We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location. Simple, clean rooms. Nice views.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Ranked #48 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice location. Simple, clean rooms. Nice views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Best things about this hotel: great location, quiet, clean, breakfast on the roof with stellar views of Boboli Gardens. We hired a great personal guide for a few hours who took us to little craft/jewelry workshops in the neighborhood. So nice to get off the main tourist route for a while.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Mrs. J.,

Thanks for the nice review! We hope that you'll be back to our Hotel and that next stay will be really perfect.
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    420
    78
    32
    19
See reviews for
281
675
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stayed at La Scaletta 3 times in the past 10 years, and each time seems to be better than the last. The room rate is very fair, the breakfast is good, and the staff could not me more friendly and helpful. We visited recently in the off season and were lucky to get one of the newly renovated rooms. It was beautifully laid out, had a nice view of the courtyard, and had modern fixtures in the bath with a huge shower. Our stays at La Scaletta have helped to make Florence our favorite city to visit in Italy. Thank you La Scaletta and its wonderful staff.

Room Tip: The newly renovated rooms are great, but the no one would be disappointed with one of the older room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank korbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mr. K,

Thanks so much much for the kind review! All the staff send you a big hug and hope to welcome you back in the next future. We're glad that you enjoyed the renovated rooms and Florence is honored to be your favorite city in Italy.
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at La Scaletta. The most striking thing about our room was the incredibly picturesque view from our open windows out on the Boboli Gardens with the lovely Kaffeehaus in direct view. And best of all, our very comfy bed is positioned so you can look out at that view directly out at that view from bed.

Pros: Extremely clean, modern furnishings, comfortable linens, wonderful bathroom, charming roof deck that overlooks the Florence rooftops, incredibly convenient location that's also a little bit away from the crowds, and a great value.

Cons: Our wi-fi was very spotty during our stay which made life a bit difficult since we were using it to keep up with things back home using our wi-fi connected devices. The staff did try to reset the router to hopefully improve the performance, but it never quite worked well. (FYI - there is also citywide wi-fi available in major spots around town, which we used a bit.) Otherwise, very small nitpicky things like the 2-person-limit elevator was a bit challenging.

Would absolutely stay here again, especially if I can get that lovely view again!

Room Tip: Book a view overlooking the Boboli Gardens in the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acardwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Mr. A.,

Thanks so much for the kind review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and the view from your room.
We are fixing the wi-fi connection to make it perfect.
Hope to welcome you next time we wish you All the Best!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel staff is attentive and friendly. The location can simply not be beat, including the roof top terrace. Many restaurants, bars, cafes in the immediate vicinity, and all of the sites, minor and major, are nearby. Food is excellent. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Mr. C.,

Thanks very much for the kind review and for the postcard that we received today! =) A nice touch!
We really hope to welcome you again in the future!
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villette-d'Anthon, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Location : Perfect just 2 min walk from Ponte Vecchio! a great spot for visiting Florence!
Hotel room : we booked a standard room and the room was very cleaned , well disposed with nice bathroom! With a prosecco offered on arrival in the room !! so great!!

The hotel has a terrasse where u can have an amazing view of the town!!

Staff was very polite and helpful!

One bad point was the wifi! I dont know if it works everywhere but in our room, wifi was not working! The room was a bit far from the reception so...
Couldnt sleep well because of maintenance and workers down the window!

But overall we really enoyed our stay and we will rcommend it for couples for ex!!

Stay End of march 2014

Room Tip: Room 44 : no wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANCOIS m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Mr. F.,

Thanks for the nice and kind review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
To improve our Hotel we are doing some works and we are sorry if the noises didn't give you the possibility to sleep longer, for this reason we hope that you'll back anyway to our Hotel so we'll drink a glass of wine on the terraces next time.
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel La Scaletta. The hotel offers great service, friendly helpful staff, adequate rooms, all for a great price! The hotel has beautiful roof top terrace views overlooking the Boboli Gardens and 360' views of the city. The hotel is located close to the Old Bridge and is a short walk to all major attractions. They offer a fabulous breakfast buffet, free on your first morning. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsftlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Mr./Mrs. N.,

Thanks so much for the kind review and we are happy that you enjyed your stay in our Hotel.
we really hope that you'll be back to our Hotel again if you'll be back to Florence and we hope that your next stay will be a "5 stars" one.
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Me and my Wife travelled to Florence for our first wedding anniversary and booked this hotel. It was a beautfiul hotel in a fantastic location near the Ponte Vecchio and all major sights are within a 15 minute walk, it was very clean and we recieved great service from the staff.

Breakfast was good and cheap compared to what you will have to pay outside of the hotel and the room we stayed in (number 45) was lovely and modern and overlooked the Boboli Gardens.

Id certainly recommend this to anyone looking to stay close to the centre of Florence and who wants all the above as well as a great hotel for a great price.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 40's are in the modern side of the hotel and have a very contemporary style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Mr. A.,

Thanks so much for the kind review and for the time used to write it.
Customer satisfaction is our goal and hear nice and kind words as you wrote us it's a big pleasure.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#49 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Property: Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Address: Via Guicciardini 13, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Hotel with character, where paying attention to your every need, and the desire to make you happy, is not just our work, but our very real pleasure. For us, clients are never just 'numbers', but real people who we want to feel special, because your satisfaction is the greatest gift we could receive. There are many reasons to travel, but that which makes every trip truly special are the emotions that it evokes, which become the souvenir that you carry forever in your heart, not just of the fantastic places you have visited, but also of the people, who in their own small way have contributed to making every moment perfect and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing