We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run hotel!”
Review of Hotel Nuova Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nuova Italia
Ranked #98 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location, only a short walk from the Duomo and at most 20-30mins walk from the sights of this beautiful city. The hotel is easy to find, being only a short walk from the SMN train station was a great bonus for us. It's family run and that comes across in the service you receive. Breakfast was of a high quality, featuring pastries, cereal and yogurts as well as fruit and juice. If we do return we we be considering staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munquinight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nuova Italia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is a 2 star hotel that is better than several three star hotels we have stayed in Orvieto and Rome. We usually stay in 3 and 4 star hotels so we entered with some trepidation. It is not a fancy hotel by any means but the room is large and very clean. It has been recently renovated with new carpet, paint, and bath upgrades. The bathroom is small and has a rather unusual shower that involves two glass walls mounted against a tiled corner, with a floor drain. One of the glass walls is a double swinging door to enter. As a previous reviewer noted, I initially had trouble with the floor drain. However, after telling the front desk of my problem, the drain worked fine. The air conditioning is strong, but the controls are at the front desk. Our room faces and interior courtyard as is relatively quiet. The hotel sits within a pedestrian only zone, so difficult to get to by car, but the front rooms also should be quiet. We had a rental car that we had to drop off 5 blocks from the train station and walk in with our bags. We could have taken a taxi as they can enter the pedestrian zone. It is located about two blocks from the main train station.The beds are of adequate comfort. The window are screened The breakfast includes rolls, croissants, yogurt, a cake or torte, cereal, fruit, with a coffee/espresso/cappuccino bar and is quite good. Nothing fancy, but very good quality. An excellent economy choice for a budget traveler. If you do stay, try the Trattoria La Burrasca, which is three blocks away as an excellent less expensive (15 Euro/person) dining option. Florence restaurants are expensive! There are also two dollar stores, a coin laundry, and a small market within a block of the hotel. The flat screen TV is limited to CNN and MTV for English language choices. The prices reflect a 2 star hotel. Due to the higher quality than rated, I awarded 5 bubbles. The previous reviews are correct about this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This was my fifth time staying in Nuova Italia, with the charming Viti family. My husband and I spent our honeymoon here a quarter of a century ago, when Grandmother Viti was in charge. Now her son Luciano and granddaughter Daniella are here to greet me in the mornings. This hotel would be rated as a three star hotel if the lobby had more square footage (yes, really--a tecnicality). The location is perfect for someone who travels all over Italy with public transportation and a backpack. It is only a five minute walk from the main train station, and less than that to the Duomo and other main sites of interest in Florence. No elevator, but there are ground floor rooms if needed. The knowledgeable (and fluent with English) Viti family members can assist with planning your day, and the place is spotlessly clean. Reception is attended 24 hours. The street in front of the hotel is a pedestrian enclave, so no exhaust fumes or horns. There are rooms as quiet as a cloister in the rear if you need complete serenity. My single room at the front of the hotel was very comfortable, this time. There was a full screen at the window, a rarity in Italy, so no mosquitoes as a consequence of the fresh air I love. There are two excellent restaurants, one right across the street and the other just around the corner. A highlight for someone who LOVES farmers/produce markets is the beautiful old building housing the central produce market just a block away, where picnic materials and specialty items can be sampled and purchased. It is a marvel, a showcase of regional food production. Great hotel, great location. Wonderful family. I will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Constance P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

İ heard so many great reviews on this hotel,not just here but other sites like booking and etc. İ booked it then and there.Then when i arrived at santa maria novella the very first time, The hotel was only 5-10 minutes walk away,on a nice street.When i checked in,i was greeted with the most friendly staff.When i saw the room everything was ok,nothing special but average.Everything was clean the bed,bathroom and etc.The breakfast was nice plenty of cereal,cakes and yogurts.The hotel was in a fantastic location just around the corner from the duomo and from there you can reach everything else by foot such as palazzo vecchio,ponte vecchio and etc. İ really did love this hotel, it`s such great value for money.When i was leaving the staff told me to sit down to have my last breakfast.No extra charge,again they are such nice people. When i come back to florence, i am 100% staying here again:)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamer748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

A very good family hotel. Situated near the St.Maria Central Station very close to the Duomo and all historical sites. Very beautiful inside. Very good and rich breakfasts. Perfect rooms - comfortable and well designed. Kind and smart staff, very helpful. And a very good price for all these facilities. I reccomend this hotel to everybody!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MilaMosca_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We (family of 4) stayed here for one night and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel. The staff we great, especially Daniella at the front desk. We had Room 25 on the second floor and all of us we in the one room. The beds were comfortable and the free wi-fi was very good. The Internet did drop out once and the Daniella did her best to fixed the problem promptly. We enjoyed the breakfast, with nice coffee and juices available. There was also a choice of cereal or muesli, yogurts and croissants. The location was superb, being very close to the main central station and equally as close to the main attractions. We felt safe, as there was a 24 hour reception. On the downside, there was no fridge or safe in the room. Nor was there an elevator.
Yes, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The rooms were clean and functional. The breakfast was simple but nice and they offered to make each coffee individually, so we could have what ever we would like. It is located just a brief walk from most of the major sites in Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#96 of 411 in Florence
905 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#70 of 411 in Florence
1,037 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#85 of 411 in Florence
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#61 of 411 in Florence
502 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#127 of 411 in Florence
454 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#92 of 411 in Florence
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nuova Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nuova Italia

Address: Via Faenza 26, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#69 Business Hotel in Florence
#72 Family Hotel in Florence
#132 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £49 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nuova Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic location within walking distance from train station, all museums and sights. Shopping is at hand. All rooms with new bathrooms with hairdryers, air conditioned, sat-TV, telephone. As part of our services we make museums and tour reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Nuova Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuova Italia Florence
Nuova Italia Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing