We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”
Review of Torre Guelfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Ranked #66 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Our room was tasteful with a window that opened up so that we could hear the jazz music from thw wine bar across the street. It really added to the atmosphere. We were a short walk from all of the main attractions and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    259
    67
    18
    16
See reviews for
186
361
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This hotel was our savior after a bad experience with another hotel. We arrived here at night looking for a standard room. The staff person who helped us gave us the guest suite with a huge private terrace -- for the price of a standard room! This hotel has a tall tower/roof deck with the most impressive views of Florence. Our room was clean, the bathroom was modern, a very nice breakfast was included, and the front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed staying in this hotel very much, and certainly would go back here again next time we're in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My mother and I stayed at Hotel Torre Guelfa for 3 nights. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is friendly and helpful (and english-speaking). The room was quite spacious and the ceilings are very tall (our room appeared to be about 2 stories tall). The view from the tower is breathtaking - the duomo and palazzo vecchio are beautiful at sunset (and there is happy hour from 5:30-7:30 every night!). The location is great too, less than a 10 minute walk to the duomo and the uffizi, a 15 minute walk to the train station. The only downside is that our room was very noisy at night, and even with the windows and shutters closed we could hear all of the street noise (and there was never really a quiet hour, lots of people were outside talking as well as car noise). Overall I would stay there again, but I would definitely bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessika1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I think the highlight of this hotel was the rooftop tower where you can get a 360 degree view of Florence. But that's not the only appeal. I was there with friends so I got to see a number of different rooms and I found some of them quite fun. Each one was very different from the other--some large, some with steps up to the window, some with huge bathrooms, some with unique entries, some with sitting areas, and some traditional. Our room was traditional and bathroom was quite narrow. We could have used another table in the room and better lighting. A couple of my friends reported they could not get hot water during their stay although I didn't experience any problem.

The entry is interesting; you enter through a gate which must have been where the carriages entered at one time. The property is quite secure because the staff unlocks the gate as you buzz to be admitted. There is one small elevator so you just have to be patient if many people are coming or going at a time and breakfast is served on the third floor.

The staff was quite friendly and helpful, calling for taxis, making dinner reservations, giving recommendations. And it seemed to take them no time at all to recognize each of us.

The location was perfect--in a narrow street just two blocks from Ponte Vecchio. Early morning brings normal city noises but in a city such as this garbage collection and many deliveries have to be accomplished when the streets are not crowded with tourists.

I found it a delight to be in such a historic property and thoroughly enjoyed the access to the tower for the views.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LnLtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Pros: great location, very close to main attractions, less than 100m from Ponte Vecchio.
Cons: The rooms have very odd layout and furniture -- uncomfortable and with little space to keep your belongings. The bed was also quite uncomfortable, and I woke up with a back pain.
The TV is small. Other reviewers commended the staff -- some people here are indeed very nice and helpful, but others are just doing their job, not more.

Bottom line: the hotel is not a disaster, but far from being a spectacular one, as one may expect from other reviews. Next time I will try another one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Highly recommend this hotel! The staff are wonderful. We stayed in suite #206 which worked out great for my husband & me and my teenage daughter and my sister in law. We had our own room with a hall that led to a second bedroom that can be used as a bedroom or a sitting area. We loved the fact that is was not an American Hotel, it was a Florence Hotel. The only thing it needed was maybe an alarm clock in the bedroom and better lighting. Other than that, it was perfect! We loved the location right near the Ponte Vecchio. The roof top bar speaks for itself! Totally worth the steps up to the top and a great way to start your evening. The breakfast was satisfying with warm boiled egges, delicious granola, yoguarts, fruit and more. We were fortunate to meet the hotel owner who was a class act. We all talked for while on the roof while we sipped on cocktails! The nex evening when we returned to our hotel after spending the day out, he reached out to us with a hand written letter extending his concern for the Boston Marathon tragedy (knowing we were from the area). We ran into him again as we checked out and he again, extended how sorry he was for what our city was going through. The entire staff reached out with concern which was very touching (even posting a note at the entrance). Overall, we had a wondeful stay at this hotel and I'm so glad we choose to stay here! I jwould stay again without hesitation!

Room Tip: Suite # 206 located on the second floor worked great for those traveling with a family. With two r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
514 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in April. We booked far in advance the room with the balcony...this is the third time we have stayed here in the identical room. An outdoor room as large as most living rooms makes this hotel the most special, if any, in all of Florence. Wonderful breakfasts. Three blocks from the Ponte vechio. No more needs to be said.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronFWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 422 in Florence
1,728 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#48 of 422 in Florence
434 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#70 of 422 in Florence
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#162 of 422 in Florence
405 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,465 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 422 in Florence
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Guelfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Guelfa Hotel

Property: Torre Guelfa Hotel
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Florence
#75 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#84 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Guelfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safety box Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Torre Guelfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Guelfa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing