We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Porta Faenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porta Faenza
Ranked #69 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It is a casual 7 minute walk from the train station, on a hidden Laneway , but we asked a taxi driver at the station and he gave us good directions. Rooms are large and spacious, staff friendly, and lots of eateries nearby . Many of the main attractions are walking distance. Highly recommend as it is good value for the money. From other hotels we have visited we would give this hotel a 3.5 to 4 stars. Did not have breakfast here so cannot comment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikecudgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights (5 on the first leg of the trip, 1 on the back end) in June 2013. First, as others have said, it is a great location. Close to the train station and in walking distance of all of the major sites but on a very quiet street. Of course, it being an old building all of the rooms seem to be different sizes. Our first room was decent size for Europe but the bathroom, especially the shower, which was very small. On second stay, we had a much larger room and a bathtub/shower. Both were generally clean, although there was a tad bit of mold in the grout of the shower in the first room and a maintenance issue with a leaking toilet. And the linens are a bit tired but clean. A/C was pretty good, which can be a challenge for an American in Europe.

The breakfast was good but pretty much the same thing every day. They will make you coffee drinks to order if you ask. The staff was nice as well, although we didn't ask much of them.

Overall, I think it was a good value for the money and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the backside of the hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent two nights here at this wonderful hotel in September 2013. I rate it as a five for the following reasons:
-Location, location, location - Florence is relatively small so pretty much every hotel will have decent proximity to all the sites, BUT this hotel is also a VERY short walk from the train station which made it very convenient for those travelers that are lugging luggage around.
-Staff - Very helpful. If you ask they will book tickets for you at the museums. This will prevent you from having to wait in line.
-Rooms - Very nice and very big compared to other European hotel rooms. Additionally, our bathroom was HUGE. There is a great (free) WIFI connection in the room. The safe allows you to pick your own passcode. The room was cleaned daily and towels were refreshed daily.
-Breakfast - Great breakfast with meat, cheese, and bread options. Be sure to ask for a cappuccino, if you don't ask you'll be stuck with plain olde coffee!
-Price - The price point on this place put it over the edge. It is literally one of the best rated hotels for the most reasonable price.

The only con we found was that we had to leave! This was our favorite hotel during our 8 day trip in Italy (Rome, Florence, Venice). You will not regret staying in this hotel if you are looking for a comfortable relaxing hotel in Florence that is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenDunn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent three nights at Porta Faenza when we were traveling with a group of 18 friends.

This lovely hotel is in a great location. We were able to walk to most of the sites we wanted to visit and it was close to the Santa Maria Novella train station where we caught the train to Venice.

The buffet breakfast was great with plenty choices.

Since our group had 9 rooms, we found that there are a variety of sizes of rooms. Ours was small but adequate and all rooms were clean.

Right around the corner was Bondi Trattoria where we had two evening dinners and ZaZa's where we ate our last evening in Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent two nights here in September 2013. Our room was very spacious and clean, staff were helpful and the breakfast was ok - buffet style with a good choice. Location was perfect as we had come into the train station and could walk to the hotel in about 5 minutes. Duomo is also about a 5 minute walk and along the street there are a number of bars and restaurants - although the hotel is at a quiet end so no noise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We’re so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope to have you back as our welcome guest.

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just spent a week at the Porta Faenza and had a great time there and in Florence. The hotel is clean and comfortable with daily housekeeping, clean towels etc. It is ideally situated for most of the sights in Florence and the bus and train stations. Perfect if you come in from Pisa. We were warmly welcomed and the reception staff are friendly and accommodating. They will sort out any tours etc for you if you want. We took a very good full day trip to Pisa, San Giminiano and Sienna. Breakfast is very good with everything fresh and plentiful and the lady who runs the breakfast room is very helpful. There are some very good restaurants and bars in the area too, a lot of them not overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience!
For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website to do not miss the special offers for your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We spent a night at the Porta Faenza, we needed to be near to the Santa Maria Novella rail station, We knew it was a three star hotel and we got exactly what we expected, a nice fairly small room, quiet and off the street with quite comfortable beds, a bathroom with all the necessities and very new fluffy towels, a rarity in less expensive Italian hotels. Pleasantly staffed, helpful front desk, good varied continental buffet breakfast and all in all if you have less than Euros200 a night to spend and want to be centrally located in this very expensive city, this is a good choice. We walked around the San Lorenzo market, viewed the Duomo by night, even more spectacular and had an excellent supper at Cafaggio on Via Guelfa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimeyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We always try to make your stay as pleasant as possible for our customers! We expect you back at our hotel!

Best Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#91 of 410 in Florence
593 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#79 of 410 in Florence
1,248 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#72 of 410 in Florence
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#63 of 410 in Florence
515 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#62 of 410 in Florence
815 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#101 of 410 in Florence
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Faenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Faenza

Address: Via Faenza 77n, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#77 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £55 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Faenza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porta Faenza is situated in Via Faenza - one of the earliest medieval streets in Florence - near Porta Faenza, a gate in the fifteenth-century city walls. It was created in 1997 through the restoration and conversion of Palazzo Pegna, the old residence of a family of merchants, whose original structure has been kept intact. Porta Faenza was part of the city walls and was situated at the end of what is up till now called Via Faenza. It has been so called not for being placed towards the town in Emilia, but from the name of the Nuns from Faenza, who had their convent in the neighbourhood once. Between 1534 and 1537 Porta Faenza was joined to the Fortezza da Basso without being demolished: by watching attentively you can still distinguish its squared profile in the central bastion towards the city or its arch from the inside of the fortress. The Hotel will make you savour the warm atmosphere of the old-time Florentine houses: the tile floor, the exposed beams, the old tools scattered everywhere, together with all the comforts will make it your ideal home in the old Florence. The Hotel Porta Faenza is centrally located, very close to the main railway station (Santa Maria Novella), to Palazzo dei Congressi (the Conference Centre) and to the Fortezza da Basso. The most interesting monuments and museums in Florence are within easy walking distance. For being situated in a pedestrian precinct, the Hotel is a quiet and pleasant place, the ideal point of departure for you to discover Florence and its artistic and cultural life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Porta Faenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Faenza Florence
Porta Faenza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing