We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
San Firenze Suites & Spa(Florence)
US$543
US$527
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$765
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Florence Metropole(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$150
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$451
US$361
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$1,288
US$1,114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
US$869
US$737
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$454
US$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hermitage(Florence)
US$290
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Cora(Florence)
US$621
US$590
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,485)
Filter reviews
1,485 results
Traveller rating
861
478
87
35
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
861
478
87
35
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboboli gardenspitti palacerooftop terraceponte vecchiogreat locationsmall elevatorthird flooryour luggagefamily roomexploring florencecharming hoteljunior suitegelatoroom was largemajor sitesloved this hotelold building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
605 - 610 of 1,485 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Brilliant location, ideal for ALL attractions.
I advise using their car parking service, €25 per day but well worth it to drop car off so close to hotel.
Breakfast was also top notch with plenty of choice including loads of pastries, bread, cereal, scrambled eggs, sausages and fried Parma ham. Everything you would want to set you up for a day sight seeing.

Room Tip: We had room 20, which was quite spacious and with a restricted view of the Bobolink gardens but still quite nice.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustHJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Mr. J.,
thanks! It has been a pleasure welcome you in our Hotel.
We’ll improve our coffee so next time you’ll tell us if it’s better.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

..just don't get an economy double! We arrived having chosen the economy option and the room had a small high window with little light and was quite stuffy. We changed to a family room, old
style, then a superior room, new style. The family room was very large with plenty of character. The superior room was very modern but done in a warm comfortable way. Both these rooms were great overall. The location is excellent and view from the terrace superb.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fribble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Mr. F.,
Thank you so much! We remind that you didn't like the room that you booked but luckly we found another solution and everything has been fine.
You saw also both our rooms style classic and modern one =)
We hope to welcome you back in the future, you'll know perfectly which room you'd like to have.
See you next time.
All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for three nights in June in a superior room on the second floor (one down from the reception/restaurant area). There are quite a few steps up from the ground level but there is a small lift which is can fit two people plus baggage. We found the room very comfortable and modern and was kept very clean. It gave us a very good night's sleep - you wouldn't realise you were right in the middle of Florence. We should mention that the bathroom was really modern as well with a huge shower head.

The location of this hotel is the big drawcard for this hotel, as other reviewers have mentioned, it is about 100m from Ponte Vecchio on the south side of the Arno river so it'se very close to the major sites like the Uffizi, the Pitti Palace, Boboli Gardens etc.

The only real negative we had was on the service side of things. We had a particularly bad experience in the restaurant one evening. We had made a reservation for what was supposed to be a second sitting at 9.30 out on the terrace - firstly no one even checked that we had a reservation and following that we struggled to get any service at all. Drinks took a long time to arrive and but things didn't really improve after our order for food was taken - at one point our waiter tried to collect our cutlery, asking if we had enjoyed our meal, long before we even received any food! (our order was apparently lost in the kitchen somewhere). When our food eventually did arrive some time after 11pm i must say we didn't really enjoy it but that could have been due to the fact our appetite was gone by that time.

Overall, as a hotel i think it is great value and a good place to base yourself for exploring Florence but i would choose one of the many beautiful restaurants in this city before dining here.

Room Tip: We had a very modern and comfortable superior room so i would recommend that or better.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank al_riddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Mr. A.,
Thanks! We really appreciate your review, there's always something to improve and we'll improve our Restaurant so next time that we hope to welcome you in our Hotel if you'd like you'll try again and tell us if it's better than this time.
In case it wouldn't We'll offer you the dinner.
All the best and see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We were in the Uffize wing. The thing that hits you is the size of the suites, almost like a small apartment in Europe.
Big thanks to all the staff specially, Sylvia made us feel very welcome.
In the heart of florence, 100 m from the Ponte Vecchio bridge and walking distance to most museums.

Room Tip: Suites are named by colour, brown, blue etc.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sadatmehdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Mr. S.,
thank you so much for your kind words. It has been a pleasure to welcome you in our Hotel and Silvia would like to thank you as well ans tell you: Ci vediamo la prossima volta! - See you next time!!!.
All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel to celebrate our 31st wedding anniversary on the 10th June, we had requested and nice room with a view at the back of the hotel, we weren't disappointed they fulfilled our every request and I would like to say a Big thank you for providing us with a beautiful room over looking the Boboli gardens and the Pitti palace...... Breakfast was suffice and the view from the rooftop terrace was like a picture postcard with the peel of the local church bells ringing it was true Italy! We would definitely recommend this hotel the location was perfect, it was within easy walking distance to most tourist attractions......
One little warning there are 92 steps up to reception but ,there is also a small lift so don't be put of!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandyhitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Dear Mrs. S.,
Thanks you so much for your nice words!
It’s such a pleasure to hear that our Hotel didn’t disappoint you and that you found a part of real Italy in it.
We hope to welcome you back in the future!
All the best !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews