We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Adequate”
Review of Hotel Villa Azalee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Azalee
Ranked #333 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 26 September 2009

From the reviews on this website - I expected a clean and adequate hotel. This was not what was found on arrival. The confirmation from the hotel did indicate that the room we were given was not recently restructured, however there were vast differences from the photos and reviews and the room that we were given. I would not recommend based on the following: 1. Location: The hotel was quite near the train station and not the best neighborhood. It is also on a busy bus route. 2. Cleanliness - The room we were given did not give the appearance of cleanliness. Bedspreads were dingy, carpet appeared dirty, appearance was very old and run down. 3. Bathroom toilet was constantly running - this maybe could have been fixed,but given the other issues - we did not try.

The room size was large enough and the gardens had potential to be be pretty, however again did not appear to be being maintained. I left this hotel and found another very clean and nicely sized room near the Il Duomo for the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LKNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2009

We had a garden room with an arched doorway, large room made to look smaller by the king size bed but still more than adequate space for 2 people. Large ensuite with 3 (yes 3) showers as well as usual facilities. Plus aircon. Breakfast can be taken in the garden and is more than adequate. 10 mins amble into central Florence & very handy for both the central train & bus stations. Staff very friendly. The only negative we have is that the room (No. 31) is looking tired & could do with a coat of paint but we would definately go back. For the price you would find it hard to do better.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gfssltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Altogether, Villa Azalee was a pleasing place to stay for a couple nights. The rooms were spacious (a single had a double bed, and a double had a double bed plus a day bed) and each one we caught a glimpse of was uniquely decorated. The ac worked fine for us. My only complaints about the rooms (and hallways) were a bit dingy (like someone else said, they could use a fresh coat of pain; but otherwise, they were very cleant). The bathrooms in both rooms we rented appeared recently updated. (I should note, though, that we wondered if we were upgraded to larger and more recently renovated rooms than we should have had based on our reservation, as the hotel seemed largely empty; also based on web site info, we'd expected to be on a higher floor).

For breakfast, there was a very nice range of choices, including bread, rolls, cake, yogurt, whole fruit, et al. The breakfast room was pretty cozy (i.e., cramped) and one day we had to wait 10 minutes or so for a table.

Throughout our visit, the staff was very courteous and responsive to all questions we had.

The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from Santa Maria Novella train station, and a 15-20 minute walk from the main historic areas.

Overall, for the price paid, we were quite satisfied with all aspects of our experience with Villa Azalee.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eudora_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We traveled in Italy for 6 weeks and we researched our hotels carefully. The website made it very inviting. When we read through the Trip Advisor reviews for Villa Azalee, we noted that most of the negative reviews were older with more recent reviews being quite positive. We also noted on both the website and in Trip Advisor reviews that the hotel had been undergoing some rennovation. So, we booked 5 nights. But our experience did not match up with our expectations. While the staff was terrific, our room and the hotel were really not. We had a room in the main part of the hotel which may not yet have received the updated rennovation mentioned. While the room was very spacious and we had a balcony overlooking the beautiful garden, the room was sorely in need of paint. The bannister from downstairs to the 2nd floor is so rickety, we were afraid to touch it. The breakfast room is very tiny and crowded when there are just a few guests. The walk to the tourist site area is much farther than the website makes it appear and through a somewhat unpleasant area. On a positive note, the car park was readily available for 21 euros per night so we didn't drive once we arrived in Florence. Also, they recommended a fabulous restaurant...La Rotonda. Would we stay there again? No. Should you book this hotel? Just be cautious.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SACALosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Walkable from S. Maria Novella Stazione, though neighborhood is undergoing significant construction and is somewhat dirty. Property is charming, yet shows its age. Room in separate building overlooking pleasant courtyard. Staff were helpful in carrying luggage to 2nd floor, making reservations at museums and recommending an excellent restaurant in the area with real local flavor, Vecchio Carlino, across from arch. Extensive menu, reasonable prices. We enjoyed dining here twice, after long days in the very touristy Duomo area. Central air conditioning, unable to be adjusted in room, did not cool room sufficiently on warm and muggy evenings. Traffic too noisy to keep window open. Good breakfast options with old world charm, though items not readily replenished. Good value for the money. Check out the nearby Perfumery in old monastery and sunset view from P. Michaelangelo. Walkable to all the sites.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindoverez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Easy to reach from the train station - 10min walk and again 10-15 min walk to Uffizi and centre attractions. 5 min to bus station to get bus to Siena etc.
Lovely old Villa - was built for a banker as a residential house. Room was a good size with huge ceiling and art work - balcony, fridge, no safe, air-con (although not that effective!) Small bathroom but it did the trick. Internet access at 6 Euros an hour and good breakfast. Very friendly staff and great range of guests staying there, they also have underground car park around the corner. Area felt safe, probably a 10 min walk for places to eat but good trattorias down the street.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ringmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We stayed at Villa Azalee during our two-day visit to Florence. The hotel is conveniently located at 10-minute walk from Santa Maria Novella train station. While many parts of this walk are now affected by the tram construction, it is still easily walkable.
The service in the hotel was great: excellent English-speaking personnel, nice and clean room and breakfast included. The room is actually large for European standards.
My wife loved the garden, with plenty of flowers all over it. The hotel is actually a country house built in the XIX century, so most of the furniture is (or looks) old as well (as most things in Florence), including the rooms. Thus, don't expect to find a fashion or trendy place.
All in all, a nice stay. When I return to Florence, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ucanonico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Embassy
Hotel Embassy
#142 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#178 of 410 in Florence
1,292 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#130 of 410 in Florence
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#92 of 410 in Florence
759 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#156 of 410 in Florence
2,019 reviews
Villa Aruch
#26 of 315 in Florence
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Azalee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Azalee

Address: Viale Fratelli Rosselli 44, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £130 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Azalee 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Azalee is situated in the historical centre of Florence, 200 metres from the central station Santa Maria Novella, 500 metres from Congress Palace, near the City Theater and about 200 metres from Stazione Leopolda a congress and exhibition centre. Hotel Villa Azalee belongs to Mrs Brizzi and her family, from Florence, since over a century. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Azalee Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing