We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Alessandra é stato fantastico!!!”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #39 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Hotel Alessandra é stato fantastico, it is in a extremely location for walking to Ufizzi, Ponte Vecchio, the usual touristy attractions. I walked everywhere from here, and if you're not sure on how to get to point B from A, anyone of the staff will take out a map for you to bring along & show you. I take Italian lessons at home & the staff welcomed me to practice on them :) molte grazie a tutti! A special 'thank you/ grazie' to Andrea who was instrumental in assisting me to retrieve my 'forgotten' documents in Roma by insisting on them sending them to H.Alessandra. The breakfast and espresso's were delizioso and plentiful. My room was clean, quiet and I had enough space to move about without tripping over my luggage or any furniture! And the stated 'wifi' actually works in your room, huge bonus! As a solo female traveler I felt very welcome, comfortable and safe here and would highly recommend this hotel for anyone's stay in bella Firenze. ps... I also walked here from the train station, it only took 10 min's, so forget the taxi and perhaps getting ripped off, walk and enjoy the sights and start to get familiar with your new surroundings :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoreMediterranean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 1,781 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

The hotel was just right. Everyone there was friendly and helpful and just like family. They would be welcome in my home anytime they come to town. Nice breakfast every morning. Rooms were clean and a great price. Location is great being near the Ponte Vecchiom, in the middle of shopping, 10-20 minute walk to everything you'd like to most famous placed to see.

I could not have been luckier selecting this for my 2 week stay.

Room Tip: Choosing a room is easy depending on the room and bed size you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbehoutx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Direttore at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your lovely review about our hotel and we are glad that you spent a good time with us enjoying the surroundings and the shopping :-)

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

regards

Andrea Gennarini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My friend and I stayed there for just under a week in November and by the time we left, we felt like family, All of the staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel is on the 2nd (or 3rd?) floor of a building on a inconspicuous, but darling little street....very safe and 10 minute to 20 minute walk from just about everything (a two minute walk to Ponte Vecchio). I also really liked the fact that the hotel provided a complete breakfast free with your stay (with cereals, cappuccino, toast, yogurt etc). Our room was simple, but clean and had big window we opened so we could hear the sounds below. I would definitely stay there again if we ever return to Florence.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Direttore at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderul words, this is very kind of you and very appreciate here.
We are on the second floor of the building but in a modern building would be easily considered a third or forth floor...
We are so glad that you spent a good time in our hotel and enjoyed the location and our Buffet Breakfast.
We are a small Family with no frills and to receive survey like yours is very encouraging for us and for this reason we try to do the best we can to satisfy our clients and to improve us always more.
We hope to welcome you again in the future,
regards,

Andrea Gennarini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The superlatives come fast and easy when evaluating Hotel Alessandra. The location is superb, less than five minutes to the Vecchio and the Uffizi, less than ten to the Duomo and less than fifteen to the David. The view from the window is unforgettable, taking in a 12th Century church bell tower looming next door and the River Po streaming past just one block away. Finally, and most charmingly, the hotel is a family concern run with an affection and professional expertise that is evident in the cleanliness of the rooms, care of the amenities and quality of the breakfast. Factor in a remarkably low price and there is no reason to go anywhere else, even if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river and the bell tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Direttore at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Guest,
I wish to thank you for your wonderful review and for your beautiful words , it was very kind of you to find a moment to write it and this is a good reason to improve our efforts and our services always more!
We are happy that you had a nice holiday here enjoying the location and the view of the river Arno in the morning at wake up. It was a pleasure to provide some suggestion in order to betetr explore the city and the sourraunding area.
Many greetings from all the staff here at hotel Alessandra :-).
We really look forward to welcome you again soon in the future,

regards

Andrea Gennarini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have been visiting Florence for 20+ years and about 6 years ago we chanced upon The Alessandra. Now we can't/won't stay anywhere else.
From the beauty of the structure to the warmth of the hosts and staff to the great recommendations for food and wine to the lovely breakfasts the HA meets and surpasses all our desires. We consider it on par with the Duomo and the Palazzo Vecchio in terms of icons to visit in Florence.
Ted and Julie
Baltimore, MD U.S.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bensteel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Direttore at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful survey and for having find the time to leave your review, we are glad and proud that you have such good memories about your stay in our hotel and we really hope to welcome you again in the future,

regards

Andrea Gennarini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in this hotel and they were fantastic.
The installations are very comfortable and the hotel is well located, at walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Vechio, Plaza de la Signora, Ufizzi gallery, Academia gallery and Santa Maria Novella train station. The hotel is in the heart of the touristic Florence so you can walk to tens of stores and restaurants.
They offer breakfast from 7 to 9:30 am that consists of pastries, cheese and ham, yogurt, cereal and juice. They also offer you espresso, cappuccino or hot chocolate which they prepare for you on demand.
The decoration of the hotel follows the style of the building its in and its surrounding areas, so don't expect a modern contemporary look, but something more in tune with the renaissance, which gives a lot of personality to the hotel.
Since we went in November, there was no need for the A/C as it was cold. We just opened the window a little bit and were able to sleep very well. It's a bit noisy before 9pm but after that it's a really quiet street.
Their service is par to none. They make you feel as if you were the only and most important guests of the hotel. Andreas and Monti are friendly, courteous, fun and always willing to help.
I will definitively stay in this hotel again when I come back to Florence, and I recommend it to everyone that is planning to travel to Florence.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroServigna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Direttore at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful words about us and Hotel Alessandra and especially about our breakfast. It was a pleasure for us, We think breakfast is very important since is the first meal of a long busy day (sightseeing, shopping, etc..)!
When my parents took the hotel they tryed to keep evidence of the past installing modern amenities (A/c - wifi - etc..) without having a cruent impact with the building.
We are happy you had a comfortable stay with us enjoying our recomendation for restaurants, tours or other activities to have in town.
We look forward to welcoming you again in Florence...

regards

Andrea Gennarini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Monti, one of the staff members, is an absolute delight. He gave us excellent restaurant recommendations and made us feel very welcome every time we walked into the hotel.

We ended up staying six nights at the hotel; only four nights were originally planned. We tried to go to Cinque Terre but because of the floods we went to Florence two nights earlier than anticipated. We just showed up at the hotel not knowing if they'd have any rooms, but luckily they did. For the first two nights, the lady placed us in a HUGE room that had a king and a twin size bed, but only charged us the rate for the smaller room. We had to change to the other smaller room (original booking) for the other four nights. I actually preferred the smaller room, since I was having trouble getting a WIFI signal in the downstairs larger room; no problems in the smaller upstairs room. They had a system with the WIFI were they give you a passcode that's good for 36 hours, but they ask you to "logout" when you're done using the internet so as not to use up the time allotted. I was able to make the 36 hour "code" for 6 days. I don't know what would happen if you forget to logoff and use up the 36-hour code in a day and half.

Anyways, I can't say enough about the location. Perfect for that early morning reservation to the Uffizi Gallery; just like we did. And if you love to shop, this is the perfect place to do some shopping drop stuff off at the hotel and rest a bit before heading out again...just as my wife did. It seemed as though that the better restaurants frequented by the locals were around the Duomo, so later at night you will have to walk a distance to get the better value, but well worth it in my opinion. There were all sorts of people walking around late at night, so it felt very safe. There was also a wine shop two buildings down that had live jazz on some of the evenings.

As far as the rooms themselves, they were average. But, for the price you pay and the location it's in, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeetdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Direttore at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your beautiful words and attentive review about our hotel, we are very pleased that you spent a good and relaxing holiday here, it is very important for us.
It was a plasure for us and our staff to help you and welcome you. Monti is with us since such a longtime that we consider him as part of the Family
The WiFi is free of charge with no limitation once would be finished another card would have been available for you at the desk :-). I'm sorry you had WiFi problems in the first room, we are planning to replace two access point with newer technologies that pass trough the thick wall more easily. this location is strategical for any kind of aopproch to the city. is enough to walk between 5 and 10 minutes away (any directions) from the old bridge to discover nice little restaurants away from the tourists crowd.
We are proud to know you keep nice memories from your stay here and hope to welcome you soon again
regards

Andrea Gennarini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,811 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#70 of 410 in Florence
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#46 of 410 in Florence
2,792 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#45 of 410 in Florence
826 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £74 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing