We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, lovely and great location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Ranked #55 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at La Scaletta in May 2012 during a month vacation in Italy. It was as absolutely wonderful place to stay and was in a great location.You will not need a car if you choose this location and the streets are so narrow that I would book one when leaving the city or to take the train out of the City. The Ponte Vecchio was about a two minute from the front door and all other major sights were a short walk away. However the Hotel did not feel touristy. The Staff were extremely friendly and professional and were always available to help. The room/bathroom was clean comfortable and the Hotel Terrace and it's view were really something special. WIFI was available at no to all Guests and was easily accessible and if you decided not to travel with a Tablet a Guest computer with Internet was available and free of charge. The Hotel provides a very reasonable breakfast for 7 euros and also provides dinner both of which you can enjoy in the Hotel Dining Room or I would highly recommend to enjoy it on the roof top terrace. There are lots of bakeries, cafes and restaurants right outside your door if you don't want to choose to eat at La Scalletta.. Regarding reviews about the Elevator, yes it is small due to the age of the building and the need to maintain it's historical heritage. The Elevation is quite quick and large enough for both my husband and myself to fit at the same time but we did have to ride solo with our luggage; This only took a couple of minutes.. Don't let this prevent you from staying here, it truly is not an issue. Florence is an amazing place to stay and this Hotel truly captures the wonderful feel of this City. Book and have a wonderful Italian experience.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue, ask to book a room on the same floor at Reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

How!
I want to stay in this hotel!
This is really nice, thanks for choosing us and for such a nice comment to our hotel
"...Florence is an amazing place to stay and this hotel truly captures the wonderful feel of this City...." (this is what I love more)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed at La Scaletta June of 2012. Nice spacoius room. Air conditioning worked..not always the case. The rooftop dining area has an amazing view of the city, the location is perfect, and the staff was the best we encountered in our three week travel across Europe. Sylvia at the front counter helped me arrange parking ..especially nice after my 115.00 euro ticket in Cinque Terra :)...and also found conditioner for my wife....but my favorite was Christine, who was always ready too grab me a bucket of ice for my evening Gin & Tonic.....thanks..your a dear....We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mlrtyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

We are always happy when they say that we work well because everyone wants to feel good going on vacation and returned home thinking he had spent his money well
Many thanks and greetings from Sylvia and Cristina ... to the next Gin Tonic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed 8 days in Florence. Everything was special about Hotel La Scaletta: location (very close to Palazzo Pitti on the left and Ponte Vecchio on the right from where you can walk to several main sights); spacious rooms (fridge, tv, air cond.); for 7.00 euros you a have a good breakfast with some options (fresh fruits, corn flakes/granola, bread, eggs...); the restaurant: good food for very reasonable price; a charming terrace with WONDERFUL view!! What else?! Ahh, the staff...ADORABLE Sara - the manager, Natalia, Cristina, Monica, Eduard...they all did the maximum to make our stay the most enjoyable possible!!! That's exactly the way I think we should be taken care of when visiting other countries! It was a very pleasant stay!! I have no doubt about going back to Florence 'cause I left my heart there! And no doubt about staying at Hotel La Scaletta because I like to be well treated and they did it with a lof of competence!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osmarina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Good evening Osmarina and thank you for the beautiful review
References to people known and who work at the Hotel la Scaletta are always greatly appreciated! (sure I shall be asked a salary increase ......)
We were also very pleased to welcome you and we hope you will return to Florence soon as it is where you left your heart ... In fact they say: "Saudade de Florença"?!?...oh no that's another thing
Also hello from Andrea ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the La Scaletta hotel in early June 2012 and we had very pleasant experience there. The hotel is conveniently located close to the center (minutes’ walk to the Boboli garden and the Ponte Vecchio) and we were very pleased with the overall service and hospitality of staff.
The hotel has a lovely terrace with a magnificent view to Florence and you can enjoy your breakfast there. Highly recommend for stay. Good combination of quality and price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

We appreciate your compliments
Thanks for being with us, we are all very happy to have been for a few days at your disposal and helping to make your vacation more enjoyable
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

La Scaletta is a short walk from the Ponte Vecchio, which means you are in a great position to explore all the main sights of Florence right from your doorstep - if on foot, it does mean a 20 minute walk through the crowds from the Santa Maria Novella station, but it's a good way for a first time visitor to acclimatise to the city!

On arrival, there is the option of 97 steps to the hotel or the aforementioned lift which can only take 2 people at a time (and is a squeeze with luggage). Whilst most people may complain about this, I found it just added to the charm - we always used the stairs on the way down anyway. The girl behind reception was extremely pleasant, checked all our details and informed us our rooms were ready even though we were early - she talked us through the hotel information then took us to our rooms.

The rooms were beautiful, big and well appointed with a large comfortable bed and enormous bathroom. Our particular one was room 34 on the same floor as reception, our friends were down a rabbit warren of stairs and corridors which had loads of character and again an excellent room - the receptionist remarked "I think you have two of the best rooms!" - which whether true or not, always makes you feel good! There was air con, TV (which we never turn on) and a fridge which had a complimentary bottle of still and sparkling water inside.

We were encouraged to check out the roof terrace.... WOW! Worth staying here for alone, views of the gardens and then up the next level for some great 360 degree views of the city. We made our way back to have a drink in the bar on the first night just to take in the views. Note that the bar is only open until around 11:30 and they expect you to vacate the terrace by midnight (we made it until a little later before the lights went out) - but this is no real inconvenience.

Had the breakfast one day which was good - not the best ever but it set us up for the day. Didn't try the restaurant so cannot comment on that unfortunately - although the Golden View open bar is only around the corner if you want a beautiful meal with a specialised Seafood slant.

All in all, excellent value for money, real charm and a feeling of decadence with the terrace. Good communication before our trip also, reconfirming our booking a couple of weeks before. It's fair to say that we probably wouldn't stay anywhere else in Florence now.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tom2burn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thanks a lot
I do not think I could do better myself, to make propaganda at my hotel
The best propaganda is a clientele satisfied
I'm glad someone appreciates even the elevator "small"
Dear customer ... I can only advise you to try our restaurant, when you will come back to Florence!
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here in May 2012. The staff was very welcoming and helpful.
The elevator is an issue because only 2 people can fit, so the wait can be
very long. The alternative is the stairs to reception, but after a day of walking and climbing,
this is not the most enticing option.
Also, the room we had required going down another 2 flights of stairs, and the climbing up the same stairs, whenever we wanted to leave the hotel, or go for breakfast, or to the roof
The room was very nice, but I found the bed too hard.
The rooftop bar and view are really nice, and the location of the hotel is great. Easy access
to the historic center and many places to eat and shop within a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falcofa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

As is our usual start by thanking our guests who have chosen "Hotel la Scaletta" for their holidays in Florence. We are always ready to listen to the advice of our customers to always improve ourselves, our behaviors and our structure.
The hotel is unfortunately (or fortunately) located in a building that is in the list drawn up in 1901 by the Directorate General of Antiquities and Fine Arts as monumental building to be considered national artistic heritage.
The name of the hotel (The Ladder) suggests the presence of stairs (and luck: a small lift) ...
Thank you to give us that opportunity to improve more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have stayed 4 nights at La Scaletta, Florence. It was a highlight in our Italy tour. The hotel is central to most of the important sites and literally neighboring the pitty palace and the Boboli gardens. The rooftop restaurant and bar panoramic view is breathtaking, a 360 view of Florence with a really close-up of the Boboli gardens.
Most rooms are accessed only by a set of stairs, so this is point to take in consideration if stairs are a problem. The room we stayed was really big and confortable, the furniture is antique fitting perfectly this 600 years old historic building, but perfectly mantained and spotless clean. Free wifi all over the place, from our room to the terrace bar, La Scalletta is bridging really well from the XV century to the XXI tech age. The breakfast is great and the staff is a chapter in its own: every one in the staff was really, really friendly, the girls at the front desk, at the breakfast room, every one, never had less than a warm smile to receive us. If everything was already great about this hotel, the staff makes it go over the top, we even got a farewell treat: a bottle of excellent local (TUSCANY FOLKS!!) wine especially labled for the hotel. We also met one of the owners who came to ask us, at the rooftop bar, if the new internet hotspot was working ok, and engaged in a nice chat.
All we can say is thank you, La Scaletta for making our Florence stay an even more fabulous one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger_dsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falcofa, Proprietario at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

What can I say? Just thank you, thank you very much to you and those like you who appreciate our hotel and our daily work. We only try to do our best to not regret the money spent in our hotel and in our beautiful city that is Florence.
My Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 410 in Florence
2,276 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Hotel La Fortezza
#62 of 410 in Florence
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,836 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#88 of 410 in Florence
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Address: Via Guicciardini 13, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £59 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Hotel with character, where paying attention to your every need, and the desire to make you happy, is not just our work, but our very real pleasure. For us, clients are never just 'numbers', but real people who we want to feel special, because your satisfaction is the greatest gift we could receive. There are many reasons to travel, but that which makes every trip truly special are the emotions that it evokes, which become the souvenir that you carry forever in your heart, not just of the fantastic places you have visited, but also of the people, who in their own small way have contributed to making every moment perfect and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing