We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Ranked #256 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

3 Friends Stayed for 3 nights. We lucked into a great room with kitchenette, upstairs/downstairs & 2 bathrooms. Tile floors but they leave slippers in the room which is a nice touch. Windows/shutters opened to the courtyard and was very clean. wi-fi was good for us. Breakfast was a big spread, decent cappucinos and good amount of seating for the guests. its a bit of a walk to the sites but after a big pasta dinner this is not such a bad thing. there is an enoteca (wine shop) directly across from the hotel for taking a bottle back to your room. the reception desk is oddly placed and underwhelming. it looks like its a temporary set up but i get the feeling its actually permanent. we went into our trip thinking this would be our least favorite accommodation and ended up being one of our best.

Room Tip: We were in the main building on the second floor. i would steer away from the secondary building...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is about 10-15 min walking distance from the city center. Its an old building, the rooms are big and clean. Unfortunately, from our room, we heard the noise made by the steps from the rooms above and the discussions because I think the rooms are not soundproof. The parking is cheap compared to the other hotels and the breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rami_Adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at end of August/start of September. Nice hotel in a good location, 15 minutes north of the train station. Room had a kitchenette (doubt anyone uses it on holiday) and a nice sitting area and dining table, which came in handy when just looking to sit back and relax. Breakfast was ok, not amazing was a bit basic and staff were slow to refill food. There's no complimentary tea or coffee available in the rooms, which doesn't sound that bad but you'll be surprised how much you miss it from other hotels. There are plenty of restaurants in the area, so plenty of choice. There is a supermarket on via della ruote which is priced for Italians so everything is reasonably priced, compared to some of the smaller stores which are marketing towards tourists. The room had a nice balcony which was great viewing at sunrise and sunset. Florence city tax is charged at €12 a night so be prepared for that extra cost. Staff are a bit laid back so be prepared to wait for things to be done.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Fizzy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Nice, modern (compared to other hotels in the area) hotel 15-min walk away from the historic centre of Florence. Fair breakfast. Spacious and clean room with flat-screen TV. Free wi-fi in the whole hotel but not so good in the rooms as in the lobby. Skype or Viber were not working good.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maraquan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Our room was in the old palace part of the hotel, and at the end of this review I will tell you a simple trick to make sure your room is in this part of the hotel. Very, very hot outside, but cool as you like inside thanks to the excellent air conditioning (it was set to Arctic when we arrived - simple control on the wall to adjust). Tiled floor, comfortable bed, tasteful bathroom - and all spotlessly clean. If the weather is hot and you plan on returning to the room for a siesta let Reception know and they will get the room serviced in the morning.

The staff were outstanding. I think I saw them speak five or six languages during our stay, and they were always polite and helpful, There is free wi-fi in the rooms, and a computer suite with printer available on the ground floor - ideal for check in / boarding card printing for return flights. One really useful touch - a sheet of paper explaining how to get the '@' character on an Italian keyboard.

Breakfast was very good. If you want full English breakfast you would probably be at an hotel in England. This hotel is in Italy, so you have Italian style breakfast. Fresh coffee is made to order on request.

It is a short and pleasant walk to the centre of town: 20 minutes gets you to the Uffizi. But no need to walk far to get to the Antica Trattoria "da Tito" dal 1913 restaurant - one of the best in Florence - as it is just around the corner from the hotel.

Now, there is another side to this hotel: rather; another block. From other reviews it is not as good as the part of the hotel we were in. The simple trick to being in the old palace part of the hotel is this: just ask.

Room Tip: The simple trick to being in the old palace part of the hotel is this: just ask.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric_the_Bish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in the hotel. It is at the edge of the old city but still around 15 minutes from the main attractions. The rooms are very comfortable and they were clean. The breakfast was a bit basic but the quality was good. For cars you can use the parking lot for a daily charge. The staff was very helpful and we had a perfect service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isi_99_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Well ... Let's first start with something positive by saying the staff is offering a great service! Considering the quality of the hotel that would be the least this hotel can offer!

Mainly, I'm questioning when was the last this hotel was evaluated for the stars rating. It's easy to see that this old is quite old! The rooms looked as if nothing was done to improve them since the opening of this hotel. The beds were not comfortable at all, the showers, let's say they were "ok". Besides that there is nothing great about their rooms

The buffet breakfast ... Seriously, how bad can a continental buffet breakfast can be? Simple to answer, ask the Hotel manager. I have been staying at different 3 and 4 stars hotels in many cities of Europe (also Hostels in a younger life) and I have never ever seen a continental breakfast buffet as worst as this one. I'm far from being difficult with meals but when I see powder orange juice, canned fruit salad and canned fruits (peaches and else) and so on... I kinda get frustrated! Top of all, the coffee was awfull. How can you miss your coffee in Italy when all the big names are in this country and the cost is so cheap. Good thing there is snack bar a few seconds from the hotel to take a good coffee for couple of dimes!!

The hotel is a few minutes away (walking distance) from the main attractions. On your way to the main attractions, you will find a small supermarket with good prices, 2-3 on the other side of the streets, couple of other goods restaurants in the streets nearby the hotel.

This hotel should be rated as 3 stars hotel as I'm sure there is probably better 3 stars in Florence that this one.

Room Tip: Not a 4 stars hotel. Choose another one.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edouard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#202 of 411 in Florence
960 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Embassy
Hotel Embassy
#145 of 411 in Florence
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#56 of 411 in Florence
2,274 reviews
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
#192 of 411 in Florence
2,088 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ricasoli Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ricasoli Residence

Address: Via delle Mantellate 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £63 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Ricasoli Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Ricasoli Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence Florence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing