We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat in hectic Florence”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #37 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat in hectic Florence”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Our small group of six stayed at the Hotel Alessandra for two nights at the end of September. While we were a short walk from the Ponte Vecchio, our hotel was a quiet retreat from the constant activity in the heart of Florence. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, even prior to our arrival (making reservations for us at the Uffizi and Accademia). The rooms were comfortable, clean and air conditioned and breakfast available in a bright and welcoming room.

The hotel elevator is located one floor above street level, so if walking stairs are an issue for you, this is not your hotel. However, the staff was most helpful by bringing out luggage from the entry way to our rooms.

Would definitely stay here again. Thank you Andrea, Mom and Monty for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thevinodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Manager at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thanks for Choosing Hotel Alessandra.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,165
    456
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
351
820
149
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I was very happy here! The wonderful welcome and friendly service made this hotel feel like a real home, and the perfect location made it easy to slip 'home' for a break - to change shoes, to drop off shopping bags, to shower - during those long days of sightseeing. Andrea and Anna had the answers to all our touristy questions, staff was always ready with a smile, and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eilidh784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, General Manager at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thanks for Choosing Hotel Alessandra.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

To start, the people who work at the hotel here are AWESOME! We only stayed for 2 nights here, but for our second stop in Italy, the Hotel Alessandra staff made it so nice. Even the nice cleaning staff were just so nice! The hotel is tucked off the main street a little, but one cut through a little alley will get you to the river and a nice walk along shops and bridges. They have a nice map to give you showing main attraction locations and street names, and if you check out their website before going, you can download a couple of different walks along neighborhoods that they have put a lot of time and research into assembling. We didn't do any wine tours while in Florence, but we saw how the staff helped so many people with reservations and transportation getting the tours, which was great. They are very patient with people, despite maybe a little language barrier. The taxi ride from the train was about 13 euro, which is not bad and worth it for the arrival in my humble opinion.

The first floor you have to drag your luggage up to the elevator/lift on the 2nd floors, in order to get to the lobby (4th floor I think it was), and it is a one man/one luggage elevator, but it is super fast so it makes up for the small size.

The rooms were super clean and spacious, and we had a nice view of the river from our windows. There is a church bell outside the back of the hotel, but the windows are such good quality (I worked at a window store for 10 years, and I can tell you that with all honesty!) that they let such little sound in- it was amazing. The room had a safe and little TV, and our room did not have a bathroom attached, which was the only mini/baby/tiny thing that I wish was different. 3am bathroom trips with skeleton keys and locking/unlocking doors leads to a little bit of craziness. But all other things considered, this was a small thing to deal with for the greatness of all the other stuff.

Breakfast was great, typical Italian hotel breakfast judging from the hotel we stayed at before this one, except you get your coffee/capu/cafe made for you by a nice staff member. It was a very cute room, like a cross between breakfast at home and hotel breakfast really, which was nice. I kind of wish I could eat it tomorrow morning, instead of cereal! ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DetroitH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thanks for Choosing Hotel Alessandra.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
141 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My husband and I found this place and spent a few days here during our anniversary trip to Italy. The room was quite comfortable, the accomodations were very clean and the staff was fantastic. The breakfast didn't have a lot of variety, but it was still a perfect start for a day of exploration in the city. This is reasonably priced for the area and the location couldn't be better to traverse the city. The staff was also really helpful in setting us up with the best walking tour I've ever done in the many countries I've visited. Two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Manager at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed four nights and were extremely happy. Andrea & Anna were a delight to chat with and Monti was incredibly fun and helpful. Room was very large, high ceilings, airy, elegant and comfortable with a nice view. The bathroom was spacious, spotless with good pressure shower and tub. Prime location but still quiet at night. Charming details throughout the hotel. Good breakfast with nice selections. They even have an elevator (albeit a small one). Definitely recommend and gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neko_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thanks for Choosing Hotel Alessandra.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

On our recent stay in Florence and after a lot of research I was really pleased to stay at Hotel Alessandra. It is very easy to find, in the heart of the areas we loved and the staff were so great! Andrea was wonderful and we had so much fun with "Monti" the night desk person. Our room #8 was very large and clean. It didn't have a view but we were too busy being out an about that it didn't matter. The breakfast was very good and I'll never forget my smiling face cappucino each day! Thank you to Andrea as well, for setting up our reservations for the Accademia and the Uffizzi. I would definately recommend this hotel to family and friends should they go to Florence!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toothscrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
Thank you so much - and we look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I have stayed at the Hotel Alessandra twice in the past five months, the first time with my 79 year old mother, and the second with my husband and son. Both times we were treated as if we were family. Our rooms were spacious and scrupulously clean; my husband even noticed and commented on how spotless the bathroom was! You are greeted warmly, almost exuberantly, no matter who is manning the front desk. The Gennarinis and their staff go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. They are happy to provide restaurant recommendations, book museum and tour reservations, or open breakfast early so that you can have a bite to eat before an early tour. There is no better way to start your day than with a smiley face cappucino! There is a computer available for use in the common room. The only drawback, at least for my mother who is terrified of elevators, was the climb to reach the hotel. It's on the second floor, which is really the third floor. The hotel is 1/2 block from the Ponte Vecchio, just across the bridge from Oltrarno and opera at St Mark's Anglican Church, and a 10 minute walk to the train station. This two-star hotel far outshone the other hotels, all three-star, that we booked in other parts of Italy. This is a real gem.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
Thank you so much - and we look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing