We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Ranked #48 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel is near everything: Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Pitti and the old center on the other side of the river. Our room was big, with a big bed and a tile floor which did not look 100% clean, but the receptionist kindly asked the chambermaid to clean it for us. The room had old painted furniture, but missed a writing desk and a safe. The lift is small but we could manage. We appreciated the free wifi and the kind staff. The breakfast was great and plentiful with good choice of everything. We were told that the rooms will be refurbished so we can recommend the hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorka274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. D.,
Thank you for the kind review. Yes the works to renovate the rooms already began and will end in March 2014.
We really hope to welcome you again the future and we wish you
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    420
    78
    32
    19
See reviews for
281
676
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is very close to Ponte Vecchio, and walking distance to the Duomo, Galeria Academia and the staff was helpful in obtaining information and transportation for us, but I really did not appreciate that there were far too many stairs. One has to go up, and down, and up again to get to the room. In between the many stair trips, you ride an old-style elevator that can only take 2 persons at a time. An option is to use the stairs all the way up to the reception area which consists of 97 steps. On our last morning, it rained and there was a leak coming in from the wall. The staff had to put a towel to stop the leak from seeping into the bedroom. Some rooms are already renovated but some are still old.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly - renovated room. The staff was apologetic about the old room we had (while our othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_RTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Mrs. R.,
Thanks for your review. Stairs are the caractheristics of our Hotel as written in many review we can't change the nature of our Hotel because it's located in a XV century palace and also for this reason lift is small and can fit only 2 people...better than walk up and down the 97 steps everytime....
Anyway next monday we'll start to restore the "old" rooms of the Hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the future to show you the differences.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is the most lovely, hidden hotel in an old apartment building in the centre of Firenze. A few metres from the Ponte Vecchio. You might walk past it if you were not paying attention. A few metres from the Pitti Palace and gardens. The views from the bar are breath taking. Price was affordable and rooms of a really good standard. Staff are really lovely and fluent in English. One of my family had lost their phone on the train and the staff did all they could to help her get it back. Plus free wifi in the rooms which was invaluable

Room Tip: we went for a superior room, which appears to have been recently renovated, but still in keeping wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Mrs. P. and M. Family,
Thanks so much for the nice review! It has been a plesure to welcome you in our Hotel and we are really happy that everything has been perfect also because you trvelled for a special occasion.
Hope to see you again soon.
All the best to you and all your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Last time we were in Florence we stayed at the Hotel Gallery Art, which was a very modern and nice hotel but pricey. This time I stumbled on the Hotel La Scaletta through a TripAdvisor review. OMG! It was wonderful. It is on the same street as Ponte Vecchio on the Oltrano side where all of our favorite restaurants are, so we were very pleased. The room we had wwas just as nice as the Gallery Art one at a much better value. The bathroom was huge and the hospitality was fantastic. We did not eat in the restaurant but the terrace bar was a big bonus. I especially loved the little elevator - mainly because there were a million stairs and the layout of the property is kind of convoluted. It was a great experience and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one as close to the ground floor as possible. We were in room 42 - I'm not sure if ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach_babe2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Mrs. B.,
Thank you for the kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and we wish to see you again in the future.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Hotel La Scaletta is just over the Ponte Vecchio and thus is in a great location. The room was quite nice and had a view of the street, and the rooftop bar had a fabulous view of Florence.

The only thing to make note of, especially for the mobility challenged, is the stairs. There is a small lift to reception on the "second" floor - actually the fourth or fifth, but some of the rooms, including ours, could be reached only by descending two flights of stairs from there (which has the only elevator access) and up another half flight. Otherwise, it was fine.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, ask where your room is in relation to the reception, which is the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanbobean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. J.,
Thank you for the nice review! We know go up and down the stairs is “a good exercise” but if you ask at for a room on the same level of the reception stairs will be not a problem.
Hope to welcome you again.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

From start to finish we had a great experience! The hotel is centrally located (less than a block from the Pitti Palace) and we were able to walk everywhere. The outdoor dinning with scenic views (two levels) was fantastic. The rooms were spacious (we had three beds ) and the beds were very comfortable. Great place and a wonderful experience with a great staff!
October 2013

Room Tip: Our rooms faced the courtyard and it was quiet but no view - ask ahead just to make sure the correct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Mrs. B.,
Thanks so much! It has been a pleasure welcome you in our Hotel and we look forward to welcome you again in the future!
All the best!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed in the Brown Room in the Uffizi guest rooms. We loved the huge room, bed, sitting area and bathroom. The lighting in the bathroom was a bit dim and the one in the shower did not work but it wasn't a problem. We would recommend you putting a wall mirror up somewhere in the living area. I-pod dock and speakers in the walls were very much appreciated. We didn't really watch any TV but it was a nice big one with very good picture. There was no view from the room but it didn't really matter as the views from the roof terraces overlooking beautiful Florence we're stunning - you really should promote this aspect of the hotel more. We had lunch soon after we arrived - the pasta with mushroom and truffle flavour was delicious. The service was a little slow but we just enjoyed relaxing on the roof terrace. Reception staff very pleasant and welcoming.
Overall we had a memorable, very comfortable stay - it wasn't cheap but all considered we were glad we paid the extra than originally intended for our fabulous time in a great city.

Room Tip: We loved the whole modern style in the Brown Room of the Uffizi suites. Don't know what the La S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Mr. G.,

thank you for the kind review and thanks for the suggestions we’ll change the lights in the rooms to let them be more light full and I agree with you a big mirror is useful in particular for women.
Glad that you enjoyed the restaurant, breakfast, terraces, room and staff and we hope to see you again.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Property: Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Address: Via Guicciardini 13, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Hotel with character, where paying attention to your every need, and the desire to make you happy, is not just our work, but our very real pleasure. For us, clients are never just 'numbers', but real people who we want to feel special, because your satisfaction is the greatest gift we could receive. There are many reasons to travel, but that which makes every trip truly special are the emotions that it evokes, which become the souvenir that you carry forever in your heart, not just of the fantastic places you have visited, but also of the people, who in their own small way have contributed to making every moment perfect and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing