We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Palazzo, disappointing rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #22 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Palazzo, disappointing rooms”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is indeed a lovely palazzo, and the staff are very sweet and helpful. However we were very disappointed in our "suite", called Francesca, the so-called "classic family suite" , which was in fact four plain rooms, not in the main palazzo, but accessed from a back staircase above reception, shared with staff and stores. Two of the rooms were over shops next to the palazzo. We breakfasted in the lovely palazzo rooms, and could use the common areas, but our experience was not, as the web-site suggested "aristocratic", but much more like being in the servants' quarters, where in fact, we were. The reception areas are lovely, and the rooftop terrace magical, but we felt let down and overcharged nonetheless. My three stars reflects this divergence of reality from advertised.

Room Tip: Take care and talk to the staff. Make sure you get what you expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Let me begin by thanking you for your kind words re are staff and the other pros you mentioned about Palazzo Magnani Feroni. Needless to say that we were a bit hurt by the 3 stars you give us as overall rating only because you were offered a different suite and you didn’t even take the time to go see it: we would have much rather organize a quick move than to have you not be 100% happy with your stay. I personally think that suite Francesca is spacious and nice but as not all have the same taste, as you were offered, it would have been no problem to have you switch suites. On a brighter note, Palazzo Magnani Feroni was chosen by Trip Advisor amongst the 10 MOST BEAUTIFUL HOTELS IN PALACES which is a very big honor for us, sending you the link for your quick reference
http://www.tripadvisor.it/TripNews-a_ctr.palacehotelsit__5F__IT .
Kind Guest, no matter what, it was a true pleasures having you stay with us and send you our Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    104
    22
    14
    16
See reviews for
274
523
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
malmesbury
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Having stayed at the Palazzo for 4 nights last year we returned for 6 nights this year. Once again we had a superb stay in this world class hotel. All the staff are wonderful and so welcoming. Service is calm and unobtrusive. The rooms are quirky but utterly elegant, spacious and provide every comfort. The highlight as ever is the rooftop terrace where Emmanuel tends an excellent bar whilst you admire the sights of Florence. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the Pontevecchio and all the main attractions of this spectacular city. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vyvattwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We like SUPERB! Thank you on behalf of the entire staff for your kind words, it is very gratifying for all to know that our hard work is recognized by our guests giving us the extra boost to want to continue to offer the best service……… In Italy there is a say “non c’e’ 2 senza 3” which literally means “there is no 2 without a 3” so we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit which with be the 3d!!!!!!!!!! GRAZIE MILLE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleview, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our son and his wife. We all had a wonderful time here. The staff here was very friendly and helpful. They really made you feel at home after a long day sightseeing you felt like you were coming home. The rooms we had were beautiful and very clean. Both of our rooms were like living in a palace. We had breakfast every morning which was very good. They have lovely spaces to just sit and relex in around the hotel. I would recommend this place to stay anytime.

Room Tip: This is an all suite hotel so rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
GRAZIE MILLE for your feedback, it is much appreciated. So happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon so, ARRIVEDERCI!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a beautiful estate from 15th century (I guess). You must be willing to stay in a historic hotel with Florentine architecture, frescos, chandeliers, etc. If that's the experience you are looking for, this is the perfect place.
I stayed with wife and e girls (5 and 7) and it was amazing.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Francesca room. It is huge, probably it used to be an entire apartment. We had 2 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Just a quick note to thank for your feedback! It is really nice to see that our effort to keep the feeling of Palazzo Magnani Feroni as it once way, is appreciated by our guests! Glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you all back in the near future! Arrivederci e GRAZIE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

What a wonderful stay in Florence a block away from the Arno River, and 2 bridges away from the Ponte Vecchio. Great location! Our family of 5 had a fabulous suite and it worked beautifully for us! The hotel was just beautiful-a palace with large, beautiful hallways, high ceilings and beautiful decor, appropriate for a palace. Our suite included a large living room area with a fireplace as well as 2 additional bedrooms and bathrooms. It was perfect for us! The staff was kind and helpful. Breakfast each morning was held in another beautiful room, complete with crystal chandelier, helpful waiters, and a wonderful spread of breakfast food. I can't forget to share the rooftop terrace-what a view of Florence! We had a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKS1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest can’t thank you enough for your enthusiasm when writing about Palazzo Magnani Feroni! We are happy that we were part of your Florentine experience and that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to have you back so A PRESTO and GRAZIE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

First I would like to point out that the staff is wonderful. They are helpful, responsive, accommodating, polite, knowledgeable and pleasant. The hotel also has a lot of charm and in concept the idea of staying in a palazzo is great.

Unfortunately the hotel is badly in need of updating and renovation. There is climate control in the rooms, but all hallways and common areas are hot and stuffy, with little to no air circulation. The elevator is small and very slow. It is an old charming elevator, but if someone does not close the manual doors properly it will not work and the stairs are the only alternative.

The breakfast room is stifling with no air circulation whatsoever. The mattresses on the beds are old and uncomfortable. The bathroom shower is a plastic stall and is very small. We arranged for a roll away bed for our child, but it was one foot off the ground and so uncomfortable that our child refused to sleep on it.

The wifi connection in the rooms is very spotty. The furniture is old and the hotel has a musty smell. The fitness facility has basic equipment, but not commercial grade machines and the room is unbearable hot. The efforts of the staff in part mitigate the physical problems of the hotel and the location is o.k., but this hotel should be avoided by anyone looking for comfort.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Let me start, on behalf of the entire staff at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, by thanking you for the kind words about them, they were much appreciated! We are sorry that you were not pleased with your stay with us. I just wanted to share with you a couple of points just to clear any misunderstanding. As you know Palazzo Magnani Feroni was built in the 16th century thus putting any restorations under the jurisdiction of the Dept of the Fine Arts of Florence as the Palace is a Historical Site. Said this, Palazzo Magnani Feroni was restructured 8 years ago using the best techniques/materials.
We have air-conditioning in all the suits and throughout the building however, having very high ceilings the common rooms might be a bit less cool but certainly not hot. I was very surprised to read that you were not pleased with our elevator; it might not be as fast as you are accustomed but didn’t you find it alluring being made in cast iron, with a velvet seat and glass door, it’s been kept exactly as it was when it was put in back in the ’20, I’m so sorry you did not appreciate the charm it has and that other guests rave about! The breakfast room has very high ceilings with antique paintings and frescos thus the machines that we were allowed to put in for the air-conditioning were not huge but for sure, they were enough to keep the very large and lavish room cool. I was also surprised to see that you refer to our furniture as old, the fact is that most of our furniture is antique which to most, is considered a plus as it reflects the look/feel of living in the palace as it once was with modern comfort. Again, I’m really sorry you do not agree with our view of how an antique palace in the center of one of the most beautiful/cultural/artistic cities of the world should look. We worked hard to keep the look of Palazzo Magnani Feroni as if you lived in a Museum/different era so, judging from your feedback we are happy we achieved this goal. Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as a family group, we had two rooms, and wow the rooms were huge and beautiful. The palace is spectacular with grand hallways, the rooms large and well appointed - comfortable beds, quiet and bathrooms as you would expect. There is a fabulous roof top terrace with views of the city and river, this is the perfect place to enjoy an evening drink. Breakfast was included and is served in a grand dining room complete with chandelier, the eggs are cooked to order. The staff were delightful, polite and nothing was overlooked. This is quite an experience! We just loved everything about this hotel. The staff recommended and booked local restaurants for us and they were superb too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Panda59-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Nothing is more encouraging than to read enthusiastic reviews such as yours so GRAZIE MILLE! We are so pleased that you and your family were happy with your stay at Palazzo Magnani Feroni and hope to have you back in the near future so, ARRIVEDERCI!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 411 in Florence
1,202 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#24 of 411 in Florence
630 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#11 of 411 in Florence
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#20 of 411 in Florence
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Property: Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Address: Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing