We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great hotel”
Review of Torre Guelfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Ranked #73 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a great hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Torre Guelfa Hotel for part of our honeymoon and I was very disappointed. Our room was diagonal from the cleaning closet so the hallway and our room smelled very strongly of chemical cleaners. We always heard banging from that closet but also were very close to the kitchen quarters and each morning woke up very early to the clatter of the kitchen. What really disappointed me was the fact that we barely had a bathroom. It couldn't even really be considered a bathroom as you could barely fit a human being in there. The sink wasn't even located in the "bathroom" it was in the bedroom. In addition, when my husband tried to take a shower, the shower head fell off. Oh and the toilet was always running. I was very disappointed with this hotel and while it was in a great location, I would not recommend it to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Front Office Manager at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Dear Jessica G,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.
We are a little disappointed reading your review: our "goal" is to take after all of our guests, and their satisfaction is key for us. The room you were in is a classic double room that hundreds of our guests have loved, but, you know, it's difficult to match all expectations when you have a hotel with 31 rooms, all of them different from each other.
That's why we always encourage our guests to report their thoughts while they stay here and, if they're not happy with the room, WE PROMPTLY OFFER ANOTHER ROOM.
We would have done the same thing with you, if only we knew about your disappointment.
We hope to see you back at Torre Guelfa and we are sure that this time we will met your expectations.
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    262
    67
    19
    16
See reviews for
189
366
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The old part of Florence, Italy is a tourist’s delight for those into the art and architecture of the Renaissance. And in an unfamiliar foreign city I really appreciate a hotel site that is convenient to what I want to see and whose staff can help me with directions and suggestions for places to see and eat. And if the facility can offer views unlike other sites—that’s a bonus. Florence’s Hotel Torre Guelfa fills that bill. Located a short block from the Arno River and the famous Ponte Vecchio, it is a brief walk from other Florentine attractions as the Uffizi Gallery and Palazzo Vecchio. It’s only a little longer to the Duomo and the Academia. Breakfast (continental but with the addition of boiled eggs) comes with the room. The hotel serves no other meals, but that is where ‘service’ comes in. The reception desk people are great resources for places to eat with advice on levels of expense, if you want it. Solid housekeeping has kept this centuries-old building in contemporary (to the 21st century!) cleanliness.

Location details: Hotel Torre Guelfa, Borgo Santi Apostoli, 8
50123 Florence, Italy
Phone The country code for Italy is 39. The number within Italy: 055-239-6338

Web site (for English): http://www.hoteltorreguelfa.com/eng/home.html

Some tips:

Cab fare from the Florence airport to the Torre Guelfa ran me about €20 to €25.

Treat yourself to a great view: Climb the stairs from the third floor to the tower for a drink and GREAT views of Florence.

Room Tip: Our party used two double rooms and a king. The doubles were continental small; the king was roomier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Front Office Manager at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Dear Herbert W,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review and your tips here on Tripadvisor!
We loved to hear your warm words of appreciation for our hotel, from the staff to the building itself: a 13-century Palazzo with the tallest privately owned terrace of the city!
We look forward to seeing you again here at Torre Guelfa for a drink in our panoramic Tower Bar!
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The location for this hotel is perfect--right near the Ponte Vecchio and the Piazza della Signoria. The bar on the top of the tower is fabulous. Can't get a better view anywhere. The room was only so-so. Breakfast was included and pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Front Office Manager at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Dear Susanna72,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel here on Tripadvisor!
We really appreciate to know you had such a good stay at Torre Guelfa and you enjoyed the views from our Tower Bar, the tallest privately owned building of Florence.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!!!
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel on our final day in Italy. Our room was an okay size but definitely dated and a bit dark and dingy. We enjoyed the rooftop in the late afternoon and the view of the city is incredible - just wish we had stayed for a cocktail but the World Cup Soccer with Italy playing changed our plans. The bed could definitely be more comfortable but the hotel was quiet and we slept well. As we had a very early flight out we did not get to experience breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Front Office Manager at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Dear Jane S,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review here on Tripadvisor!
It's really nice for us to know you enjoyed your stay at Torre Guelfa.
We look forward to seeing you again soon in our hotel!
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Best location, steps from Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizzi. Totally unique property with a spectacular tower and bar. The room was older and not fancy, and the bathroom was miniscule, but I didn't care. Only problem was the air conditioning. It was not hot when we were there, but the street nearby was so noisy that we would have liked to close the window and run the AC. The hotel mgmt at first couldn't find "the remote" for the AC (i.e. they have only one for the entire hotel? we didn't understand this). So basically we had to keep the window open and deal with the noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moreita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Front Office Manager at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Dear Moreita,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review here on Tripadvisor!
We really appreciate your kind words about the hotel and the service.
The hotel is located in a pedestrian street with no traffic, in a very quiet part of town. When you asked for the A/C, the hotel staff just had to bring you the remote to your room, because each room has the possibility to control its own temperature. During summertime, when it gets hotter, the A/C remotes are available immediately in every room.
We look forward to welcoming you back again to Torre Guelfa soon!
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a wonderful old hotel very near the Ponte Vecchio. I had stayed here on a tour a couple of years ago and remembered it fondly...so when I decided to return to Florence, I decided to revisit this gem. I was not disappointed! The rooms are old and charming, but with modern comforts. We were on the 2nd floor in a room with one bed and a lovely sitting room. The bed was comfortable, and the room was spotlessly clean. The hotel staff is friendly and welcoming and they speak excellent English (which was a plus for me!). The breakfast is delicious and has a good variety of options. One thing which sets this place apart for me is the rooftop bar. It is the highest privately owned spot in the city and the views from up there are amazing! We spent an evening enjoying the view with a glass of wine and it was so lovely and relaxing after a day of walking and sightseeing. I don't know if my travels will ever take me back to Florence, but if they do, I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballardgal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Front Office Manager at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Dear Ballardga,
Thank you so much for your kind review: we really thank you for taking the time to share your warm words about our hotel here on Tripadvisor!
It's so important for us to get this kind of feedback from our guests, and looking after our guests really makes us proud.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at Torre Guelfa!
Niccolò T.
and all the staff of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Overall I was happy with my stay at the Torre Guelfa.
The view from the rooftop deck was amazing and the location was perfect. The staff were very professional, but too formal for me, I prefer a bit more of a "homey" feel and more personality. The room was small and dark with a small zig-zag shaped bathroom, and the lighting was horrible throughout. Other people I was traveling with had rooms that were much larger and brighter at the same price, so that was really frustrating. I understand that hotels in old buildings have these "quirks", I just wish the more quirky rooms came with a price break! But having said that I would stay there again, mostly because the location was so perfect, but I may be a bit more assertive about which room I am in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallardGirlForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorreGuelfaHotel, Responsabile reception at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear BallardGirl21,
Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you enjoyed the location and the amazing views from the rooftop terrace. We are sorry you could not enjoy the room; all the rooms of the building are different from each other, and you may have reported this matter to the reception staff: we always care the satisfation of our guests, and we would have been happy to change your room!
We look forward to seeing you back soon to Torre Guelfa, and we trust you will really enjoy your stay again!
Best regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#53 of 411 in Florence
440 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#39 of 411 in Florence
1,743 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#65 of 411 in Florence
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#161 of 411 in Florence
408 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#49 of 411 in Florence
1,519 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Guelfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Guelfa Hotel

Property: Torre Guelfa Hotel
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Florence
#75 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#84 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Guelfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safety box Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Torre Guelfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Guelfa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing