We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - Great Location!”
Review of Porta Faenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Porta Faenza
Ranked #68 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul, MN
2 reviews
“Excellent hotel - Great Location!”
Reviewed 1 October 2009

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at Porta Faenza in August and were so impressed with the place, we can't wait to recommend it! Not only was the rate fantastic, but everything about the hotel and service exceeded our expectations. It's only a 5 min walk from the train station, the staff was always extremely friendly and ready to help and the hotel itself was darling. The included breakfast in the cute little breakfast room was a great way to start the day and the free internet was beyond convenient. Our room was spacious, clean and the air conditioning worked great (and it was upper 90s our entire stay). All of the major sights (Duomo, Ponte Veccio, etc.) were a short walk from the hotel. The San Lorenzo market is huge and only a couple blocks away. It was a great place to buy souveniers. Wish we would have purchased more there b/c they had great deals and better selection than Rome, Venice or Paris. Restaurant Nerone - just down the street was fantastic. Huge inside and great food - check it out! I booked this without having been to Italy before or really knowing what to look for and I would definitely stay again! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRMStPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortafaenza, proprietario at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, 5 October 2009
Dear sirs,

we are happy to have achieved our objective
and to have helped in making your stay in Florence, and in our Hotel, a memorial one!!!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    439
    78
    13
    7
See reviews for
195
512
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We spent 5 nights at the Hotel Porta Faenza in 2 stays. We had 2 different rooms for the 2 stays. One was larger than the other (though the price was the same). The smaller room was a little on the small size, though adequate for our needs, and the bigger room was very comfortable. The rooms were well fitted out and clean. Breakfast was good and the staff were very nice and very helpful. The location is close to the main Firenze Santa Maria Novella railway station, and is also good for exploring Florence on foot. Overall an excellent small hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortafaenza, proprietario at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, 5 October 2009
Dear sirs,

we are pleased that you enjoyed our Hospitality..
Please take into account that in a building dating back to the seventeen hundreds, each room has different dimension and it is for the reason that we have devided into two categories: economy( smaller) and Classic...
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We got a top of hotel room and terrace where we could sit and relax. That was a very nice touch.

Room was big with a safe. Had a nice large bathroom with tub (didn't use).

The only problem was that the cleaning lady left the window and open and guess who came to visit? Mr . Mosquito and his friends. That pretty much ruined our stay there b/c somehow they knew how to hide until you turned the light out. Very aggravating. I mean, all night, this guy.

Enzo and Nerone were great places to eat that we value oriented and a stones throw away.

Free umbrellas to rent. But man, the mosquitos!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ike301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortafaenza, proprietario at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, 5 October 2009
Dear Sirs,

we appreciated your comments and we are sorry,if for a mistake by our cleaning lady, your evening were spoiled in any way.
Fortunately the air conditioning system allows for a change of air whithout having to keep the
windows open,if not during cleaning time!!!
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

I stayed for one week using the hotel as my base for day trips because of the proximity to S.M.N. train station. The hotel is also close enough to the major attractions (10-15 min. walk). I was very satisfied with that situation. The hotel staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. The room I stayed in (103) was fine for one person. Two people may find it a bit cramped. The shower takes a bit getting used to with only the half glass screen. It's true the room has wireless but to receive the best signal sit in the lobby. Also the speed seems to vary which can be bothersome. Overall, for 120 U.S. per night I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chango7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Other than the location, which was close to the train station, this was an awful place to stay. Although the room was big the bed and pillow were both harder than rocks. The shower head was in the middle of the bidet and toilet with no fencing around it so you get everything wet. The water was hot one minute and then cold the next. Not even any kleenex in the room. The cost 160 Euros per night was the same cost as the four star Hotel Baglione. We stayed at Hotel Baglione in Rome and it was top notch and the service was fantastic. If this was 70 to 80 Euros, I can understand it but 160 Euros for this dump is ridiculous! I can not believe other reviews found this place to be a 4 to 5 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRAMMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortafaenza, proprietario at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, 22 September 2009
Dear sirs,
we are very sorry that you found our Hotel so uncomfortable.
From your description of the room, we imagine you must have stayed in 102.
This room does have a frescoed ceiling and large bathroom wich allows access to persons with handicaps. In fact the bathroom does not have a boxed-in shower, because it has to allow for eventual wheelchair user.
However there is also a bath in room.
We do sympathise with the problem you had with the hot/cold water supply. in the period you stayed with us we had hydraulic problems, which were quickly resolved in the following days.
with regards to the tariff you payed this is the
seasonal price and it is in line with other 3 star hotels in the city centre.
We are therefore both surprised and sorry to read your negative comments,as we try by every means itis for this reason that many people consider us a 4 or 5 star Hotel.

Thank you
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

The hotel was nice, as was the staff, but I am disappointed. I was overcharged when I checked out by $120.00 and am still waiting for my refund. (Since July). Although they seem happy to refund the money, I have still not received it. They also said wireless internet was available in all the rooms, which it is, you just can't connect to it. You have to go to the lobby to connect.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virden61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPortafaenza, proprietario at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, 7 September 2009
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that you have not yet received the reimbursement due to you, as our bank has already debit our account USD. 120,00 plus USD21,00 commission.
Unfortunately the bank made a mistake with
the co-ordinates and we do not know where this amount has gone....
We will reimburse you as quickly as possible.

With regard to the free wireless service,
we had a problem in that period with the intensity of the signal and this has now been
resolved.

We apologise one again
and thank you for the fact that ,notwithstandind these problems, you appreciated the hospitality our Hotel offer.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2009

This has been the best hotel in Europe for our many travels to the old continent. The receptionist are very friendly, efficient, and welcoming. The rooms and the public areas are very commodious and gracefully decorated. The breakfast was excellent and the location can not be better.The AC worked properly. The receptionist arranged all our resrvations to the main attractions swiftly and efficiently. Everything in this hotel works perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgeSalome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#58 of 411 in Florence
495 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#75 of 411 in Florence
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#88 of 411 in Florence
893 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#81 of 411 in Florence
1,119 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#73 of 411 in Florence
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Faenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Faenza

Property: Porta Faenza
Address: Via Faenza 77n, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#77 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Faenza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porta Faenza is situated in Via Faenza - one of the earliest medieval streets in Florence - near Porta Faenza, a gate in the fifteenth-century city walls. It was created in 1997 through the restoration and conversion of Palazzo Pegna, the old residence of a family of merchants, whose original structure has been kept intact. Porta Faenza was part of the city walls and was situated at the end of what is up till now called Via Faenza. It has been so called not for being placed towards the town in Emilia, but from the name of the Nuns from Faenza, who had their convent in the neighbourhood once. Between 1534 and 1537 Porta Faenza was joined to the Fortezza da Basso without being demolished: by watching attentively you can still distinguish its squared profile in the central bastion towards the city or its arch from the inside of the fortress. The Hotel will make you savour the warm atmosphere of the old-time Florentine houses: the tile floor, the exposed beams, the old tools scattered everywhere, together with all the comforts will make it your ideal home in the old Florence. The Hotel Porta Faenza is centrally located, very close to the main railway station (Santa Maria Novella), to Palazzo dei Congressi (the Conference Centre) and to the Fortezza da Basso. The most interesting monuments and museums in Florence are within easy walking distance. For being situated in a pedestrian precinct, the Hotel is a quiet and pleasant place, the ideal point of departure for you to discover Florence and its artistic and cultural life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Porta Faenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Faenza Florence
Porta Faenza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing