We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renaissance flavor”
Review of Torre Guelfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Ranked #70 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Renaissance flavor”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. We were excited to stay in a property that has been in the family since renaissance times and yet is up to date for tourists. The accommodation was nicely decorated and clean. The complimentary breakfast and the happy hour up in the tower were nice to take advantage of. The view of Florence from the tower is a picture postcard. Hotel staff was very helpful arranging for car parking in garage, calling taxis and other assistance as needed. The hotel is well situated as other reviewers have said easy to get to sites of interest including the Uffizi, Rialto bridge, shops, etc

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Front Office Manager at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Dear Shirley M,
Thank you so much for your kind review!
We are happy to know you enjoyed the kindness of our staff and the rich breakfast offered to our guests.
We hope to see you back again at the Torre Guelfa, to enjoy again the service and the great views of our tower bar.
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    256
    66
    18
    15
See reviews for
182
354
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as a part of a tour group booking (May 2014). I was a single person assigned this room.

I stayed in room 203 and I was very, very happy. The room was clean. The room was charming. The room was up to date.

Another big plus mentioned by other travelers is that it also has a 12 century tower, open on two levels to its guests. There is a bar service between 5 - 9 pm, a wonderful way to treat yourself. Following that you may just go up and 'hang out' or bring your own bottle of wine. The views from both levels was amazing.

The breakfast was good although our group (not huge) swamped it. Not a problem for us, but individual travels might want to check when a good time is to attend the breakfast if a group is in. Luckily for most travelers, groups tend to need to eat really early, first thing, so it shouldn't be a problem.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better either - a minute or two only from the Ponte Vecchio and right in the heart of Florence. I experienced great WiFi from this room. Overall experience - fantastic.

Room Tip: The pictures I uploaded are from room 203. I loved the tub especially! Was also thankful for a real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Front Office Manager at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Dear Carolynn M,
We really appreciate your kind words about our hotel!
We know it’s an amazing experience to sleep into a 12th century building, but it’s our “mission” (and our pride) to make this an unforgettable memory for our guests.
We hope to see you again in Florence and we will be happy to welcome you again to our tower!
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I picked this hotel for my girlfriend and I's first trip away. The fact it was an old palace, with one of the tallest private towers and right in the heart of the old town sold it for me. I was not disappointed, nor was my girlfriend. You could literally walk anywhere you wanted and were a mere stone’s throw away to the main square. The romantic charm of the hotel was quite special and it was lovely escaping the busy main streets for a quiet little lane. Travelling in November meant the tower bar was empty most nights, it felt like our own private terrace looking over Florence. The views of the Cathedral and Square were amazing. All of the staff were brilliant, reception arranging Taxis and recommending restaurants without issue and the ladies serving breakfast always having a smile. The only comment, our room could have been a little more 'modern', but staying in this sort of hotel it was not an issue.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Stigwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Responsabile reception at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear John Stigwood,
We really thank you for reporting your great stay at the Torre Guelfa here on Tripadvisor! It’s so important for us to get positive feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again here to enjoy one more time the great panoramic from our tower. We also wanted to thank you for the amazing photos you posted with your review: awesome pictures! ; )
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because we wanted to stay in an old palace and have a different sort of experience. Got it!! The tower is unique and provides gorgeous night views. The sitting room is regal and we lounged there often. The location is perfect and made walking to all if the major destinations a breeze. Plus, wonderful breakfast and the staff happily held our bags for us on checkout day and made our late departure easy.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KDA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Responsabile reception at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review about a wonderful stay at Torre Guelfa! It’s always important for us to have such a good feedback from our guests. We really appreciate you came back home with this nice memory about your stay with us. We hope to see you back again here in Florence!
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a very grand hotel, and very close to the most popular attractions in Florence.

We had a problem with the room which was sorted, but it seemed that we weren't always being told the truth by the staff. The communal room which leads to the tower is very beautiful and the views from the tower were magnificent. We visited a couple of the restaurants along the same road from this hotel and both of them were very tasty and amazingly reasonable for being so central.

Overnight our room was noisy and the market traders start moving their stalls from the alley underneath the windows at about 5am!!

All in all a fantastic stay and a very grand hotel, but if you want a long lie - take your earplugs :-)!

Room Tip: Try to get one away from the alley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Responsabile reception at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Gail K,
Thank you for your review!
We always want our guests to be happy, and for any problem, we all do our best to solve it – exactly how it happened to you: we worked it out immediately!
We are sorry if you didn’t sleep well because of the carts, starting at 7 am… That’s for the historical market near the hotel, and they were forced to pass in our street because of some road works near the market. Usually this is a very quiet area, as traffic is not allowed.
We look forward to seeing you back again, and we promise that earplugs won’t be needed at all! ;-)
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I LOVED my stay at Torre Guelfa! I had a beautiful room on the third floor, though I don't remember which number. There was an alley below, but any noise was not worth remembering or unexpected for being in the heart of the city. I stayed two nights, and enjoyed fully the sitting rooms (the formal one and another sitting nook outside of my room's hallway). The bathroom was large compared to others I had in Italy. The proximity to main sights was fantastic - mere minutes to the Duomo, Uffizi, Ponte Veccio - and the view from the tower was breathtaking; I went up multiple times to catch the changing lighting of the city. The staff was kind and helpful. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notna4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Front Office Manager at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Dear Notna4u,
Thank you for your kind review! We always appreciate hearing nice words like these about our service, our breakfast, our rooms and the comfort of the hotel. It makes us proud and still wonder how can we improve our hotel.
We look forward to seeing you soon back at the Torre Guelfa!
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

First of all be sure to understand that this hotel is in a very old building. Staying true to the old style of the building is fine which can somewhat justify the decor in the rooms but this should not mean compromising cleanliness.

The room we were allocated first was very dim but the most disturbing thing was the smell. When we first entered the hotel lobby there was a very strong sent of some kind of citrus cleaning product which was also first prevalent in the room. However by the evening the smell had wore off to be replaced by a very stale and musty, almost mold like smell. There were also incense burning in the corridor which should have been an indicator that the hotel staff was clearly aware of the smell and trying to cover it. We asked to be moved to another room which, even though not as strong, had the same smell. I would have never paid as much as we did had I known the standards of this hotel. I am sure you can get something nicer for the same price or then just pay more for a modern room!

On a positive note the location is excellent, the staff really friendly and they speak great english and the breakfast surprisingly good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Responsabile reception at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Jimmy C,
Let us get this straight. You’re saying the hotel was not clean…because of the smell of cleaning products? That’s interesting.
About the style and the features of the building, you know… you can’t expect a hotel placed in a 13th century building, in the oldest part of a medieval city center, to be a modern hotel and we do not pretend to be it. Why would you book your room into an historical palace if you’re looking for a “modern” place to stay?
Anyway, we really appreciate your kind words about our location (the most central in town), our staff and the very rich breakfast offered to our guests.
Best regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#36 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#174 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Guelfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Guelfa Hotel

Property: Torre Guelfa Hotel
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Florence
#75 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#83 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Guelfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safety box Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torre Guelfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Guelfa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing