We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence La Repubblica
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
US$241
US$220
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$497
US$445
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$288
US$276
L’Orologio Firenze
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$302
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$946
US$874
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rapallo(Florence)
US$435
US$285
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
US$563
US$434
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$384
US$331
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
US$358
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
75
72
30
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
72
30
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsde lanzicentral locationlift elevatorsmall kitchenfantastic locationdining tablethe rooms were niceshort walktourist attractionstrain stationwi fiwould stay againsquareapartmentsinkochereception
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Perfect location on Piazza della Repubblica. Check in very easy but had to go to another hotel location. Staff spoke English well. Rooms were clean and very roomy. Breakfast was basic. Great find for a family.

Walked with our luggage to the hotel, 8-10 blocks. Great central location.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgbWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Location is perfect - lovely plaza with cafes and busy with life, 5-10 minutes walking to major sightseeing attractions. Despite this central location it was surprisingly quite to sleep. During our stay in the beginning of March it rained nearly non-stop for about a week and it was always freezing cold in churches and in chapels that we wanted to see. The fact that apartment is centrally located saved us from getting cold; we could easily come back to change, to dry, to warm up and to continue on busy sightseeing without wasting valuable time (so much of art and history in Florence). Even at night, if you are tired and have no energy to go out, you could cook your meal at home but still feel in the middle of the life.
Apartment is very spacious with high ceiling that makes rooms airy and comfortable. Elegantly looking. Plenty of drawers, hangers. Enough of furniture. Large comfortable bed. Beautiful and fully functional bathroom with shower. Kitchenette is rather small; there is no microwave, toaster or oven, just two hot plates, sink and refrigerator. So, cooking would mostly involve making coffee and boiling water. However, this limitation pushed us to explore freshly made pasta bought on Central market. Other way we could end up by reheating pizza and would never find out the real taste of Florence. By the way, the pasta and sauces from Central market were better than in restaurants.
Hotel de Lanzi provides for check in and out, as well as for 24-hour assistance. You can dial them direct from the apartment. Once we had problem with a safe (did not read well written instructions before using it) and a person from Hotel de Lanzi came in to help us personally. Front desk lady graciously made some phone calls and reservations for us when we asked.
We booked Residence La Repubblica taking advantage of Venero.com offer “double/stay 4 nights pay for 3 nights”. Although this rate provided for cleaning and changing of linens and towels only once a week, we were thoroughly comfortable, happy and relaxed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kf59traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

What a fantastic stay we had at Residence La Repubblica! We booked online through Venere.com, and we got 4 nights for 300 Euros. But beyond the fantastic deal, this was an awesome place to stay. For starters, the location can't be beat. It's right on Piazza de la Repubblica, which is a great pedestrian plaza only 2 minutes walk from the Duomo. And since it was right in the middle of town, we could easily swing back during the day. The apartment itself was terrific: a 1-bedroom apartment with shower and toilet, a kitchenette, and hundreds of satellite TV channels. A comfy bed, an elevator, and good A/C also added to the experience. We had so much room in the place that we didn't know what to do with it! By far the best place we stayed during our entire trip.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Krivokrasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

4 years ago i was sitting in the caffe in Piazza della Repubblica when i noticed what seemed like "tourists" leaving what I thought was just another beautiful Italian "residential" building - of course I had to ask - sure enough they confirmed it was a "residence" with fantastic rooms to rent! The BEAUTIFUL ROOMS, EXTRAORDINARY LOCATION, cleanliness and incredible value are what makes me (and allows me!) return year after year - picture an elegantly but simply appointed room (some have frescoes on the ceiling!) with a living room area and a fully loaded kitchennette - now picture this overlooking one of the most beautiful squares in Florence! That's Residenza della Repubblica. I have sent many friends over the years and everyone has returned happy. The building and furnishings easily retain their character and charm while at the same time offer all modern conveniences - excellent security system, airconditioning and sound proof windows as well as a bathroom that makes my home in the USA envious! Florence is the most beautiful and artistically rich city - now I actually feel like I live there! hope you enjoy it! (suggestion: if coming from train station, and you packed lightly, I'd just walk to Hotel Lanzi for check-in. I usually fly out early in morning so can just take a taxi from the all night waiting taxi line there in the piazza behind the Merry-go-round.) Ps. They recently opened up several family apartments on the bottom floors - they look great!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank haynesfamily2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

Excellent location for Repubblica and A Casa di Alino, being central to the Duomo.
We stayed at the Repubblica. Rooms were clean,airy and light with a small balcony overlooking the main pedestrian street below. Bathroom was small but clean and modern.
We made the mistake of booking through an agent (italia lodging)and the whole deposit went to that agent so book direct.
Breakfast was a major disappointment. Everything was put out and left in the sun, warm yoghurt, melted butter, warm juices, milk and long life pre-packed croissants. This let the place down quite a bit but overall the place was very good. Booking direct would have saved us money. We paid 187 euros for 2 nights. We would recommend it and would stay again. The owner also has properties in Venice and Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chublet56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews