We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location and Service!”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #35 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Location and Service!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Myself, my friend and her daughter spent 4 nights at Hotel Alessandra beginning on March 13. I really can't add much to past reviews because they are all true. Everything is close by within walking distance. Andrea is a gem and Monti is an asset and lots of fun to boot! Wonderful service by all from restaurant reservations and recommendations to where to buy items.
I'll be staying there whenever I visit Florence and I'll recommend the hotel to anyone who asks without hesitation. Charlies' Angels salute you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We LOVE our Charlie's Angels! Fab having you to stay. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this. Come back one day and we can do it all over again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,167
    457
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
351
823
149
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel was fantastic from check in to check out. The front desk staff was very informative and gave great recommendations for food (Guastas pizza!) and dinner (Desco), where to go, what to see, etc. The room was huge and exceptionally clean. The location cannot be beat, especially for the price. Five minutes walking distance to virtually everything we wanted to see. The breakfast was fantastic and within five minutes of check out the cab they called had already arrived. Yes, the stairs are tricky, but we needed the exercise after days of eating fine Italian food (speaking of which, the food in Florence was the best we had out of five different areas in Italy). Would definitely recommend and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room- the ones facing the main street are loud- but the windows are amazing at shutt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
If anyone ever were to ask us if we would like to relocate our hotel to a ground floor site we would of course say no. We have grown to love our stairs, and when guests love them too, that makes our day. When you love our city, that makes our week! When you love our food, that makes our month! Thank you so much and we are looking forward to that return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Excellent location close to Ponte Vecchio (sic?, ha), Duomo, an excellent hike to Piazza Michelangelo. Service is great, view of Arno, and top floor terrace is nice place to have a beer or glass of wine if your room doesn't provide nice view. Wi fi is fast and easy which is a very nice plus if you want to book a tour or check out restaurants prior to eating out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Well thank you (sic!!)

Glad you loved it - we adore it when it works for people. Join us on facebook and help our new guests out with some great tips from people who have already done it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyor, Hungary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I would like to confirm the previous post. This is a great hotel, on a location so close to ponte vecchio, you just will not believe It. The rooms are large and well equipped, ours was with a great view to the city. Great breakfast with coffee andnice service.these are all important, but the attentive service. We asked Andrea for tickets to the Uffizi and he helped us book tickets. He also recomended a good local restaurant. There was a free call opportunity from the hotel to landline phones. Overall, i know where we would be staying when next in Florence.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank tamaso123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Loved the title to your review (we will be posting that on our facebook page!) Glad you had a fab time and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manorville, New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Don't come here if you are expecting the Ritz. This is a family rune hotel that treats you like royalty as well as family. The person that really stands out is Monti. He treats everyone like family. The rooms are not modern, but they are clean and well kept. Enjoy an evening up on the roof balcony as the sun sets with a bottle of wine, you will not be sorry. The only negative is the 30 stairs you need to carry your luggage up before you get to the tiny elevator to go up the next few floors to the reception. If you can get along with that small climb then this is the place for you in Florence. Everything in the city is very close to this location and walkable. Make sure if you arrive by train with luggage to take a cab. When I come back to Florence this is where I will stay. They also have a very nice breakfast which is included in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
We and our team think like this: you are staying in our "home" for a few days, it's part of what we do to take care if you! Not just provide the room and services. Anna keeps the place well-run and ship shape, Andrea is your man for great tours, cooking classes and special things to do, Monti is good for cuddles, pacifying children (he ALWAYS has some candy in his pockets) and giving great city tips about places to eat and things to see. Our girls in the breakfast room and who do the rooms make sure your day gets off to a great start! WE are like an extended family, and when you come to stay, you just join in!

Thank you so much for your kind words - very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Firenze.
Andrea and the staff at this wonderful Tuscan hotel made our stay a complete delight.
Only listed as a two star establishment, the attentiveness of the staff,the attention to detail and the welcoming atmosphere make it a five star.A special mention goes to Monty a true professional.
We have stayed in many places throughout Italy from pensione to five star hotels.
The Alessandra is without doubt one of the better experiences we have had.
You could not wish for better.
The location is superb. Just minutes from the Ponte Vecchio,the Uffizi gallery and the Piazza della Signoria.
Yes the stairs will be a challenge for some but like many attractions in Firenze the effort will be well worth the ultimate experience.
Enjoy !!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterM_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Our stairs (we never tire of talking about them) are not for everyone! But for those that do stay here and choose the stairs rather than our "intimate" lift, then obviously you are allowed to eat as many icecreams as you like per day! And that's a big advantage!

So pleased that you enjoyed it - and do come back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This small hotel is located in a narrow picturesque alley literally few steps away from the main attractions of the city : Galleria degli Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio, Piazza Signoria, etc. It takes about 10 to 15 minutes to walk from the train station. It is not complicate, but it takes few minutes to get orientated at the exit of the train station. The cobble road makes it a little bit difficult to roll your suitcase.

It looks like the hotel is sharing an apartment building. The elevator is tiny and the staircase is narrow. But once in the hotel premises, you are immediately welcomed by the most warmhearted people. One receptionist was particularly hilarious. All the staff was so helpful that we were almost shy to ask. We were pleasantly relief to see that people from Firenze are friendlier than Roma by a thousand miles.

Our room was large with high ceiling. The building looks several hundreds years old. It was not spotless clean, but I guess it is the price to pay to stay in an historical building. The bathroom was clean, but the water had a mineral or copper smell. We could really feel the historic atmosphere.

The breakfast was not our favorite, but it is a matter of personal taste. Anyway, there are a lot of authentic Italian restaurants just outside.

This hotel is not a luxury hotel and does not try to pretend to be one. It is a friendly hotel, in an excellent location, focused on service, at an affordable price. It is difficult to ask more !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
No, we are not luxury, nor do we pretend to be! But we hope to be very friendly, very comfortable and very easy - your home from home!

Thank you so much for your comments, we enjoyed reading them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#37 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing