We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Betania
Ranked #73 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to stay in Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Really nice large room. Nice quiet location. Villa atmosphere. Good breakfast. It's a good 30 minute walk into central Florence, and on the way back it is up hill, but most people would be glad to be out of the tourist chaos in central Florence, and there is a convenient bus if you don't fancy the walk. I felt this hotel was reasonable value for Florence, a place with plenty of fairly terrible hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    218
    33
    13
    2
See reviews for
108
293
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked Villa Betania a bit randomly, mostly because, on top of having good reviews, it was easily accessible from the highway and we did not want to waste too much time trying to find our way in Florence (be warned: loads of one way roads!).
Well, we're very pleased we did.
Whilst being within a mere 20min walk of Ponte Vecchio, the villa's grounds offer both a beautiful setting and the quietness you will appreciate when getting back to your hotel room after a long day/night out.
We liked the fact that the room's interior design had some personality. Very elegant, not the usual run-of-the-mill hotel room. In case you need a reminder you are not in a hotel, but a villa, just look up at the high ceiling in your room.
Breakfast in the garden at the back was a very pleasant way to start the day.
We were able to leave our car in the villa's small car park after checking out (a definite plus) and picked it up at the end of our day in Florence.
The only negative point (though it's minor) is the fact that one has to pay extra to connect to the internet. Nowadays, many hotels offer Wi-Fi access for free and we have grown used to that being the norm.
However, we would definitely return to Villa Betania if we ever go back to Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our 2nd time at Villa Betania and I must say - Best Bed and Best Shower during our entire 14 days in Italy. I love this place because it's off the beaten path, beautifully appointed and quiet. The ONLY drawback (for those that would consider this a drawback) is that it's a 15 min walk - downhill to Ponte Vecchio and a harder walk back uphill at the end of day. BUT, cabs are everywhere and easy to catch - plus a bus stop right outside the hotel if you prefer. No restaurant in the hotel but a great little bar and delicious breakfast in the mornings. Definitely worth the stay here - would come back again and again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

A great location if you wish to visit this beautiful city. Also an ideal place if you are travelling by car and want to park up safely for a few days. The highlight was the breakfast garden, which was really nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgsDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed there for 6 nights this month. Lovely surroundings and good staff with the exception of the GM who was defensive and rude because we wanted the room we booked and paid for ( one double bed, one twin bed). GM is more concerned with his convenience, not his guests comfort. Ground floor rooms are loud (movement above you) and there is no elevator. Make your wishes precise or you will have no leg to stand on in your discussions with GM who will end up saying "I will no longer discuss this with you".

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbC148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Villa Betania on our return from a driving holiday in southern Italy and were originally attracted by the reasonably priced parking. We were very happy to find a superior quality hotel in its own spacious grounds and were delighted when we were shown to our fabulous ground floor room with huge, walk in double shower, very comfortable bed and private terrace. A 20/25 minute walk or a short No. 11 bus ride from Ponte Vecchio, Villa Betania is perfectly placed to explore Florence. Staff are friendly and helpful - special thanks to night porter Simon for your guidance and entertaining repartee, the only man I know who enjoys ice cream at 7.00 am.
I would recommend this hotel very highly and hope, one day, to return.

Room Tip: Room 402 is fantastic and I believe is the only one with a private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WordOfGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, AK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Betania for four nights. We had an excellent room with accomodations for my wife and me and our teenage daughter and a spacious bathroom ensuite. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The Villa's location on the south side of the Arno and a bit away from downtown was quiet and gracious. The villa sits well back from the road with a nicely landscaped frontage and on site parking. With pleasant weather one can take breakfast outside in a very pleasant area out back. Breakfast was an excellent European breakfast with expresso available. There is local bus service downtown which we did not use; we did take a taxi downtown to meet early morning visit times at the Uffizi and the Academia (book these in advance or ask staff to help). We also walked back one day (uphill). Cab fare was reasonable ~10+€. It was very hot while we were in Florence and we were very! happy that the Villa had good air conditioning in the room and common spaces. Can't say enough good things about the Villa - would return there again!! Hotel was also a short walking distance to a local branch of Europcar (not in the ZTL- limited traffic zone) so that was very handy as we drove out of Florence.

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor (or European 1st floor) room faced the front of the building and due to the set back n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimCFairbanksAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#93 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#74 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#82 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Betania

Property: Hotel Villa Betania
Address: Viale del Poggio Imperiale 23, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Betania 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is nestled in its own lush park, removed from the noise and confusion.It's an ideal location for those who wish to find peace and relaxation in an elegant atmosphere.Hotel Villa Betania is a small hotel with 20 rooms under family management, with an international touch.Completely renovated in 2006, among other amenities, it features free parking and free Wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing