We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel with great location”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #38 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Charming hotel with great location. The staff was very helpful. The triple room was very spacious

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dchappnj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2011

We booked a 14 day trip from Paris to Venice to Florence to Rome, and we are currently in Florence and cannot stop talking about how wonderful the service and the establishment at Hotel Alessandra is. First off, I looked for all hotels close to main tourist sites. This hotel is literally 5 minutes from Uffizi and 2 minutes from Ponte Vecchio. You can walk to Accademia in 15 minutes and Duomo in less than 10 minutes. It was central to everything. In addition, it was such a nice break to have hotel service that actually cared about where you were going to dine. We had the best recommendations here- which led to the best food on the trip so far. Monti at the front desk is AMAZING. I wish I could take him home with us, but sadly, I cannot. So we will just have to be back again soon. Book here- you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The staff of this hotel is exceptional. Friendly, professional, and competent. They helped me with reservations, suggestions, and directions. I stayed for four nights in a single room, with a private bath down the hall. The room was very comfortable and clean, and the bathroom was modern and spacious. They offered a large variety at breakfast -- eggs, yogurt, cereals, pastry, with coffee, espresso, capuccino. Best of all, they offered to let me use the house phone to call home -- for free! The location is super -- close to everything, but on a quiet street. I would love to go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I stayed with these most professional and patient hoteliers for 8 days in early May of 2011. My room, number 27, was the Suite Baccio, a spacious affair with a small but inviting balcony facing the Arno.
Upon arrival, Andrea Gennarini, who hosts the hotel with his lovely mother Ana, greeted us warmly and showed us immediately to the room. It enters on a 15 x 15 study leading to a same sized bedroom, with dressing room and bathroom behind. The rooms have a delightful character and charm, and there are too many to mention.
The bathroom has been tastefully remodeled and functioned well. Plenty of space available in the armoires and shelves. Florence is not too warm yet in May, and the large windows viewing upon the Arno allowed a pleasant breeze in the late afternoon and first thing upon entering the room. Air conditioning upon request.
The hotel is located between the Via Tuornaboni and the main street crossing the Ponte Vecchio, an ideal location. Even the Mercato Centrale with its enjoyable food and drink are not too far away. The train and bus stations, once you learn the way, lead to many interesting places Siena was easy and fun. The hop on hop off tour that rides up to Fiesole (for an excellent view) is only 15 euro from the right side of the train station piazza, if you face the station. It passes many of the great sights along the way.
Of course, all women (and even a few of us men) love to shop, and for this, Florence is heaven. All around the hotel is a pleasant maze of small shops. Enjoy an endless list of fine dining as well.
Breakfast at the hotel is very efficient and capable, with hard boiled egg, meats, cheeses, yogurt, fruit, cereal, and great cappuccino and coffee.
After a long day out and about, though, the real beauty of this particular room was its private balcony. After about 500 pm, the sun would fall just enough to sit in the shade and enjoy a drink while relaxing and going over the day's events. Very romantic, and very peaceful. What a wonderful way to enjoy the stay!
Monte seemed to work the afternoons, and we had many a good laugh with him when telling our tales and sharing his secrets to style and shopping. My girlfriend couldn't wait to show him a pair of sandals that she discovered by accident (and could not live without). He is a charming and very funny man.
Ana is the grande dame and has earned her place in this beautiful town with her hard work and dedication. Her steady hand and attention to detail is everywhere apparent.
Thanks to Ana, Andrea, Monte and all the wonderful staff for your patience with our questions and requests, and above all, thanks for being where you are!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmad125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

What a lovely place. Nice rooms, good breakfast and good coffee. It is located one street back from the Arno River, five minutes walk to the Uffizi. The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelleysreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location could not be better - right in the heart of Florence. Andrea is a great host - very courteous and accommodating. Monti at the front desk could not be nicer - always willing to help and give (excellent) advice on where to dine. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmkusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This is our second stay here (first time was 2008). We are SO glad we returned ... but before committing to Hotel Alessandra for this trip, we thoroughly explored the possibility of renting an apartment in Florence for a week or more. We were quite attracted to several apartments, but, upon comparison, those apartments fell short of the package Hotel Alessandra offered.

#1: fantastic location ... turn right out the hotel's door, 130 steps and you are on Via Calcaiuoli (a vibrant street), if you turn right from there and go 90 more steps, you are standing on the Ponte Vecchio ... turn left at Via C. and walk approximately 150 steps (didn't count that distance) and you are on the Piazza della Signoria. Wow! No, that's WOW!!

#2: the internet is super fast ... and super free.

#3: the location is quiet; the hotel inside is quiet: only important if sleep matters to you.

#4: The staff is awesome! Andrea runs the place with an easy energy and every-ready smile ... that's real. He knows way more than guide books offer. YOUR need is HIS most immediate concern. No question too big or small for him ... or his darling Mom, who often fills in. They exude warmth ... I've seen Andrea/Mom in action many, many times ... they always aim to please and to calm.

Also, I gotta mention (and certainly NOT as an after-thought), Monti, Mr. Night-Shift ... he's got enough personality to fill a Broadway musical (maybe two) ... lots of local colour from him and interesting opinions ... but only if you want them. He frequently says, "Life is a circle" ... he's a big-hearted giver. If you stay here and fail to enjoy your interactions with Monti (while leaving/retrieving the room key) ... then you're not likely the kind of person who would enjoy gelato either.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie3457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,834 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 409 in Florence
2,816 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#70 of 409 in Florence
625 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 409 in Florence
1,939 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 409 in Florence
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £73 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing