We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Porta Faenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porta Faenza
Ranked #70 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is located a walking distance from the station in a quitet street. The room we got was fantastic. It made us think of a palazza. The roof was very special decorated as it was. The bathroom was good. We have never had a bathroom with both a shower and a bathtube.
The breakfast was also good. The only thing to complain about was the teawater.I was usually lukewarm. If you asked about hot water you got it immediately.
Good service everywhere. Severeal good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for one week in June with my daughter. Very clean. Bedrooms made up beautifully every day. Very large bed plus day bed in large room. Tea making facilities a lovely surprise. Easy-to-use safe and useful fridge. Breakfast very satisfactory with hot and cold choices. Extremely friendly staff. Excellent situation close to cafes, restaurants, railway station and tourist attractions. One thing - a full length mirror in room would have been useful for 2 females!! Would certainly stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onepairofhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is not a 5 star hotel, more like 3.5 stars, but it does what it sets out to do very, very well. Great location, clean, spacious rooms, very cute and charming, and helpful staff.

It was great for our American family with kids because the rooms were very large, and also because there is American fast food nearby. On a 2-week trip through Italy, having a break from pasta and pizza was a welcome break for the kids and helped them recharge their stomach batteries for week 2.

The best part, however, was how caring and helpful the staff was. One of our kids came down with a fever. They had a doctor at the door in an hour and helped me get the antibiotics. Then, he only felt like eating cereal, so they would open up the fridge and get me milk and cereal whenever I needed it. Didn't make me feel like they were doing me a favor, but rather, like they genuinely felt like helping.

I very enthusiastically recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bearcatMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hotel Porta Faenza was recently visited by a group of friends and I from a University in the States, the hotel was beyond excellent, the breakfast was great and ample as well as the rooms were a decent size and had the charm of a European hotel. My only downside was the shutters were broken in my room, so the light would seep in at all hours of the night. Beyond that minor inconvenience I would highly recommend staying.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler22494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. It was in a fantastic location, not too busy and near everything. It was also really close to Santa Maria train station! There are some nice restaurants really close by too (I wouldn't recommend the second restaurant to the right when you walk out though, sorry can't remember the name!) the room itself was pretty standard, dated decor but that's keeping with the theme of the place. We were in the 2nd floor and the rooms were very quiet, bed was comfortable and we slept well both nights. The staff were really nice and friendly too. The only reason we didn't give this room was a 5 was that there were issues with the sewerage in the bathroom, we said something to reception and they sort of fixed it but the smell in the morning after the door had been closed all night was pretty unbearable. Luckily we were only staying 2 nights or it could have been a horrible experience! But anyway hopefully it's all fixed now. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikikunsAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear KikikunsA,

Thank you a lot for your review. We always try to make your stay as pleasant as possible for our customers!
We expect you back at our hotel!

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just departed from Florence and Hotel Faenza. The staff was wonderful! So friendly and helpful to our many questions about getting around the city. Our room was nice and light inside, big bathroom, and big comfy bed! The decor felt very Tuscan, which we both loved. We had a room right by the stairs and elevator exit and were worried it might be loud, but it was very quiet! We loved the location too! Lots of fun restaurants nearby but not too touristy which was nice. If we return to Florence we will definitely stay here again! Thank you!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ladyivy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Ladyivy1,

Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about our services is very important for us. A special thank you is sent by the staff!

Best Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Hotel porta Faenza had a great location for our stay. The best part of the trip was the accessibility of the front desk to assist with any requests. We needed tickets for la academia because we were having trouble using the website booking and the front desk was able to call and reserve tickets to avoid any wait. Breakfast was good every morning, mainly pastries and some deli meats, the can make drinks for you as well so try to take advantage of that. The front desk offered laundry service for about 10 euros if you had it to them in the morning it would be back in the afternoon. The area was very quiet and extremely close to the termini, the room itself was clean. The hotel also called for dinner reservations if we asked for help considering the restaurants probably don’t use open table and we don’t speak Italian. The room was definetley on the small side and bathroom was pretty beat up but nothing to gripe too much about since the location and price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_Sayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear J_Sayo,

thank you for sharing your experience. We will be very happy to see you again at Hotel Porta Faenza!
A warm greetings and thanks from our staff.

With Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#81 of 410 in Florence
832 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#75 of 410 in Florence
1,318 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#108 of 410 in Florence
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#68 of 410 in Florence
1,537 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#38 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 410 in Florence
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Faenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Faenza

Address: Via Faenza 77n, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £57 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Faenza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porta Faenza is situated in Via Faenza - one of the earliest medieval streets in Florence - near Porta Faenza, a gate in the fifteenth-century city walls. It was created in 1997 through the restoration and conversion of Palazzo Pegna, the old residence of a family of merchants, whose original structure has been kept intact. Porta Faenza was part of the city walls and was situated at the end of what is up till now called Via Faenza. It has been so called not for being placed towards the town in Emilia, but from the name of the Nuns from Faenza, who had their convent in the neighbourhood once. Between 1534 and 1537 Porta Faenza was joined to the Fortezza da Basso without being demolished: by watching attentively you can still distinguish its squared profile in the central bastion towards the city or its arch from the inside of the fortress. The Hotel will make you savour the warm atmosphere of the old-time Florentine houses: the tile floor, the exposed beams, the old tools scattered everywhere, together with all the comforts will make it your ideal home in the old Florence. The Hotel Porta Faenza is centrally located, very close to the main railway station (Santa Maria Novella), to Palazzo dei Congressi (the Conference Centre) and to the Fortezza da Basso. The most interesting monuments and museums in Florence are within easy walking distance. For being situated in a pedestrian precinct, the Hotel is a quiet and pleasant place, the ideal point of departure for you to discover Florence and its artistic and cultural life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porta Faenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Faenza Florence
Porta Faenza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing