We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and value fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #38 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Location and value fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We only had one night at this quaint little hotel, in a room with a view of the river (and of an old church bell tower - does not seem to be working though!), quietly tucked down a street a few minutes walk from Ponte Vecchio. We arrived early from Lucca, before 10am, and were thrilled that our room was almost ready for us to check in, so we could dump bags and go exploring. The hotel is so close to the main sights, but the location is quiet enough that you feel like a local! Staff are helpful and welcoming, room was huge, clean, comfy. As it was our last day in Italy we managed to squeeze in a fair amount of shopping - the market round the corner was a goldmine of gorgeously soft leather-ware in all colours (gloves, bags), silk scarves - mostly good quality and well priced. A pleasant surprise that I could browse without being hassled, and that it was really lovely quality. That was a Saturday - am not sure if it's there everyday. Note that the restaurant a few doors up from the hotel only takes cash - good food though. Great breakfast in hotel, before we rushed off to the station. Definitely recommend this cheerful, charming little place.

Room Tip: definitely go for a room with river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyincapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Oh yes the bell tower definitely rings! Loud and clear but not before 9am! It sounds like it worked for you and there is no greater reward. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    449
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
346
806
149
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhorn
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked a room with a view of the River Arno. On arriving, opened our window and observed 3 boats being skulled down the river. Pretty damn cool! The room was very nice with a huge bathroom. Breakfast every morning was great in a very nice eating area. Hard to imagine a hotel with a better location. Close to everything! If you have tours booked with ArtViva, you are only 3 blocks away from their meeting location.
The best part, however, was the service!! I had a hospital stay in Spain and looked like our vacation was over and I canceled our reservation. Luckily, I recovered nicely and tried to rebook. Unfortunately, we could only get 2 of our 3 nights back. But Andrea went out of his way and, on his own, notified us 2 days later that there was a cancellation and we could get our 3rd night if we desired. Outstanding! He also went out of his way to find an English speaking doctor nearby, as I had some surgical staples to be removed. Amazing! And, of course, if you get to meet Monte, you won't forget him! :) Very welcoming and, as what seems to be the rule of this hotel, very helpful in our requests. We had to leave our luggage so take a tour in the afternoon and on return he called a taxi that arrived in minutes so we could catch our train.
Thank you so much, Hotel Alessandra, for all you did for us!!

Room Tip: Yes, there are steps. But I arrived a week after a laparoscopic appendectomy, and I survived. Suck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teach68022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are laughing at your last comment. And yes, we are going to post that on our facebook page. Amazing you that you carried on with your vacation despite! Everyone loves Monti, we would like to package bits of Monti for sale, but he doesn't agree! Thank you for this - it's fabulous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed four nights in Hotel Alessandra during our 10th anniversary trip. Cannot say enough about the great location, within 10 minute walk of the train station and all the major sites. Very close (two streets away) from Piazza Signoria. We ended most nights just enjoying the tiny Piazza Santa Trinita (about 100 yards down the street and near the river).

Stayed in room #11 (junior suite) which was a very spacious room. Bathroom layout was a little strange, and only get one channel on the TV (CNN), but overall a very good value for the location and quality. We enjoyed Monti and his sense of humor. Breakfast was fine to start the morning and our room was maintained and cleaned well every day. Hotel helped us pre-book reservations at the museums before we arrived, which was nice so we did not have to do it ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
So pleased it worked for you! Annniversaries are important and so it's relief that yours was fabulous! Perhaps you'll come back and see us for your 20th? ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent three wonderful nights here. The location is absolutely perfect: a short walk to the Ponte Vecchio, Duomo, Academia, and the Uffizi. The staff was amazing: always cheerful and helpful. Our room was comfortable with an old world charm. Breakfast was abundant and cappuccinos were decorated with smiley faces to start our day. The small terrace with view of a medieval bell tower was a great spot for sipping wine in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah_L675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Smiley face cappuccinos in the morning and chilled wine on the terrace in the evening! You slipped into our lifestyle just fine! Thanks so much for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our stay at Hotel Alessandra was awesome! It was so incredibly welcoming! We spent a few nights here while traveling throughout Italy on our honeymoon and couldn't be happier with the hospitality. Monti was incredible! We miss him! Because we fell in love with our Italy experience, we are returning this year but sadly not going to stop in Firenze this time. Otherwise, we would stay here again! The hotel is in very accessible to key areas and very spacious compared to other places we stayed on our visit. Thanks again for a great and very memorable experience, Hotel Alessandra!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Who doesn't fall in love with Monti! Out entire team (we think!) are fabulous - Monti is just a little more extrovert than the others! Delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and of course where better to visit than Florence than for your anniversaries! We look forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of Ferenza, a short walk away from the Golden Bridge, the Dome, Cathedral and all the museums!! I made last minute reservation when I was in Milan, and I am glad I picked that hotel.
It looks like it was an old family house that was turned into a bed and breakfast. The staff were very courteous and accommodating. Everything was old, very simple but clean. Some rooms did not have a bathroom or a shower, you have to go across the hall, It's a house, what do you expect?! :)
I like simplicity and I loved my stay! They have a large two bedroom suite for a very reasonable price, I plan on taking my kids with me one day, when they are old enough to be comfortable with all the nudity in Ferenza!! Naked statues all around, naked bodies in the paintings and torture paintings...pretty aggressive, and not for sensitive souls.
Breakfast was included, and it was descent. It felt like a small family having breakfast in the morning, and I enjoyed my coffee with a smiley face on it :)
My room had a window on the street, and it was a little noisy but I took it as part of the experience! I totally LOVED my stay and would definitely go back!
I promised the manager that I would leave a good review, it's a little late but better late than never!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Well thank you! Since your stay we have done big rennovation works and now all bedrooms have their own bathrooms so things have changed on that front. We think that your children would love Florence - there is lots of "tame" nudity such as angels and innocent children in the artwork and all kids deserve to taste Florentine ice-cream! We look foward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Location is really good. Close to everything and just 7 min walk to the train station (following direction from their website). The room and furniture do show their age. Bathroom is pretty rudimentary, clean though. Breakfast is very nice, having a bit of everything. Among the four hotels I lived in during my trip to Italy, this is the "worst but maybe it is just a Florence "thing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We that is disappointing to read. So we were a little curious to understand why you felt this way. So we were a little sneaky and read your other reviews for Italy (Venice, 1 star modern conversion, Milan 3 star modern hotel, Rome modern guest house within a modern apartment block). We don't feel quite so bad now. Perhaps you made the wrong choice of hotel in Florence - they are lots of great hotels in Florence with double glazed windows, floor to floor carpeting, low ceilings and symmetrical rooms! That is not us - we are old old old, a little asymmetrical with 4 meter high ceilings, lots of stairs and oodles of old Florentine charm. We are very sorry it didn't work out for you :-(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing