We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panoramic views over the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Ranked #54 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Panoramic views over the city”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place, we found this on our last day in Florence after leaving our apartment and wandering along the river whilst biding our time before getting our train to Bologna. The restaurant is on the roof terrace and what a view!! The food's not bad either!! A non-alcoholic cocktail to start followed by a primi of pasta. Then entrecôte and scaloppine with mixed salad and vegetables. Very reasonable prices, no room for dessert!! If we were staying longer then maybe we would have tried the dinner on the top terrace.
Recommend even if you don't stay at the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BasiaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Mr.,

Thanks for the nice review. We're glad that you enjoyed dinner on our restaurant and we hope that next time that you'll be in Florence you'll stay with us too.
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    431
    82
    32
    19
See reviews for
284
703
43
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I chose La Scaletta over some others hotels in the same price range because of it's location. It is just a couple of minutes walk to the Ponte Vecchio in one direction and a couple of minutes to Pitti Palace in the other direction. It's just far enough from the Ponte Vecchio where you escape all the congestion. Easy walking distance to all of the historic sites (10-15 minutes). Beautiful 360 degree views from the rooftop terrace. I stayed in 2 different rooms over my 4 night stay due to availability issues. The first room was an economy double (room 31). The room was clean, older furnishings, bathroom was small, but beautifully tiled. The last night of my stay was in a standard double (room 41) and it was a LOT nicer and very modern with a beautiful view of Boboli Gardens. I wish that it had been available earlier in my stay. Being a solo female traveler with a big suitcase, I felt like I did a lot of research on this hotel before booking and I was prepared for the stairs getting to the elevator, but they really don't end there. There is a flight of stairs from the lobby area down to room 31, to room 41, to access the rooftop deck, etc. Luckily, there was a porter to help with my bag after reaching the lobby. The refrigerator in the room is nice and it had a water and diet coke in it. After asking the price at the front desk, they said it was complimentary. It would have been nice to know this at check-in. Breakfast was adequate. Air conditioning was wonderful! Wi-fi didn't work well on the first day, but seemed to do better later in the week.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for one of the remodeled rooms - it's worth it! If you have mobility issues, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woohoo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Mrs.,

Thanks so much for the kind review. We're glad that you enjoyed the standard room, we know that economy is smaller and for this reason has a different rate.
Hope to welcome you again in the future.
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This interesting hotel was very modern and clean. It is in an excellent location just south of the Ponte Vecchio and north of the Pitti Palace. In fact the Palace and Boboli Gardens can be seen from the nice terrace on the upper floor. Very helpful and friendly staff. Recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JMHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mr. H.,

Thank you very much for the review and for the time used to write it.
It's great hear your kind words.
Hope to welcome you again in the future we wish you all the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you're looking for a hotel that's in the middle of it all, pick this place! It's literally next door to Pitti Palace, and a stone's throw away to the Ponte Vecchio. The Only downside is if you are driving a car, it's very hard to get through the crowds.

As the name suggests, there are plenty of stairs so it will be quite difficult to carry luggage. But you will fall in love with the charm of the rooms. Also, we've experienced "medieval visitors" so it's a very interesting place to stay in. ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xross14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mr. R.,

thanks so much for the kind review! We understand that it's not easy to reach us by car but following the directions that we write in the booking confirmation it'll be easier =)
It has been a pleasure welcome you in our Hotel and we look forward to welcome you again in the future.
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stay for two nights and we are very happy we chose this hotel. The room was spacious, clean and with plenty of light. Hotel's location is very good and its open air dining space on its roof offers a great sight of Florence. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanjsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Mr. J.,

Thanks so much for the kind review and for the time used to write!
Really look forward to welcome you again in the future.
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Location, location, location. La Scaletta is perfect when it comes to location, just one block from the Ponte Vecchio . Service is excellent. The rooms are nice. Our bathroom was a bit smelly, but all in all we had a great experience. Dinner at the restaurant on the rooftop is highly recommended. Same goes for breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PanchoRavecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Mr. P.,

Thank you so much for the nice review. Great that you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you again next time that you'll be in Florence we wish you
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked 2 luxury rooms in this hotel and were given the the Blue room and the Brown room. The rooms are spacious and have pretty much everything you need.
The hotel has lots of character and is in a brilliant location, in that it is very close to the major sites, but is quiet.
We had breakfast included in the price which was fine and the views from the terrace are beautiful: they overlook the Boboli Gardens. The rooftop terrace is small and I would advise you to book but it is well worth it. There is a minimum charge of 50 euros per per person but you are paying for the view as well for the lovely food.
The staff are friendly and helpful and we were very impressed with the service in the breakfast room/ bar/ restaurant. If we ever return to Florence, we will be back!

Room Tip: We had rooms facing the courtyard and they were very quiet. I would imagine this would also be the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank time2fly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Mr.&Mrs.,

Thanks so much of rate kind review and for the used to write it.
All the staff send you a big "Ciao!.
See you next time.
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 422 in Florence
2,026 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 422 in Florence
1,729 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
774 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Property: Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Address: Via Guicciardini 13, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Hotel with character, where paying attention to your every need, and the desire to make you happy, is not just our work, but our very real pleasure. For us, clients are never just 'numbers', but real people who we want to feel special, because your satisfaction is the greatest gift we could receive. There are many reasons to travel, but that which makes every trip truly special are the emotions that it evokes, which become the souvenir that you carry forever in your heart, not just of the fantastic places you have visited, but also of the people, who in their own small way have contributed to making every moment perfect and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing