We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and amazing view from the tower but..”
Review of Torre Guelfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Ranked #66 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Location and amazing view from the tower but..”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The location of Hotel Torre Guelfa is perfect. All historical places are walking distance and the view from the tower is amazing. The building is fascinating, the staff friendly and helpful. We arrived by car and had some problems to find the place. The GPS insisted saying that we had reached our destination but no trace of the hotel. We phoned the reception and they kindly asked the staff from the garage to reach us. A guy drove our car through small roads and dropped us off at the hotel. The garage provides the service to collect and return your car to the hotel for 26 Euros/day. Since the hotel is in a traffic restricted area the garage takes note of the plate number of the car to avoid a fine.
We booked a room for three people and stayed two nights. We did not like the room. It was dark and dusty and it definitively needed a fresh paint. The bathroom was small with old fixture and a disgusting smell coming from the pipes. I read from other reviews that each room is different; I hope therefore that other rooms are better than the one we got.
WiFi is free in all areas, but sometime it did not work. Breakfast is just ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    256
    66
    18
    15
See reviews for
185
354
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Torre Guelfa hotel for 2 nights at January, and were very pleased.
The hotel is located in a central location, near all fashion stores, great location for those who love shopping.
The staff were gracious! They were always available, kind fully helped us and answered all our questions. We were able to print our train tickets and leave our luggage for a few hours after the check out.
The rooms was nice and clean, though there wasn’t enough light. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maayan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumwater WA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The best thing about this property is the tower bar. Service there was friendly and appropriate. Good meeting place for guests of the hotel. Rooms were nicely furnished, comfortable and the location was terrific. Walked everywhere! Saw some more attractive hotels but not one with such a great view as the tower provided.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank byyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Great charm in rooms. Good shower. Excellent view from tower.
Great location.

Standard but plentiful Italian breakfast. (3 hr window 0730-1040)

But found bed to be very hard (even compared to typical Italian hotels)
Room temperature varied greatly - would become uncomfortably warm then heat would shut off to cool down. We opened the window to get fresh air from heat but got Mosquitos as well. So between the bed, heat, and Mosquitos we did not enjoy sleeping here as much as other hotels/b&b throughout Italy.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Samastarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Direttore at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Samastarr1,
Thank you for submitting your review about your stay. We appreciate you enjoyed the charm of the building and the view from the tower. We regret you did not sleep as comfortably as you expected, maybe because Italian mattresses are usually a little bit harder(?!) .
The heating is centralized and we did not have any complaint about temperatures, as they change during the different times according to the outside weather.
We found a bit puzzling you saying that the hotel is “standard, nothing special”. A 13Th Century Palazzo protected by the Fine Arts of Florence: can it really be “standard”??
Regards
Barbara De Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We didn't stay in this hotel (although it looks lovely), but have to say the tower bar blew our minds! The drinks were very reasonably priced, and were served with a little snack by a very sweet staff member. What fantastic 360 degree views of beautiful Firenze! A must try if you are staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Responsabile reception at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Andrea H,
We thank you so much for your kind review! We like to think the Tower Bar offers not only the great view and the drinks, but also an unforgettable experience of a true florentine feeling.
We look forward for you to completing this experience staying here with us during your next trip to Florence!
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel is rite in the center of the city and only a block from the river and the Ponte Veccio. The staff here are friendly and helpful. The view from the tower is amazing. The breakfast was very good too. I would absolutely stay here again. This is a perfect place to stay if you plan on walking to all of the sites. The walk is easy and convenient. We purchased jewelry from a couple little shops away from the Ponte Veccio and found the prices are a lot better the further you get away but the shops on the bridge are beautiful and a must see. The gold and silver custom jewelry is amazing there put pricy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjcwaterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestone, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel is steps from the center of Florence. The location alone makes it worthwhile since Florence is a city for walking. The medieval tower built by one of the most powerful families of Florence sets it apart. Seeing the city spread before you, with the Tuscan hills in the background, the Duomo glowing in the sunset or lit by the city lights is magical. The hotel itself is simple, unassuming and the staff are very welcoming. The breakfasts are good, the rooms are clean and the lounge is very comfortable. The only down side is that the location can result in street noise at night, but then that location is part of its charm.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crestonepeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Direttore at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Crestonepeak,
Thank you for your great review. We really appreciate when our guests come back home and feel they had been staying in a unique medieval tower. The views from up there are really impressive, and the magic you described in your review is something that many photographers have witnessed with incredibly beautiful pictures. You can see them even on our social network pages on Facebook or Twitter!
Concerning the location, the area is closed to traffic and it is very quiet; however, the nearby historical market has carts moving in the morning around our building.
We are working on that right now, improving our double glazing features: the quality of the sleep of our guests will be absolutely perfect!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon, and show you these improvements.
Kind regards
Barbara De Simone
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#74 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#46 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#166 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#44 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Guelfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Guelfa Hotel

Property: Torre Guelfa Hotel
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Florence
#75 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#83 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Guelfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safety box Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Torre Guelfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Guelfa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing