We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great find”
Review of Porta Faenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Porta Faenza
Ranked #71 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Super sized rooms for a city hotel and good location about 15 min walk to main sights. Quiet area and friendly staff. Free wifi and safe, unusual for city hotel. Breakfast was excellent with fresh breads, juice, good quality meat and fruit. All fresh and not out of a packet as some city hotels.
Thank you we will be back, we have recommended to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhafhjpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your kind words. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel!!
We really hope to see you again in Florence!!

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
There are newer reviews for Porta Faenza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

My daughter and I had a lovely experience staying in this hotel. The staff at the reception is good and very knowledgeable in furnishing us with information. Breakfast was a welcoming treat for us and the room was kept clean and tidy at all times. Thumbs up for a hotel with great value

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairness07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your contribution and for your appreciative words!

Hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The size of the room we had was bigger than any I've ever stayed in in Italy. It was updated and clean with
a window that opened to the street below. When closed you didn't hear the street noise. Breakfast was standard
european fare, nothing exceptional. The staff was kind and friendly. It is in an excellent location for site seeing,
with plenty of resturants and gelato nearby.

Room Tip: Room 301 is on the street, with the window open it can for noisy, but closed it is nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desanmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We enjoyed a most comfortable 2 nights in this charming hotel in the pedestrian zone of that great city Florence. Staff were most helpful and welcoming, immediately offered without prompting to send the key to our last hotel back to the owner when I discovered it in my pocket upon arriving in Florence. Hotel Porta Faenza is a mix of old and new architecture, having once been a palazzo in times past. It has managed to retain some elements of that past which adds to the charm of the place. Self service buffet breakfast was very adequate with good range of choice and more than enough to start the day off. Il Duomo was a leisurely 10 minutes walk along pedestrianised streets. Room 301 is charming with a very comfortable bed, excellent bathroom with both bath and walk-in shower and a little outdoor balcony to sit in if weather and inclination permit. Altogether a very good well managed hotel with charming front-of-house staff ready to help especially when retrieving car from garage at top of street. Well recommended and good value for money. and, of course, Florence is just astonishing. Read some of its history before visiting it, its truly amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianG54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

after noting this hotel down after seeing it recommended in a paper a couple of years go, we have just spent a great wknd in florence ,and was made to feel very welcome by all involved with this hotel..the service is great and any help with the sights or museums is no problem at all,,, florence is a great and lively city.and after a long day, this is a great place to go home to..

Room Tip: room 106,, big,grand and never heard a sound all night
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Direttore at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about our services is very important for us.
A special thank you is sent by the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We noted that this hotel was highly rated on Tripadvisors website for Florence, hence we followed through with a booking on the Expedia website via tripadvisor. On arrival the staff on the desk were very helpful, we were booked into a room on the first floor, very roomy with a kingsize bed everything was adequate, with tea making facilities, be it that the wardrobe was a little on the small size. The toweling which was changed every day could not be bettered it was spotless and clean, and the quality of which we have never seen before. The continental breakfast was very good, ample, and again high quality as much food as you wanted. The room service was again excellent the young lady attended to every detail. She was a positive to the buisness. You have to be a little careful when walking around the pavements and cobbled streets are very uneaven, Its a pity the council dont spend a little of the cash from the local taxes on improvements. Consideration has to be made that the area is a few hundered years old, be it that the Italians then kept them in better condition..
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Florence, Its adequate and good value in this fairly expensive city.
The only downside of the hotel was the only English language programme was CNN, after a half a day watching this we considered suicide from the bridge, It shows so many repeats it would qualify for an award.

Room Tip: Watch where you eat, costs vary and generally are quite high, on saying that there are some reasonab...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Direttore at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words.
We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel!!
We really hope to see you again in Florence!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

It's been repeated in every review I've read about this hotel. Location. We found the location perfect but even more important was the fact that a breakfast was served. While traveling, I have found, that breakfast is the hardest meal to secure so a hotel that offers a free breakfast is always appreciated. Because Florence is Florence, the hotel lends itself to being a easy walk from just about everywhere, albeit confusing. Confusing, in that, the city's old and the streets are laid out in the original pattern that the farmers that settled there plotted. Each city block was originally a plot of land given to Roman Army Generals as a pension for years of service. This fact only helps to lure you into the cities magnificant history.

The Porta Faenza is well worth the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MClaytonCarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#62 of 411 in Florence
501 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#53 of 411 in Florence
799 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#82 of 411 in Florence
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#72 of 411 in Florence
593 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#83 of 411 in Florence
1,177 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#94 of 411 in Florence
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Faenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Faenza

Address: Via Faenza 77n, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#77 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £67 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Faenza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porta Faenza is situated in Via Faenza - one of the earliest medieval streets in Florence - near Porta Faenza, a gate in the fifteenth-century city walls. It was created in 1997 through the restoration and conversion of Palazzo Pegna, the old residence of a family of merchants, whose original structure has been kept intact. Porta Faenza was part of the city walls and was situated at the end of what is up till now called Via Faenza. It has been so called not for being placed towards the town in Emilia, but from the name of the Nuns from Faenza, who had their convent in the neighbourhood once. Between 1534 and 1537 Porta Faenza was joined to the Fortezza da Basso without being demolished: by watching attentively you can still distinguish its squared profile in the central bastion towards the city or its arch from the inside of the fortress. The Hotel will make you savour the warm atmosphere of the old-time Florentine houses: the tile floor, the exposed beams, the old tools scattered everywhere, together with all the comforts will make it your ideal home in the old Florence. The Hotel Porta Faenza is centrally located, very close to the main railway station (Santa Maria Novella), to Palazzo dei Congressi (the Conference Centre) and to the Fortezza da Basso. The most interesting monuments and museums in Florence are within easy walking distance. For being situated in a pedestrian precinct, the Hotel is a quiet and pleasant place, the ideal point of departure for you to discover Florence and its artistic and cultural life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porta Faenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Faenza Florence
Porta Faenza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing