We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but also not good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergo Firenze
Ranked #184 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad but also not good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very close to the centre but in the unavailable area, so if you want to reach it by car you must pay also for a additional garage (quite expensive).
There were no water inside the room. Obviously it's very convenient to reach everywhere in Florence (by walk).

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneTortoli, Responsabile reception at Albergo Firenze, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for you time taken for this review.

We do always appreciate our guest's opinion.

You are right about parking place, but unfortunately in Florence all free parking have been removed and for those in city centre only garages are available.

They are not so expensive, expecially ours: consider € 25.00 is cheap if compared to some garages which cost more than € 30.00

Hoping to have you as guest in future again,

Best regards

Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    285
    130
    48
    29
See reviews for
125
299
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amberg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I've actually stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions now. When I booked it last month I didn't even realize that I had stayed there last September as well until I started walking to the place. The hotel is located about a block from the Duomo right in the heart of Florence. It is about a 15 minute walk away from the train station. There is nothing particularly spectacular about the place. Just a place to lay your head at night that is clean and affordable. The internet is kind of a pain in the neck since you have to constantly enter a code to log on. The included breakfast is also nothing to write home about, through there is plenty of fresh fruit. Both times that I have stayed at the hotel there were large groups of students staying there, so if that’s something you don't want to be around I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wangsondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneTortoli, Responsabile reception at Albergo Firenze, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion and we are glad that you chose to stay with us during your recent stays in Florence.

We are happy to see that you were able to take advantage of what Albergo Firenze has to offer.

Thank you very much for your good comments for our staff. We really appreciated it since customer care is very important for us .

Hoping that you had the chance to enjoy our city too, we would like to thank you for your comment and look forward to welcome you again in Florence.

Irene - Albergo Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Albergo Firenze is located in the perfect spot for travelling. You can get anywhere you need with not too much distance to walk. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was always a pleasant start to the day with a healthy choice of continental breakfasts. The staff were amazing, the concierge (Daniel) could speak a whole breadth of languages and was massively helpful. I would most definately recommend this hotel and I would certainly stay there again. Who needs 5* hotels when you are in Florence, the whole idea is to get out there and see the city - this hotel puts you at the heart of it. Oh, and the air conditioning is amazing!

Room Tip: The front rooms have a stunning view of the Duomo lit up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneTortoli, Responsabile reception at Albergo Firenze, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion and we are glad that you chose to stay with us during your recent stays in Florence.

We are happy to see that you were able to take advantage of what Albergo Firenze has to offer.

Thank you very much for your good comments for our staff, expecially Daniele. WE really appreciated it since customer care is very important for us .

Hoping that you had the chance to enjoy our city too, we would like to thank you for your comment and look forward to welcome you again in Florence.

Irene - Albergo Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel could be a good budget hotel however they seriously need to do something about soundproofing the rooms. We stayed for 3 nights and the week night was not so bad however we struggled to get any sleep at all on the Friday and Saturday nights, even with ear plugs! Our room was situated at the back of the hotel so it was away from any outside noise, all the noise came from inside the hotel. The corridors echo and the doors are very thin so you can hear conversations, phone calls, doors slamming and people running up and down the stairs/corridor all night long. On top of this our bed was against the wall where someone else's toilet was so we could hear loud pipes and the toilet flushing constantly. On the Friday night I called reception twice regarding a very loud group of people shouting in the corridor and nothing seemed to be done about it.

Although I cannot give more than 2 stars due to the sleep quality I must say that the location is perfect, the rooms were clean and the included breakfast was a nice touch. A strange policy this hotel has is that you must hand your keys back to reception every time you leave the hotel. This on its own is understandable however it is worrying that when I went to collect my key from a staff member I had never seen before he didn't ask my name or for ID of any kind and almost gave me the wrong key. They should probably have a policy in place for this such as exchanging your key for a card with your room number on which you then return to get your key back.

All in all a disappointing stay and I wouldn't return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Flos88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneTortoli, Responsabile reception at Albergo Firenze, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for time dedicated to fill this commentary.

We are really sorry if your stay has not been so pleasant as you desired.
Concerning noise during the night, we are sorry you could not sleep well. Anytime there is noise along corridor if guests let reception notice, it's always our duty to warn people not to shout doors or speak loud. You were unlucky, since there were some students during that period, and sometimes even if you tell them or their teachers, they do not pay attention so much.
Management has in program to improve insonorization and we do hope to have concluded soon.

Moreover, reception staff should not have welcomed you like that: makers have been already scolded by management, both for key fact and for ID.

Again, we apologize for these inconvenience and we hope to welcome you in the next future.

Best regards

Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Yes the location is great and this hotel is good value for money but we have not felt welcome here since the minute we have stepped into the hotel. The reception lady almost threw our room key and wanted to get rid of us although as tourists we have many questions. Room cleaning staff are very very loud, chattering, inconsiderate that some people are still asleep at 8 am as they are on vacation. It is the first time I stay at a hotel that doesnt have an iron which is very important for Anyone who has a suitcase with their clothes crumbled up !! The city is very beautiful but not when u wake up in a bad mood because of the hotel u chose to stay at. Not very happy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mehrin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneTortoli, Responsabile reception at Albergo Firenze, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for time dedicated to fill this commentary.

We are really sorry if your stay has not been so pleasant as you desired.
Concerning noise during the night or day, we are sorry you could not sleep well. Anytime there is noise along corridor if guests let reception notice, it's always our duty to warn people not to shout doors or speak loud.
Housekeepers have been also told to stay quite in the morning, even if, we have to say, they start not before 9.00 am, so at 8.00 maybe noise came from somewhere else.
Management has in program to improve insonorization and we do hope to have concluded soon.

Moreover, reception staff should not have welcomed you like that: makers have been already scolded by management.

Again, we apologize for these inconvenience and we hope to welcome you in the next future.

Best regards

Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We booked a quad room, which was a little tight by US standards, however we spent little time in the room. Room was clean and updated, however there were a few "finishing touches" that remained including tape on the ceiling and a few shudder slats that were missing. A few small changes would have made the room much nicer.

The location of the hotel is ideal. It is set back from the road a bit so street noise is minimal and the air conditioner worked reasonable well. Unsure if we would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneTortoli, Responsabile reception at Albergo Firenze, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write down this comment.

We are glad you appreciated our hotel; for some rooms you are right, there still are some elements to be finished and fixed and we do hope this happens soon, but italian working company are always so busy to get a work completed.

We will do what is necessary to do.

Anyway, we do really hope you come to visit us once again and we take chance to thank you for having shared your travel experience

Best regards,

Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, the hotel is in a fantastic location, walking distance to most main attractions. There are really good hole in the wall restaurants nearby, and the breakfast at the hotel is decent. There is a small selection of pastries, coffee, juice, cold cuts and cereals.. which is a normal Italian breakfast. The food is good and allows you to spend money on one less meal, so I liked it.
The rooms were clean, bathrooms were clean, but like others said, the showers were small for an average American traveler. I am a small person and I found it was difficult at times. However, it has hot water and gets the job done, so I can handle it. If you are a large person, I wouldn't recommend this hotel for the bathrooms.
The beds were not the best, my back hurt after sleeping there for 4 nights, but I was just happy to rest my head after such long and busy days. My room was somewhat noisy, I could usually hear people out in the lobby or the hallway, but not through the walls.
Staff is very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Wifi doesn't work in the room, but works excellent in the hotel lobby. There are also computers in the lobby if you need to use internet. There is an elevator, which helps if you are higher up in the hotel.
Overall, I would stay here again even though it wasn't a 5 for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrente, Responsabile reception at Albergo Firenze, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Customer

First of all thank you for taking the time for this review.
Regarding comments about the rooms, we are sorry that you found them not suitable for you because they were renovated last year. Beds and bathrooms are new and have been restored basically on the square footage of each single room. It may happen that some bathroom is smaller than the others.
We are pleased about good comments for hotel staff , we really take care. We are sorry only for the wifi which now is working in all hotel.
Finally, we are ready to welcome you in the very next future to appreciate again our service.

kind regards

Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#201 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#150 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#185 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#275 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#260 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Firenze

Property: Albergo Firenze
Address: Piazza Dei Donati 4 | Via del Corso, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A precious black pearl tucked away in the heart of the historical center, Albergo Firenze is located in Piazza Donati just steps off of the main Via del Corso where one can easily reach important monuments like the Florence Dome, Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi, and Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotelopia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Albergo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Firenze Florence
Albergo Firenze Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing