping on the fold out bed. Guess what, there are very comfortable mattresses to be had for fold-outs. Just another of the many unbelievable things to wonder at when staying at the Palazzo Magnaani Feroni.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay000Way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

These are the feedbacks we like to receive as nothing is more motivating to us all than to know that our dedication and hard work is appreciated and that it makes a difference to our guests so let me just say GRAZIE MILLE for your kind words and A PRESTO we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This small five star hotel, on the quieter bank of the River Arno, has magnificently comfortable and large suites. I stayed in a corner suite on the third level, and in addition to the large sitting room it contained, outside there was a wide hallway with antique sofas and art on the walls. The hotel served excellent breakfast buffets and arranged a nice day tour to surrounding cities and hill towns for me. Several nice restaurants and the main tourist attractions of this delightful city were just steps away. I only use a taxi for trips to and from the airport.

Would most definitely stay again!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Edison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Kind Sir,
We can’t thank you enough for your kind words re Palazzo Magnani Feroni…. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great care to keep the atmosphere as it once was giving however the best services that the 21st century allows. We truly hope to welcome you back in the near future so ARRIVEDERCI!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#24 of 410 in Florence
644 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 410 in Florence
1,300 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 410 in Florence
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 410 in Florence
402 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 410 in Florence
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Address: Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £188 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing