We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts, Great Value”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #37 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts, Great Value”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This is our second stay here (first time was 2008). We are SO glad we returned ... but before committing to Hotel Alessandra for this trip, we thoroughly explored the possibility of renting an apartment in Florence for a week or more. We were quite attracted to several apartments, but, upon comparison, those apartments fell short of the package Hotel Alessandra offered.

#1: fantastic location ... turn right out the hotel's door, 130 steps and you are on Via Calcaiuoli (a vibrant street), if you turn right from there and go 90 more steps, you are standing on the Ponte Vecchio ... turn left at Via C. and walk approximately 150 steps (didn't count that distance) and you are on the Piazza della Signoria. Wow! No, that's WOW!!

#2: the internet is super fast ... and super free.

#3: the location is quiet; the hotel inside is quiet: only important if sleep matters to you.

#4: The staff is awesome! Andrea runs the place with an easy energy and every-ready smile ... that's real. He knows way more than guide books offer. YOUR need is HIS most immediate concern. No question too big or small for him ... or his darling Mom, who often fills in. They exude warmth ... I've seen Andrea/Mom in action many, many times ... they always aim to please and to calm.

Also, I gotta mention (and certainly NOT as an after-thought), Monti, Mr. Night-Shift ... he's got enough personality to fill a Broadway musical (maybe two) ... lots of local colour from him and interesting opinions ... but only if you want them. He frequently says, "Life is a circle" ... he's a big-hearted giver. If you stay here and fail to enjoy your interactions with Monti (while leaving/retrieving the room key) ... then you're not likely the kind of person who would enjoy gelato either.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie3457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,165
    456
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
351
820
149
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed in this hotel off and on for several nights in April. The location is superb and our room had a view of the Arno!!! Great value, incredibly kind and hospitable staff, big rooms, yummy breakfast, quiet street, short walk to all sites....what more could you ask for?? We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mei2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Very friendly desk clerk (Monti), ample sized rooms, clean... the breakfast was decent. A couple of cons... the shampoo and shower gel were in foil pouches, and there was no conditioner. And there was no iron in the room (although, I think this is more a European thing). And the stairs that you need to take to get to the tiny elevator... not so great.

But, the place is clean, centrally located, and does the job of providing a place to sleep while in Firenze.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franksbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The Alessandra is highly recommendable for those seeking a couple of days of leisure, nearby culture and hospitality in Florence. Offering competitive to almost 4-star accommodation, travellers will find this location to be a solid bet in order to encounter Florence. Family owned and run, expect hospitality to be even higher than the floor of the reception. This leads us to the only little flaw - one has to be a bit sporty to hurry the hotel's stairs up and down, be it for a little relaxation before hitting Florentine streets, museums, shops, restaurants and places of worship again. So bear this mind. Apart from that hospitality is second to none. You might test it by asking Monti how to go by car from Rome to Firenze. You will appreciate it. Your phone operator too (in terms of roaming).

Room Tip: those wanting splurge should head for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_Z1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsabd, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We stayed 4 nights and the Staff could not have been better. Monti gave us great tips on shopping/restaurants and Andrea booked reservations for the Uffizi and Accadenia Galeria prior to our arrrival which saved us a lot of line time! Double expresso every morning, and a great walking location made for a great stay! We will be back to the Hotel Alesandra on our next trip to Italy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfxlax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We spent 7 days here during the 2nd/3rd week of April. This was our second trip to Firenze, and we decided to spend about 50% more on our accomodations than our previous trip in 2009, and we were very pleased with what we received in location, room quality, and service. The staff were all exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable about Firenze, and gracious in providing accurate advice on restaurants, sites and directions. The Alessandra is 2 short blocks from Ponte Vecchio, on a side street that is not very busy by Firenze standards, so the location is fantastic. Our room (#12) was so quiet that we never heard any sounds from the other guest rooms (sounds from talking, water flowing, doors shutting were non-existent). Perhaps all the rooms are the same way in this old building with thick walls. Breakfast was good and fairly typical for Italy: espresso made on demand by a staff member, teas, an assortment of cold cereals with milk, croissants, toast, yogurt, breakfast cookies, cheese and tortes. The hotel is on the 2nd floor (3rd floor by US definition), and there are definitely stairs that have to be climbed. This being an old building, there are about 20-25 stairs between floors rather than the US standard 14. There is a small elevator that starts about 20 or so stairs up from street level, and takes you up to the reception level (not sure if it goes up to the 3rd floor also). We walked miles all over the city every day, so the stairs were just an added bit of exercise for us.

Room Tip: Rm. 12 was very quiet. No sound from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWviaggitore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We stayed at the Alessandra for four nights. We had a great room (22) with a fantastic view over the river. The bell tower - 30 feet from our window rang at 5.30/6.00 PM - but not 5.30/6.00 AM! and added to the charm of the room. The accomodation was lovely clean and comfortable. We coped with the six flights of stairs and our private bathroom being 10 steps down the corridor. Breakfast was good but the outstanding feature was Andreas' advice which included the following successes
* Go for a drink at the 5th floor roof bar at the Contintental Hotel (corner of Ponte Vecchio) for the360 degree views
* Eat at Zio Gigis and La Casalinga (both excellent)
* Get your gelato at Gelataria Santa Trinita
Everything else he told us was useful and accurate.
The hotels location in a quiet street 200 yds from the Ponte Vecchio is great.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simongeorgep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing