We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Use the word 'hotel' loosely. More of an overpriced hostel....”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Losanna

Albergo Losanna
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Losanna
Ranked #354 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Southampton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Use the word 'hotel' loosely. More of an overpriced hostel....”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I want to start this off by saying, the lady who runs the hotel is a lovely lady, very friendly and sweet but speaks no word of English. So don't book unless you speak (at the very least) basic Italian.

Other than the owner, this was without a doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We booked having read reviews, knowing full well it would be on a budget, as that was what we were aiming for. The website's professional photos make it look lovely - so of course, we booked!

On arrival, we entered into what I later described as a 'prison' type lobby - dark and dingy. The lady was very polite and helpful (although no words were spoken, she came across as well mannered!) and showed us to our room; we had paid for an 'en-suite'. Luckily we didn't have to share with the other guests...

Our room was adequately sized, and the bed was reasonable. The bathroom was simply a toilet and sink and a wet room style shower with a wooden palette to stand on. The towels were large tablecloths. The room itself was very run down and could have done with an extra lick of paint at the very least. No view out of our window in room 3.

Now the worst bits - we had swarms of flying ants, and mosquito's invade our room. We booked to stay here three nights. On night one, we found the source of the flying ants - the plug hole. So we put the plastic cup provided in the bathroom, on top of this. Whenever it was moved, there were several underneath, which wasn't a nice experience!! On night three, we had the window open due to the heat, and I heard a mosquito buzzing round my head, which is a massive nuisance! My other half got up and killed what he thought was the only one, but we ended up smushing about 50 all over the walls/bed over the course of a couple of hours - leaving what we could only describe as a mosquito blood massacre all over the room. Who know what the lovely lady thought of us on our departure!

I don't know if I have high standards, or if this truely is terrible - I would only recommend this to backpackers, however, even on a traveller's standards, this is very overpriced for what it is.

Having said that, the location is great. We managed to get into town and Saint Maria Novella station within 20 mins, so it is amazing for that...!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineFlowerYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    15
    11
    7
See reviews for
3
23
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The old lady at the reception didn't speak English..........
From the time we got in the hotel, we didn't feel comfortable. It looks like more like an empty house.
The room was not like the photos on the website. So disappointing.
It was clean though. Not value for money. Not even that cheap as later I stayed in much better and cheaper hotels.
Will not recomment it to any friend..
The bed was double but had 2 solo mattresses.. So uncomfortable!!
Instead of towels, they gave us tablecloth...

Room Tip: Just skip it, you can find better and cheaper hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Double rooms (quite big) for 30€ with sink. Shared bathroom. Everything very clean!
The owner and her son are adorable and nice.
Located close to ALL the attractions in Florence by foot.

Just regret they don't serve breakfast but well it's cheap and totally worth it. Plus there's a shared kitchen as well if you prefer to make food instead of going out.

Room Tip: Ask the wi fi password, they might forget to give it to you but they'll gladly share it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marta_intheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Losanna Hotel for a few days during a ten day trip in Italy and that it was good accommodation for the price.

The hotel is a bit of a walk from the train station (about 20-25 minutes) but is a bit closer to the main attractions in Florence - especially the Il Duomo cathedral. As advertised, the bathrooms are shared (there are two toilet / shower combination rooms) but they are clean. There's a little courtyard and a breakfast dining area, and the staff were happy to help out with questions, or offer us a bottle opener for our wine.

The only negatives were that the wifi only seemed to work in a few spots (not in our room), and due to it being more of a converted apartment, there was a bit of noise at night sometimes.

Overall, I would still definitely recommend this place for its value in an otherwise expensive city.

Room Tip: You could perhaps ask if you can get wifi in your room if it's important to you, otherwise you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dion-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osmate (VA) Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is a simple hotel with basic rooms and friendly staff. I stayed for two nights in a no-frills double room with private bathroom; no television, a phone that was no working; barely warm water. The bed was clean and comfortablle. Wifi is free, but only in certain spots. The neighbouring rooms were noisy. Location of the hotel is excellent, as well as price; I paid 45 Euro per night, without breakfast. I can recommend it to anyone who does not want to spend a lot of money just to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcVanLiedekerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This little place is somewhere that I stayed because it got decent ratings and was... cheap (for Florence, anyway!). The hotel staff was friendly and certainly did their best to help make the stay better... The two women who run the hotel gave us bus tickets and never charged us for them, as we were running late to make a dinner.

The Good:
Very friendly owners who run the hotel
It is clean
Pretty good location, not a far walk to the good stuff
Has a great terrace to sit and have a glass of wine!
Wine store right next door

The Bad:
Towels were literally sheets (this isn't a Hungarian spa, right?)
No TV or alarm clock (Ok, Ok, its Florence! You shouldn't be watching TV!)
No screens on windows; mosquitoes destroyed me
Shared bathroom.

Bottom Line: If you are on a budget, its clean and cheap so don't complain. You shouldn't be spending much time in your hotel room anyway! Either way, the staff are nice and the location is decent. I'd recommend this to a budget traveler, or someone who just needs a good place to crash at the end of the day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Its a tad far walk from the train station, but not too bad to the main attractions in Florence.

Hotel occupies first floor of the building. The receptionists were friendly and spoke enough English to understand what they meant. The room and bathrooms were clean. Two different bathrooms shared by the entire floor. There is a nice patio to sit out on. Room wasn't air conditioned, but they provided an oscillating fan. There are only three outlets in the whole room.

Found it too be a tad noisy - heard sirens all the time, and some road traffic. But was liveable for two nights I suppose. Wifi only accessible in the hallway outside the rooms and on the patio. But both locations have tables and chairs to sit on.

Price was excellent for what it was. Breakfast was extra (we never did try it.)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wherenow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Villa Liana
#99 of 421 in Florence
362 reviews
Hotel Regency
#142 of 421 in Florence
322 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Alfieri9
Alfieri9
#63 of 659 in Florence
98 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
3,032 reviews
Villa Aruch
#24 of 298 in Florence
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Losanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Losanna

Property: Albergo Losanna
Address: Via Vittorio Alfieri 9, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Losanna 1*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Albergo Losanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Losanna Florence
Albergo Losanna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing