We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Villa Il Mosaico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Il Mosaico
Ranked #35 of 310 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Alex and Monica were great.
+Quiet neighborhood
+Nice shared garden/courtyard
+Wonderful church bells each morning
+Nice bathroom/shower
+Great pizzeria next door
+Alex helped us get tickets for David and Pisa
+Grocery store 5 min walk
-A little far from the city but a tram that goes directly to the central station is a 5 min walk

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo D, Direttore vendite at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear guests,

just imagine how it would be when the weather is nice and warm ;)

We would like to thank you afor the nice words and look very much forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Alessandro Grossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    45
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
78
78
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We arrived late on Christmas Eve and our host was there to settle us in. Our family of five had a lot of room with four beds within connecting apartment units. The location is close to the tram and a grocery store. The unit had a kitchenette and access to the washer and dryer was useful. The units open out onto a courtyard and the accommodations were top notch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gigm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo D, Direttore vendite at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear guests,

It's been a pleasure having you here and we appreciate your positive comments

Thank you for the preference given.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and certainly look forward to welcome you again.

Kindest regards,

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I took our honeymoon in Italy this past fall and had the most excellent time traveling throughout Italy. Our favorite memories include our stay at Villa II Mosaico in Florence. It was so delightful that we extended our stay by a day so that we could experience more of Florence. The management makes you feel right at home and goes above and beyond all expectations. Management equips all of the charming rooms with little treats and complimentary coffee. There is a washer and dryer in the facility for those travelers who wish to do some laundry. Our room had the most charming four poster bed, a perfect touch for the honeymooners! We highly recommend staying at Villa II Mosaico in Florence. You won't be disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kasdavies78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo D, Direttore at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear guests,

we are so very pleased with the good outcome of your short holiday!

We appreciated your nice comments and thankful for you taking the time to write it.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kindest regards,

Alessandro Grossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We didn’t expect that our trip to Florence would be as wonderful as it eventually turned out. What began as a hub city, turned out to be a 3-day most enjoyable visit to Florence. The service that we received from Monica and staff was most impressive. I can’t recall ever receiving the individualized and customized service from a hotel/inn that we received at the Villa Mosaico. The rooms and facilities were extremely clean and inviting. The personal attention that the staff provided to my family and I helped to make this an enjoyable and rewarding trip. I will always be grateful to Monica and her father for helping my family and I secure transportation to the Florence American Cemetery. I had given up on public transportation because of the poor service I received at the terminal. Monica and her father went out of their way to help us find safe and reliable transportation. It is obvious that the owners take personal pride in their property and serving their guests. I won’t look beyond the Villa Mosaico when my family and I return to Florence. Thanks so much, Matson family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo D, Direttore at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you!
it really was no trouble at all helping you out, we understand the needs and requests of our guests and strive to always meet them, as much as possible.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.


Kindest regards,

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Lots of reviews for Villa ll Mosaico are really positive, my advise is check what room your getting before expecting to much. Our room was on the outside edge of the complex and not facing the beautiful courtyard shown in most photos. To get to the courtyard you had to end exit the building, walk down a short driveway and then go through a door. Our room was over three floors, the top level was the master bedroom, second level was the kitchen, bathroom and lounge. The lower level was the second bedroom. While the master bedroom was lovely the lower level smelt a little "earthy". While not a bug deal we decided to use he fold out couch in the lounge rather then put the kids down stairs. The bathrooms are wonderful and had a big sap bath, great after the walking you tend to do. The apartment is about 5-10 minutes from tram and there's a big supermarket down the road that has everything you'll need. Not a lot to do around the apartment which is sort of part of its attraction. The apartment was well appointed and you could actually cook a meal in the kitchen. The staff were fine.

Room Tip: Get a room that opens onto the courtyard, anything else backs onto a neighbourhood or driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZMidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo D, Direttore at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting us and for sharing your impressions, which we appreciate and take into consideration.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you again.

Kindest regards,

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. A short walk from the centre of Florence in a quiet area. We were made to feel very welcome by Alexandro. Suggesting places to see and places to eat (the Florentine steak is a must have!!). The room was clean and big enough for us both with a small balcony. We also had use of the courtyard and other seating areas. The room included a small kitchenette which was ideal for us to make breakfast at before we went exploring for the day. I would recommend staying here to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

Such a beautiful place and such amazing memories we have that will be forever cherished.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailietto76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo D, Direttore at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the preference given.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and certainly look forward to welcome you again.

Kindest regards,

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We found this Villa on Tripadvisor and after reading the glowing reviews and the feedback we just couldnt think of anywhere else we would want to go to.

We contacted the Villa direct as wanted to ask about checking in times as not due to land til late. We got a reply within a few minutes from Alessandro, and that was just the beginning, after many mails back and forth we'd basically booked up the place and we simply couldnt wait to get there.

We arrived late on Saturday 19th October 2013, and we were met by Monica who greeted us warmly, explained the basics and showed us to our room. Oh my god the room was amazing. A 1 bed apartment, with separate dining/living room, and a bedroom with ensuite shower room.. The room was spotless clean and after a bit of exploring we found the sink/hob/fridge unit cleverly disguised as a wardrobe :) This is a place for self catering so be prepared to get your milk and eggs from the store around the corner..

This trip was going to be something special, as i planned to propose to my girlfriend there. Once we'd unpacked i couldnt wait any longer and thought the room was a lovely place to do it, so i proposed and she accepted. So our week stay in the Villa was going to be our celebration. It didnt disappoint.

The distance to the city centre is a 25-30 min walk, but its such a lovely walk along the river bank that it felt so much less. You couldnt get bored of the views. There was a few restaurants near to the villa, but we didnt use them on this trip. We will be back soon so will give them a try then i guess.

Due to us leaving early in the mornings and not returning til late we werent around when the office was open, but we FINALLY got to meet Alessandro on one of the days and he was so over the moon to finally meet us :) There is a guy who KNOWS how to treat customers and make them feel welcome. I did drop him a quick email to say we'd just got engaged and he replied instantly signing the mail as `matchmaker` :)

We are planning on getting married in Florence, and hope to use the Villa as a base :)

Hm gripes? hmm the sky box was a little hard to work out how to use as the channels were all hidden in groups so we gave up on it and found a channel on the tv itself which was a classic rock/pop music video channel playing music from the 60s to the 80s, heaven. erm where the kettle/espresso machine was located meant that when the door on the unit for the hob was open it blocked the light, so made it harder to make a cuppa (as a yorkshireman this was essential to me) But this is genuinely not a gripe in the slightest but i didnt want people to read this and think i was some form of paid for advertising company :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaywalker2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo D, Direttore at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your impressions.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you again.

With my warmest regards,

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Florence Comfort B&B
#102 of 650 in Florence
139 reviews
PopArtment
#18 of 310 in Florence
148 reviews
La Farina Apartments
#27 of 310 in Florence
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
L'Aranceto Guest House
#36 of 310 in Florence
103 reviews
Duomo
Residence La Repubblica
Residence La Repubblica
#43 of 310 in Florence
191 reviews
B&B Porta San Frediano
#251 of 650 in Florence
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Il Mosaico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Il Mosaico

Property: Villa Il Mosaico
Address: 15 R Via di Monticelli 9, 50143, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 310 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Il Mosaico 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new private apartments residence is an ideal home to live Florence either for leisure or a business stay.The restauration of this ancient building respecting its original architecture, offers today deluxe suitescomposed of kitchen and sitting-room, bedroom,bathroom. The location is close to the neighborhood of San Frediano, and only a few minutes by tramway or bus from the historical city center7suites, 3superior double-rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Il Mosaico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing