We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #41 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at Hotel Alessandra for four nights, and we had a blast. Great breakfast, to be italian, and a fantastic receptionist. I did´nt get his name, but he was fantastic. Helped us with reservations and pointed us towards great places to eat.
This was our fourth time in Firenze, so we had a pretty good overview of things, but this guy was a great help in discovering new ones.
Room was not big, but a good AC, clean and comfortable, and with a great bathroom with actual pressure in the shower. Which is rare to come by in Italy.
The location is fantastic, but the only drawback, and if you are considering this hotel, you have to be aware of this: You have to walk up two flights of stairs before you reach the elevator. If you have trouble walking up stairs and have a lot of heavy luggage, you might want to reconsider.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sigurdsele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

We couldn't have said it better ourselves! Our hotel is fantastic (well, we have to say that!) but we do have stairs. Lots. They often feature in conversations on our facebook page. Big old Florentine palazzi are good on stairs and not so good on lifts!

We are absolutely delighted that you had a good experience at Hotel Alessandra, and look forward to meeting one day in the future.

Andrea Gennarini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

We loved almost everything about Hotel Alessandra. The location was unbeatable. It was a very short walk away from all the major sights. Approximately 3 minutes to the Ponte Vecchio, 5-8 to the Duomo, 10 to the train station. Hotel Alessandra was on a quiet side street one block from the road that runs along the river.

The hotel was very clean - we got new towels on a daily basis & everything, including the breakfast room, was spotless. Free Wifi. Our room was quiet & dark, which we appreciated :)

The staff were almost the best part. We came in with a list of 12 restaurants from a friend who spends alot of time in Florence and the gentleman who checked us in (Andrea I believe?) took the time to map out each and every place and even added some recommendations of his own. It was above & beyond what we expected. Everyone we interacted with was friendly and wanted you to feel like you were at home/family. Our last day, we wanted to explore some but didn't want to drag out luggage around. They let us leave our luggage in a small room in the morning & came back in the afternoon to retrieve it -- no charge!!!

Breakfast is included with our room price & was so good. Amazing cappucinos!

Only complaints were the showers -- typical European shower which needed a bigger curtain because some of the water ended up on the floor. TV in the room got only Italian channels but there was also a TV room with free computer access that we didn't get a chance to use. Also - be prepared, there is a lift but it's small and up one flight of stairs from the ground level. I'm sure they'd assist with baggage if you asked but we were okay on our own.

Big rooms, comfy beds, amazing staff & affordable price. I can't recommend this place enough. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you so much for such a detailed review. We really do appreciate it. We are so pleased that you had some a good time with us.

Our hotel, you will have noticed, it not quite like a north American one! (pros and cons!). We are constantly updating, replacing, renewing. Sometimes things are made more difficult by the fact of our building being very old (over 500 years) - things take longer! Just a few days ago we finally managed to install a wifi system that permits you to transfer from one area of the hotel to another without having to log-off and back on again (we have very thick walls!) That was a tough job! This past winter we replaced many of our aircon units with newer, eco-friendly versions. It looks like this winter our attention will be turned to shower curtains!

Do come back - we very much enjoyed having you to stay.

Andrea Gennarini (yes, I checked you in!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Wonderful hotel in an old palace, great staff, nice comfy beds , good breakfast. The shower set up needs a better curtain. Water went everywhere making the floor very slippery. otherwise no complaints about our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment - we are checking the bathroom out as write!

Andrea Gennarini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The location of the hotel, the size of the room (even the bathroom was the biggest of the four hotels we stayed in), and, most importantly, the friendly staff made or visit to Florence the highlight of our trip to Italy. We will definitely be back to Italy and to Hotel Alessandra.

Room Tip: We had two rooms - both were large and had large bathrooms/showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

And we very much look forward to seeing you again. A presto!

Andrea Gennarini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just fantastic - superb location next to the Palazzo Vecchio and Uffizi, really helpful and friendly staff, beautiful, spacious, high-ceilinged rooms, and a reminder to a slightly jaded regular traveller of how good a hotel can be when it is run with real warmth.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Why thank you for you great comments. Do come back some day!

Andrea Gennarini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed in Florence for 2 short days. We didn't have too much time to explore the city, but the location of Hotel Alessandra made some of the main sites a short walking distance away. We were also close to some really good restaurants.

The room was a good size and the air conditioning was really nice after a long day in the summer heat. Also, the staff at the front desk and at breakfast were very friendly and accomodating. One plus worth mentioning - the hotel allows 10 min phonecalls home to Canada (and other countries) from the front desk for free!

Also, we did save a little money by choosing a room with a private bathroom that was not attached to our room . It was down the hall and exclusive for our use (with a key) but inconvenient for my husband who uses the bathroom a few times during the night.

Overall I would totally recommend this hotel as good choice if your looking for an affordable, comfortable hotel close to the sights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoodingtonBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. Next time an ensuite bathroom would be better for you. We have a fairly wide range of solutions and prices, so we can always ensure getting the right combination price/facilities.

Andrea Gennarini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a great time in Florence and enjoyed some "insider info" from Andrea at the hotel. Thanks to him we were able to see THE David for free! Accommodations were comfortable and the air conditioning was great after long hours touring the city in the August heat. We loved the breakfast and were able to eat enough to hold us over until well into the afternoon. If you are looking for lovely accommodations with great personalities to match, look no further than Hotel Alessandra. Enjoy your stay. P.S. Location is ideal. Very safe and only 5-10 minutes on foot from all the major sites. Florence is an easy city to explore.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dittm002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Our pleasure ;-) Come back soon -

Andrea Gennarini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 410 in Florence
2,417 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#44 of 410 in Florence
1,880 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#70 of 410 in Florence
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 410 in Florence
2,276 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £75 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing