We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #19 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel turned out to be the favorite of our trip - and the best value! The hotel was an old palace, and, as a result, every room is a suite. I was a bit concerned before I got there that it had the potential to be really cheesy. However, what a great place! The staff was friendly and attentive. The room was huge and spectacular! A full living area upon walking in, up 4 steps, down a hallway and there is the bedroom and bathroom. This hotel suite was bigger than my first apartment. By a long shot! There are doors that close each area off, so it would be very easy to have people sleeping in the bedroom, and people up in the living room and never hear each other. There is a gorgeous rooftop bar with Marco the bartender, who took very good care of us! It is open every night until midnight, and each night that we went up, we were the only ones there. The view was spectacular, the drinks good and each night we got a complimentary small treat! One word of warning - you must go up a lot of stairs to get there. A lot. But trust me, the climb is worth it! The hotel is south of the Arno River, so it is in the quieter part of Florence, which we ended up loving after long busy days. It is still close enough to be a short walk from everywhere. I'd stay here again in the heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
So happy to read that your stay with us was a success…… I will share your kind words with the entire staff, Marco will be thrilled as he loves being complemented on his fabulous drinks. Speaking of which, his drinks are well deserved after the walk up to the terrace! We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future we hope so ARRIVEDERCI!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    97
    20
    14
    15
See reviews for
257
491
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The Palazzo Magnoni Feroni was top-notch from start to finish. Our room was immensely spacious and comfortable, the service is impeccable, and the location is perfect. It is just over the Arno, and close enough to get to all the usually-visited sites on the other side, and it is very close to some fine restaurants altr'Arno (Il Santo Bevitore and I'Brindellone were 2 of our favorites). The courtyard and rooftop "bar" offer quiet outdoor spaces to enjoy, which is a rare thing in Florence. We had a wonderful time while we were here, and I was grateful each day to return to the personal service and comfort of Palazzo Magnani Feroni.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We can’t thank you enough for your kind words. We are so pleased that your stay with us was a success and very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future! It rained in Florence last night but on the rooftop terrace it was still a sight to be seen – Florence even if under the rain is magnificent and having a covered terrace un the roofs of our city makes it quite a treat! ARRIVEDERCI e GRAZIE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Booked an overnight stay in one of there beautiful suites which was lovely (also very large) staff very helpful giving us maps to guide us around Florence. Went up to the roof top bar this really is a great place to have a drink in the evening, the barman spoke very good English. Breakfast in the morning was also fine, just the normal, fruit, toast , plus a hot breakfast eggs an bacon if you wished. This hotel had some very nice personal touches. turn down service, chocolate's on the bed, personal soaps.

You must take a ride in the antique elevator

I have no complaints about this hotel and would stay again..

Room Tip: I had the Francesca suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Grazie Mille for your kind feedback, it was a true pleasure having you stay with us….. The elevator is special with its rood iron and velour covered bench, can’t remember but I believe it dates back to the 1920’s (but it gets checked regularly – not to worry)…… As I said we were happy to have you and hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel and enjoyed our stay. We were in the Giuli suite which is of two very large rooms and a remodeled bathroom. Plenty of room for the three of us. The rooms were very clean and decorated quite nice with art and antiques. Two drawbacks were the shower did not drain quick enough to keep up with the water from the shower head and the first two nights were quite noisy until about midnight from a bar and traffic from the street below. We like breakfast which was plentiful. We could order eggs and there was fruit, yogurt, cheese, cereal, meat, etc.
The highlight was the rooftop bar. Marco, the bartender, is a true gentlemen and very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Where to start? By thanking you of course on behalf of the entire staff of Palazzo Magnani Feroni for your kind words……… As I never stop saying – nothing motivates us more that being acknowledged by our guests for our work and efforts. We are thrilled that your stay with us was successful and that you enjoyed the Giulia suite which I agree, is really nice. Please accept our warmest regards and the hope to have you back soon! CIAO!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The bed was unreasonably lumpy and uncomfortable. We were given a room on the ground floor and it was noisy outside. The bathroom plumbing was horrible. The toilet did not flush properly half the time. Was promised a "soap" so we took the time to smell each one and never got one. The "Spaghetti cinese" offered for breakfast is a Korean instant ramen... Poorly named if you ask me! The receptionist was a bit snooty and gave off such an arrogant vibe!

Overall, it was just an odd stay. I think the property tries very hard to create this "old-time luxury" feel but it really just feels old and uncomfortable. Yes, the suites are huge and there is history and charm. But given the level of comfort provided, the price doesn't seem justified.

As far as pros, we thought the breakfast was excellent along with the staff.

Would we stay here again? Probably not. Recommend it to a friend? Probably not.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are very sorry that your stay with us was not a success! We are surprised to read your objections as the feedbacks that we receive from are various guests are always very encouraging. We send you are Kindest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have been in Florence previously staying at the Bernini Palace. That was truly a five star experience. Sadly the Magnani Feroni could not live up to that standard. We are a family of three and stayed for 5 nights in July '14.
The room : We had booked a Luxury suite on the ground floor based on the web site description. I feel that the description is misleading. Certainly the single room was nicely furnished and spacious (75m2 would be pushing it !!), however I was expecting a suite with separate rooms. A wardrobe placed halfway along the room does not turn a single room into a suite ! A junior suite maybe, but not a suite that we are used to.
Breakfast : We enjoyed 10 days in the Color Hotel in Bardolino immediately prior to our arrival in Florence. this hotel had a fantastic buffet. In comparison, the breakfast buffet in the MF was very poor in terms of selection of food, and hot food had to be ordered separately.
The Rooftop Bar : A huge plus for the hotel to have this. Wonderfiul setting for a drink, however consideration should be given to installing some sort of communication device to let the barman know you are up there. We came up at 11pm on our second night for a nightcap and waited for 10 mins with the barman nowhere to be seen before we gave up and went to the bar a few doors down instead
The Staff : Very professional, courteous and pleasant
The hotel itself : the word "palace" in the title says it all. Very elegant and beautifully furnished. Nice antique elevator, and lovely cool courtyard where it is possible to order "room service"

Overall, the stay was pleasant enough, but not pleasant enough for us to want to return to this particular hotel

Room Tip: If you want a "real" suite, check first to see what you are actually getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigers1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest, let’s start from the GOOD as we were are a bit confused as to the 3 stars we were given when in fact the feedback was mostly nice and for which we thank you! Following your points we would like to add: as you said Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an old historical building and each and every suite is different due to the fact that the Fine Arts of Florence allow very small changes when it comes to Historical sites. You mentioned that the hot food at breakfast needs to be ordered a la carte, we actually thought this as a plus as we make things express each time, sorry you don’t agree. The rooftop terrace is a delight and we are terribly sorry that our barman was called away for room service the night you went up, you must of crossed paths while going down as he was not away for more than 10 minutes; there is a internal phone which you probably did not see but rest assured that we will consider putting a specific devise for our customers to contact the front desk as you suggest. I would also like to thank you on behalf of the entire staff for the kind words you had about them and so glad you enjoyed the courtyard, I personally love sitting there with my computer: the remarkable columns, the antique vases and fountain, the collection of Roman historical marble pieces give me such a feeling of peace and belonging. Well our dear Guest, we are sorry your stay with us was not as satisfactory as we all hoped and wish you all best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

You can read all the other reviews about the rooms etc. If a little walking is ok I would encourage you strongly to stay here on the quiet side of the river. Each day after dealing with cross everywhere it was a pleasure to come back to the Palazzo.

The views from the roof top deck are superb and only improve as evening sets in.

The staff are all very nice and helpful.

The only small item was that you had to go to the lobby to get coffee in the am. They have beverage stations on each floor but only instant coffee is available. This is Florence and not having readily available coffee is an annoyance.

This would not deter me in any way but rather is a helpful suggestion to mgmt if they read this review. They do all the important things very right this is a simple fix.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turks101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest, GRAZIE MILLE for your kind feedback – it is much appreciated. Thank you also for your suggestion about the additional coffee makers; be assured that we will take it in consideration as we value our guest’s ideas since we work hard to make Palazzo Magnani Feroni live up to the highest standards! We truly hope to have you back in the future so A PRESTO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#22 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Property: Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Address: Borgo San Frediano 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing