We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, excellent location”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #38 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The location was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. They upgraded our room for no charge as there was another room available. The room was spacious and overlooked the Arno River. The breakfast was not fancy, but had all the basics we wanted plus some nice baked items. There are quite a few steps to climb - my husband took the elevator with our luggage and I walked up - not a problem for us at all. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeananne_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

And we would definitely have you back! Fabulous that you enjoyed it and thanks so much for writing it here. We love reading everything you have to say, and listen hard to see where we can realistically improve. And given the time of year we are writing to you - Buon Anno Nuovo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Alessandra is a very nice hotel. The only negatives that we found were the long (and rather smelly) stairs you have to climb to get into the hotel – 83, 55 of which you can by-pass by taking the tiny lift, which was just big enough for us and our limited luggage. There are a further 27 steps to the main accommodation floor, with no lift.

Apart from this, most things were really good. Our room was large, warm (this was November and it was very cold outside) clean and comfortable. The staff – mostly on the front desk – were very helpful, with Monti in particular giving many useful restaurant recommendations. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom a useful size.

Breakfasts were fairly basic but OK – yoghurts, tinned fruit and prunes, a limited selection of cereals, toast (if you can wait while the bread goes through 3 or 4 times), cheese and prosciutto crudo, hard-boiled eggs, plus coffee and some pastries. This was normally fine to keep us going until lunchtime.

The location is excellent, on a tiny street very near the river. From our bedroom we could see the dome of the Duomo. The hotel is less than 2 minutes’ walk from the Ponte Vecchio, and only slightly further from the Piazza de la Signoria with the Palazzo Vecchio and the Uffizi gallery. The Duomo is about 10 minutes’ easy walk away. We walked everywhere in the Centro Storico, out as far as the Piazzale Michelangelo in the South East and Santa Maria Novella in the North West. There is very little traffic in the city centre, and everywhere felt safe, though there were more beggars that we’d expected.

The weather was unexpectedly good while we were there, with torrential rain on the evening we arrived and then largely blue skies for the rest of the time. It’s well worth the walk up to Piazzale Michelangelo (or ‘Michelangiolo’ on the road signs) to see the sunset views.

All in all, a very good hotel with friendly and helpful staff, in a great location and at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: It's well worth upgrading to a junior suite - the room was a good size and the view of the Duomo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happy_hobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Sir, you are terrifyingly accurate! Your step counts and distance in minutes are spot on! We are super-vocal about our stairs - both here and on our facebook and G+ pages, and rather than a negative we consider them a free work-out that justifies extra pasta and icecream - but that's just our point of view!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Learned about this hotel from fellow travelers we met in Milan. So we decided to give it a try. WOW !
We walked from the train station using our tiny GPS and found it with ease. This hotel is well worth the walk, even in the rain.
Extremely friendly staff who handled our bags and provided expert recommendations for meals and tourist activities. Good clean rooms, large bath, fine breakfast. Lots of small shops for food, beer and wine nearby. And, an Irish Pub only a few twists and turns away.
We also went to Gusta Pizza and it was super.
Were directed to a Brew Pub and Restaurant called il bovaro just outside, the old city wall's huge gate. This is a definite "go back to". Be sure to try the green beer if you go. It's about a 20 minute walk down river and across the bridge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Glad we were to your liking! We do try hard - us the owners and our fabulous team. Come back - there are lots more places to try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had to leave our wonderful farmhouse in Radicondoli early because of the lack of heat and booked three rooms in this hotel last minute. We were not expecting much and only stay a night. Upgraded two of the three rooms, one of them a suite overlooking the Arno. Of course, like everyone else, we must mention Monty, who was possibly the friendliest, sweetest, funniest and most helpful person on reception ever encountered. He searched high and low for a charger for my sister's IPad, which made her very happy and recommended a pizza joint for us across the river for dinner. The rooms were traditional, very clean, spacious, and comfortable. The price was excellent and location was very good. I would stay here again, absolutely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiTiTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Glad we helped you out of a fix! Monty's speciality is solving the unsolvable and he nearly always does it. Delighted you enjoyed it so much and of course we look forward to another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Just spent the weekend here. Previous reviews spot on - friendly people, unfriendly stairs saved by intimate lift! Clean and comfortable and impeccably located near to all main attractions. Thanks for a great few days

Room Tip: Great view from Room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Oh we are going to take that description "intimate lift" and flog it to death! Fabulous way of describing it. In fact we will post this on our facebook page right now ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and i spent 4 lovely nights in this hotel in room 7 so we could explore Florence. The room was spacious and clean and so was the ensuite. The breakfast was wonderful with lots of choice for everyone. The man who is on reception in the afternoons was amazing, he was so friendly and helpful and made us very welcome, it was like we had known him for years. There are flights of stairs up to the hotel but they are not hard work and are a good workout after eating wonderful Italian food all day. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the train station and lots of great restaurants, Bell Towers and Cathedrals. Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

And we would definitely love to have you stay here again! You understood our stairs perfectly, and their value in keeping you trim! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Location hard to beat, especially given the price. Mother and son owners exceedingly friendly and helpful, as was entire staff. Large, charming, clean room with bath. Lovely breakfast room with ample range of food choices. Great, dependable, free Wi-Fi (much better than we've had at considerably more expensive hotels elsewhere in Italy). And, as owner Andrea has noted in one of his comments below, a great stair-climbing opportunity for anyone working off a surfeit of Florence's irresistible gelato.

My husband and I stayed for eight nights at the beginning of November and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eudora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

What a way to start a Monday morning, by reading this! Thank you for noticing - really we know how important wifi is nowadays for staying in touch with family, for work, for getting information. It has taken us a while to get good wifi right across the hotel (big thick 15th century walls are not helpful in the this endeavour) but we are finally there. And breakfast is an important meal. We strongly believe in not wasting food so the actual spread varies according to the season and how full we are - but it is always plentiful and yummy and should be indulged in amply (you are right, any excesses can be worked off on the stairs!)

Thank you for choosing us and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,835 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 409 in Florence
2,816 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 409 in Florence
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#74 of 409 in Florence
625 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
833 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 409 in Florence
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £73 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing