We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooftop bar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torre Guelfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Ranked #61 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great rooftop bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Loved my one-night stay here. Valentina(?) was amazing at the rooftop bar. We chatted for a while and she told me some of her favorite spots to visit while in Florence. The views from the roof are insane. Friendly staff and clean. Great location, walked all over. But took a 10 euro taxi ride here from Santa Maria Novella train station.

Room Tip: i don't think there is a pool?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    247
    64
    18
    14
See reviews for
176
347
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was in great location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Every afternoon we would ask Luigi for a suggestion for dinner and he would recommend a wonderful choice (and make reservations for us). It took a day or two to get the hand of using the key in the door (need to turn twice) but it was a charming addition to the trip. The tower was great and really worth the climb. Head up when the bar is open and enjoy a glass of wine while taking in the city and listening to the numerous bell towers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia3155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Really nice cosy hotel, clean rooms and friendly hosts
The location is perfect to start your trips into town
I really enjoyed the cool bar on the tower, the view is spectacular!
Go there early as seats are much sought-after :)
Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Climbing the tower for panoramic sunset view was wonderful for a bedtime glass of wine or cocktail, magnificent view the area is a a bit small, go early for a seat.
Rooms had the basics, were clean and comfortable beds and close to restaurants, museums & airport transportation.
Breakfast was included and was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the first two nights of our honeymoon. We stayed in the room with private terrace - all absolutely tremendous. Really well located for sights of Florence. Room service was attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara D, Direttore at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind review.
We are delighted you were happy with your stay with us; honored you choose our establishment for such important occasion. Being able to enjoy an amazing view of our beautiful town is an added bonus, specially if you stay in the heart of the city centre.
We hope to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We and my wife stayed at this hotel and our first impressions were very nice. Nice clean rooms and excellent location.
However we were to find out how deceitful and untrustworthy the staff actually were.
We checked out after 1 night of a pleasant stay in this hotel.
When we arrived at our next hotel in Pisa we realised we had left our passports in the room safe back in florence.We rang the hotel and explained that the only thing we left was our passports in the safe. The person who answered the phone went to check room and came back to phone saying they were not there.

We decided to get the train back to florence next day to get our passports back as we 100% put them in the room safe we just forgot to take them back out.
When we got to hotel a middle aged woman who said her name was barbara but would not give us her surname strangely enough said it was impossible we must of lost the passports elsewere. I told her repeatedly that we put the passports in the safe and just plain forgot to take them out as we left. This i am 100% certain of as i know exactly what i did. She became nasty and said we were mistaken it was impossible for anything to be stolen from hotel. How arrogant is that. I asked for her to call the police and they were reluctant to. She said i had to go to caribineri station a 15 minute walk away to make a report. When we got there they were expecting us as the hotel had already phoned ahead and forewarned them. The caribineri sergeant would not listen to us and told us to go away it was impossible. How is it impossible we left our passports unattended in hotel when we left and when we came back the next day they had gone.That is theft. After being chased away by the arrogant caribineri sergeant we went back to hotel and demanded they get police involvement. They then told us to go to polizia station to make a report. We then walked another 20 minutes to other side of city centre to polizia station and once again they were expecting us and were rude and arrogant towards us and we had had to fill out a report the officer took it off us and said go that is it. We were shell shocked we couldnt understand why the hotel and police were being so nasty and disreguarding towards us after all we were the victims of a crime. We rang the british embassy in milan and with it being late in the afternoon friday we would not of made the 4hour journey to milan before it closed so this meant we would miss our flights back home the next day which was saturday. The embassy was now shut till the tuesday as it was bank holiday monday so we had to stay an extra 3 nights before we could fly home. We went back to hotel to speak to manager to make a formal complaint to an elderly man on reception. He point blank refused in front of other guests to give me his name or the managers name. I repeatedly asked him in front of guests for the names and he said he had forgot names then said he didnt know names and lastly but not least said it was against the law to give me the managers name which are all complete lies. I told him he was a liar and for what reason was he telling lies and refusing to give his name or the managers name which is standard proceedure when dealing with a customer service complaint and he wouldnt answer. I heard another member of staff call him luigi so i called him by his name and he was not happy.
I believe the cover up over our stolen passports and the fact that hotel staff told us blatant lies in front of other hotel guests and point blank refusing to give us there names or the managers name and sending us on wild goose chases around the city to 2 police stations means they know more about about our stolen passports than they have admitted to.

Me and my wife have found this whole ordeal very costly to ourselves and very stressful. We expected the hotel to take our complaint seriously and offer advice and help. But all we got were lies and untruths about what we should do.

Do not stay in this hotel the staff cannot be trusted

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank 825barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Proprietario at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
These guests claim we have stolen their passports in order to sell them to an alleged black market. They've written this in a number of raving emails in which they also threatened us to take "revenge". They harassed and insulted our collaborator Luigi for hours. Luigi is an extremely polite 68 year old gentleman with great experience in the accomodation business due to which he was able to keep calm while dealing with someone who was crearly going over the top.
We've pressed charges against them for slander, insults and threats, and he will have to account for them in front of Italian authorities.
I own 4 Hotels in Florence, I've been in the accomodation business for 50 years and for many years was the president of the Association of Florentine Hoteliers, yet I've never experienced such an absurd situation before and I will press charges against whomever will publish this delirious ravings.
My apologies to our Hotel guests who unfortunately where present at this deplorable incident.

We'll try to be more selective in the future.

Riccardo Zucconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here with my in-laws for 3 nights, and we all agreed that the hotel was beautiful (despite its strange entryway), comfortable (very old-style charm), with excellent service, quirky staff, good breakfast, and -wow- the view! It's right in the center of the action but feels like a getaway from the crowds of Florence. Really a wonderful place - would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There's one suite with its own patio - ask for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Guelfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Guelfa Hotel

Property: Torre Guelfa Hotel
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Florence
#75 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#83 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Guelfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safety box Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Torre Guelfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Guelfa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing