We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel, well positioned for seeing Florence”
Review of Porta Faenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Porta Faenza
Ranked #69 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel is in a good, quiet location despite being a stone's throw from the station. The hotel and the rooms had a nice character. The facilities were good. Within easy access to everywhere in Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhuttani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Bhuttani,

We are also happy that you have appreciated the room and all the amenities inside.
For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website to do not miss the special offers for your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

the hotel location is perfect. it's close to the rail station,restaurants and main attractions.
the room was big and the bed was extremely comfortable.

the staff was kind and helpful, they can book tickets and trips for you


very recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anwaretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Anwaretta,

thank you for sharing your experience. We will be very happy to see you again at Hotel Porta Faenza!
A warm greetings and thanks from our staff.

Best Regards
Hote Porta Faenza *** - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This small hotel is located north of the central tourist and merchandizing areas in a relatively quiet part of the city. Only occasional cars and scooters on this one-lane road. The access is great to all the major tourist areas, the most distant only 15-20 min walk. Local trattorias and pizzerias are good -- a mix of Florentine and traditional. Room was a little tight for two, but very clean and the maid service was excellent. But extremely quiet with window opening onto interior courtyard, and the AC was welcome in August! Breakfast was quite good and ample, with a typical Italian mix of foods. Staff are quite friendly; knowing that we had to take an early cab to the airport they took it upon themselves to leave us a wonderful breakfast in our room the night before! Definitely recommend a stay here. Our only complaint was the 'help' we received buying tickets ahead of time; our first night in we asked about pre-purchasing tickets to the Uffizi and Accademia (David) and rather than steer us to the Firenze pass (72 euros for 72 hours to most of the main attractions) they steered us to a website (www.museumticket.it) that purchases tickets in blocks and sets up your entry time. This site was a HUGE pain, giving little feedback, asking for too much information, and never delivering our tickets by the requested day! We were very frustrated to be directed to this bad website and only later from a friend learning about the Firenze pass. Why didn't they tell us about this?? We probably should have known, but had already had a lot of travel before and didn't research all the details. Whatever you do, don't link up with www.museumticket.it!!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear John,

Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about our services is very important for us.
We are so sorry if one of our receptionist has suggested to reserve museum tickets on that website that is not the official one.
Unfortunately, on August we had some new persons working here for the holidays and maybe she really doesn't knows that the Florence card allows to visit museums for a very convenient price.

We renew our apologizes and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the future.

Best Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Good room for the price, the washroom was larger than expected but as others have said the shower is quite tiny. The location to the rest of Florence is great, as we were able to walk from the train station (5 min) and to all the sites (10-15min). The staff was extremely friendly our entire stay and gladly helped to make us dinner reservations. Overall, this is a great option if you are more interested in location than in a fancy hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seatosky604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about our services is very important for us. A special thank you is sent by the staff.
We hope to welcom you again in our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic!! It is centrally located, easy to walk to all attractions. Our room was huge with a big bathroom as well which had a separate bath and shower. Nice change to other hotels we have had while travelling. The staff were absolutely brilliant- they make reservations for you at museums to save you waiting in line free of charge. They also printed documents for us without complaint and recommended grest restaurants (highly recommend le fonticine around the corner). There is a play station in the room with free loaning of DVDs and games. The breakfast was quite average but no different to other breakfasts we have had in Italy so think it was just a standard Italian brekky. I found our bed quite hard but that's a personal thing as my partner loved the bed!! Cannot complain at all about this hotel, will definitely stay there again if we return to Florence and recommend to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystle26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review.
Your comment and your feedback about our services is very important for us.

We are also happy that you have appreciated the room and all the amneities inside..
For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website to do not miss the special offers for your next stay with us.
A special thank you is sent by the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great city hotel, lovely and spacious rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, great location near the central market place and the Duomo. I will definitely come back here in the future. Value for money is perfect.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Didier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and for having chosen our hotel!
We always try to ensure a pleasant stay for our customers.
We expect you back in our hotel!

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Great location, incredibly helpful staff, clean rooms and good value for money. What more could you ask for? The hotel is well placed to walk to many of Florence's key sites. The atmosphere is great, and the decor is both tasteful and well thought out. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, but we were well impressed with the range and quality of the buffet on offer. Free internet is available, but the connection was very patchy and kept dropping. The room TV was small but received a number of news channels in various languages so you can keep up with what's going on even if you can't get online. Local street parking is hopeless, but there is a managed parking garage only 100 yards down the road, and for 30-ish euros, you can leave a car overnight in safety. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewBrightonGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We’re so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope to have you back as our welcome guest.

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#64 of 411 in Florence
823 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#108 of 411 in Florence
925 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#71 of 411 in Florence
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#77 of 411 in Florence
1,286 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#90 of 411 in Florence
597 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#150 of 411 in Florence
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Faenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Faenza

Address: Via Faenza 77n, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £56 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Faenza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porta Faenza is situated in Via Faenza - one of the earliest medieval streets in Florence - near Porta Faenza, a gate in the fifteenth-century city walls. It was created in 1997 through the restoration and conversion of Palazzo Pegna, the old residence of a family of merchants, whose original structure has been kept intact. Porta Faenza was part of the city walls and was situated at the end of what is up till now called Via Faenza. It has been so called not for being placed towards the town in Emilia, but from the name of the Nuns from Faenza, who had their convent in the neighbourhood once. Between 1534 and 1537 Porta Faenza was joined to the Fortezza da Basso without being demolished: by watching attentively you can still distinguish its squared profile in the central bastion towards the city or its arch from the inside of the fortress. The Hotel will make you savour the warm atmosphere of the old-time Florentine houses: the tile floor, the exposed beams, the old tools scattered everywhere, together with all the comforts will make it your ideal home in the old Florence. The Hotel Porta Faenza is centrally located, very close to the main railway station (Santa Maria Novella), to Palazzo dei Congressi (the Conference Centre) and to the Fortezza da Basso. The most interesting monuments and museums in Florence are within easy walking distance. For being situated in a pedestrian precinct, the Hotel is a quiet and pleasant place, the ideal point of departure for you to discover Florence and its artistic and cultural life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Porta Faenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Faenza Florence
Porta Faenza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing