We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely in summer, top location away from tourist crush”
Review of Villa Il Mosaico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Il Mosaico
Ranked #35 of 326 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

nicely renovated old villa around a courtyard, room came with kitchenette where the sofabed was, shared washingmachine was handy after a week of travelling elsewhere. Close to a great supermarket, transport by tram into heart of old Florence very easy and about 6-7 mins. Was also pleasantly walkable along the River Arno, across the historic bridges with great gelato stops along the way. Some decent espresso bars and surprisingly good punjabi Indian diner nearby, but for these, choices much better downtown.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms were great, but overall a quiet place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mtrkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here with my family, 2 adults and 2 kids aged 12 and 10 just for one night, we all wished it had been for longer. These apartments were fantastic, very neat and clean and comfortable. Nice quiet location but an easy walk to get the tram into the city. We easily found parking on the street outside to leave our rental car. A short walk to the supermarket to get supplies. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Beautiful apartment, stunning balcony and very friendly and helpful staff. Located a bit off the main path makes it quieter and gives you a more local feel. 5 minute walk to the tram that goes downtown. Buy a bottle of Chianti and relax the long summer evening away on the balcony.

Room Tip: If you're American make sure you ask about bathroom and bedroom location. Europe is different an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Villa Il Mosaico two nights. We arrived on a Sunday and left on Tuesday Morning.

Let me start by mentioning some of the things we loved about this place. First the owners met us with a smile and were very accommodating and absolutely warm and helpful. The Apartment (we were in suite #1 upstairs) was spotlessly clean and had obviously been updated recently so it was up to date in many ways. There was complimentary juice and water in fridge, new appliances, (coffee maker, microwave) coffee and tea, free wifi and air conditioning. It was private and quiet. It is truly an interesting and unique place.

Sadly our experience here was not as great as one might have expected. Much of that is less due to the Villa itself and so I include this with a bit of trepidation. As beautiful as the apartment was, it will probably be a week or so before the lumps on my head from hitting ceiling beams will go away. The rooms, kitchen, sitting room, bedroom and bathroom all have a high side, but also have a very low side. Sitting at the table involved a bent over trip to the table. A low beam in the bathroom shower meant that washing ones hair in the shower involved working around the beam in the shower.

The kitchen had only one plug-in, so it meant unplugging the fridge to make tea or coffee or use the microwave, or moving the appliances to a nearby plug (setting them on the garbage can worked.) The rooms themselves are quite dark, though the second day we did find that there are skylights that could be opened, but did not know that and were not told.

The Villa was quite hard to find, and our taxi had to stop and look at a map a couple times.

Lots of TA reviewers mentioned the local Pizzeria nearby. Sadly, it and every other place to eat
within a 20 minute walking distance was closed on Sunday and Monday so did not get a chance to try them at all. Ended having to by food at a local supermarket and figuring out which appliance we needed to use one at a time. (Did you know that rotisserie chicken in the supermarket tastes just like the ones in a Canadian Safeway! Must be a universal recipe!)

While not a negative as such, (more of an FYI) one must remember that this is a villa so no maid service without extra cost.

This is a nice out of the way quiet place, but that also means that it is quite a ways from major attractions.

Oh, yes, if you are on the top floor, there are lots of stairs.

It our only time in Florence was other than a weekend, we would most likely chose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My fiancee, mother and I stayed at Villa Il Mosaico on our first trip to Italy. Our experience with the staff and accomodations were excellent and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Traveling with your fiancee and mother can make for some interesting lodging arrangements. However, I emailed Villa Il Mosaico describing our travel situation and received a prompt reply from Alessandro Grossi. He was able to put us in the perfect combination of suites, the "Susanna" and "Orologio". Their web site is helpful for checking out room plans and I recommend contacting them directly if you have a particular request. The staff was very helpful.

One of the highlights of our rooms were the terraces. There were the perfect place to unwind after a long day of touring and exploring. Other amenities we liked at Villa Il Mosaico were the comfortable beds and the on site laundry.

As several reviewers have noted, Villa Il Mosaico is not located in the middle of city. The tram stop is less than a 10 minute walk and is very easy to use. It is also possible to walk the entire way into the city.

Alessandro was very helpful with restaurant recommendations. There is a pizza place next to Villa il Mosaico that is fantastic. We actually ate there twice during our 4 night stay.

If you are OK staying a little outside of the hustle and bustle of central Firenze, I would highly recommend the Villa Il Mosaico.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to email the staff while planning your stay. They are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeBeauBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The owners were really friendly and did as much as they possibly could for you. Their english is not perfect, but they know enough to help you out.
I stayed in apartment 11-Adorna, which is split over 3 floors. It is very tastefully decorated to a high standard maintaining a rustic charm. The apartment was comfortable and it really felt like a home away from home.

It is quite a walk from the main part of town (20 minutes), but there is a tram stop close by which we never bothered using because the walk was very beautiful and you feel a bit like a local as it is out of the centre. Although it only takes about 10 minutes to reach the river and the outskirts of the centre which has a lot of restaurants and cafe. There is also a superb bakery on the way into town that makes fantastic focaccia pizza slices and a beautiful conoli that must be visited.

There is the best pizzeria cafe restaurant next door- the staff are super friendly and the food is the best that we ate in Florence hands down.

The terraced area is beautiful- the sun was shining and we just sat up there with some wine and beer from the supermarket (which is 2 minutes away and is quite big) and felt completely relaxed and at ease.

DO NOT GO TO PUNJABI RESTAURANT across the road- the worst meal I have ever ordered. Couldn't even eat it. We thought we needed a break from Italian food, massive mistake!

Thank jada m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This more than lived up to expectations. We arrived early, no problem at all for the charming ladies who greeted us. We had apartment 1 for teenage daughter which she loved and we had 11. Both were clean, well equipped and quiet.And the terrace! Wonderful for taking up a bottle and sipping whilst the sun goes down. The beds are fabulously comfortable. So, great value,well connected to get into Florence easily by tram,most hospitable people,quiet location on the other side of the Arno and lovely garden and terrace. We are going back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Room 11 has a narrow staircase down to the kitchen.Room 1 has a low beam,so if you`re 6ft like me, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77Tessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#261 of 410 in Florence
241 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#121 of 410 in Florence
463 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#90 of 410 in Florence
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Affittacamere Alba
Affittacamere Alba
#212 of 659 in Florence
96 reviews
Leone X Guest House
#27 of 659 in Florence
248 reviews
Residence Leopoldo
#50 of 326 in Florence
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Il Mosaico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Il Mosaico

Address: 15 R Via di Monticelli 9, 50143, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 326 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range: £45 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Il Mosaico 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new private apartments residence is an ideal home to live Florence either for leisure or a business stay.The restauration of this ancient building respecting its original architecture, offers today deluxe suitescomposed of kitchen and sitting-room, bedroom,bathroom. The location is close to the neighborhood of San Frediano, and only a few minutes by tramway or bus from the historical city center7suites, 3superior double-rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Il Mosaico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing